We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable stay for the price in a convenient location”
Review of Evergreen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Hotel
Ranked #168 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable stay for the price in a convenient location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in November 2013. This is my second stay at this hotel. I note that the Agoda rating has actually improved this year. Best feature must be the fantastic and convenient location. Took the A21 from the airport to Nathan Hotel. Evergreen is just across the road and one street in from the main road. It is next to Temple street and within walking distance to all the great eateries, attractions and shopping in Kowloon.

Check in was smooth. Staff was friendly. There is always someone at the lobby to press or hold the elevator whenever I returned to the hotel. Room was as it appears online in Agoda. But I booked through the hotel website instead as it had good long stay packages. I chose the room with no view as it would be more quiet. I was ok without a view. Size of room was reasonable for the price by Hong Kong standards.

Room had 2 single beds. There is a bath tub and shower gel was provided. They also provided toothbrush and toothpaste, a comb, a bar of soap and shower caps. Perhaps it would be even better if they provided cotton buds and a shaver.

TV channels included the local stations and a few cable networks. I did not watch much as I was out most of the time.

Booked the package with internet access and breakfast. Buffet breakfast itself was simple and functional. Some might complain that they served the same things everyday. However, as far as I am concerned. It was adequate and functional. Toast, cornflakes, western comprises sausage, ham, boiled eggs, baked beans and various types of premixed mixed vegetables and salads. There is also noodles and plain porridge.

I wish to make mention of the staff that serve at the cafe in the morning. The male waiter was very friendly and helpful. He topped up the food regularly, maintained the cleanliness, and was helpful to the guests.

Additonal plus points include use of self service laundry service on the 4th floor as well as the business centre corner with computer etc on every floor. By the way, the lift goes up only to the 3rd floor. So do ask for a room on the lower floors if you have difficulties negotiating stairs.

There is a 7Eleven right next to the hotel and Wellcome supermarket is also just round the corner.

One bad thing was that the internet access did not work for the last 2 days of my stay.
It had worked well for the majority of my stay. I called the reception twice over the 2 days and was told they will send someone. The first time someone came but could not solve the problem. Instead, he was able to offer me an alternative wifi network access. That was fine initially but the next day, which was the day before my check out, even that access gave problems. This time no one was sent to help with the problem. This was the only bad thing I experienced during my stay.

Overall, a relatively good stay for the price. Works well for business trips as well as shopping and sight seeing, suitable for families too. There is no gym or pool in this hotel.

Room Tip: Loft only operates to the 3rd floor, so ask for a room on the lower floors if there's a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAISHSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    330
    181
    38
    10
See reviews for
122
153
137
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at the Evergreen for 4 nights and found the Hotel to be adequate for my requirements. As other reviewers have alluded to the building is a wee bit tired and in need of renovation but importantly it is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They mostly speak English.
The Hotel is in the heart of the Jordan district of Kowloon and if you want to experience the real Hong Kong and not the rich and overly priced Hong Kong Island then this will hit the spot. Step out of the front door and you are right in the heart of the community with the herby burly of their daily lives. Absolutely fascinating if like me this is your first visit.
Good sleep quality with regards to the bed, the rooms are small and some without windows, however extremely clean. Breakfast typical Chinese fare, which does not inspire, but is well cooked and healthy.
If your on a tight budget this will do the job for you.

Room Tip: I had an inside room, and if its a quiet sleep your looking for this is the type to go for. No windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

stayed here for few days, good location nearest MRT Jordan station, Temple St is very near. the staff are very attentive and can speak english and very helpful. Though the rooms and toilet are small like in all hotels in HK, they are clean. Thought the building is quite old, they make it up with excellent service. We come back to our hotel room every night and they always fix our bed and provide new clean towels. Worth the price.Will come back to this hotel and will recommend this to other friends who wants to go to HK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_TagaBaryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

PROS
1. Ideally located in downtown Kowloon - easy to access Nathan Rd., Jordan, Temple St., Ladies Market, Mongkok etc.
2. Plenty of eateries within vicinity - a few Michelin star restaurants within walking distance
3. 7-11 downstairs
4. English speaking staff available
5. Good service during check in and check out
6. Concierge is very attentive - will get the lift for you when he sees you walking in
7. Short walk to MTR station - Jordan
8. Room is relatively big for HK standard

CONS
1. Very old establishment
2. Central Air conditioning is extremely cold (despite turning off the room unit)

RECOMMENDATIONS
1. If you are planning to use the room only for sleeping/shower; then Evergreen is good because of its location and price
2. To further save cost, go for the room without window and drop the buffet breakfast

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweeteners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you would like to stay on the Kowloon side of Hong Kong, and have a more authentic Hong Kong experience, I would recommend the Evergreen Hotel. It is about a five minute walk from the Jordan Station, and on the way, you'll pass dozens of small restaurants, shops, fish markets, massage parlors, and more. I would say it's a decently safe area. There is a door man/security, which is nice. The room is small, but all hotel rooms are small in Hong Kong. The sheets, pillows, and towels were clean. I'm not sure how clean the floors and rugs are, but they provide you with slippers. Free wifi as well. For the price, this is a good hotel to stay at, especially in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

For the price in HK, this is a great hotel. Easy walk from the airport shuttle stop (have a map ready - you need to cross Nathan Road), and a good location close to the night market, Nathan road and all its shops, the station. Yes its showing its age but its not a 5 star hotel nor pretend to be. I was basically wanting a nice cheap hotel so the 2 days I had before flying elsewhere but wanted to be away from the airport, this was perfect. The room is small but that was fine. Wifi worked well - note to Australian hotels, it was included in the price!!! So if you are looking for luxury, this isnt for you. But if you are trying to save a dollar and have something comfortable without the bells and whistles, then this was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

will recommend a hotel to anyone who needs to stay a night over but plans to be outside all the day. Good points great location, attentive staff, excellent food nearby (Temple street)
Bad points - shabby neighborhood

Room Tip: for antiques try Holywood road shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#172 of 718 in Hong Kong
889 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#83 of 718 in Hong Kong
657 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#121 of 718 in Hong Kong
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#205 of 718 in Hong Kong
801 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Hotel

Property: Evergreen Hotel
Address: No.48 Woosung Street, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Hotel (Hong Kong) located in the heart of the Kowloon area of Hong Kong, near to both commercial and shopping areas. Our superb location puts you in the nucleus of transportation - Airport Shuttle (A21), Metro Station (Jordan) and only takes you 10 to 15 minutes to get to the Hung Hom Train Station and Airport Express Station (Kowloon).Tour and Business Center can arrange Airport Shuttle, Local Tours and Theme Park Admission Tickets, traveling in Hong Kong is an easy step!Free Wifi connection is available in the entire building, whether you are a leisure or business traveler, you will be impressed with our service.In order to provide a comfort, freshness and healthy living environment, we are a SMOKE-FREE hotel. Thank you very much for your cooperation.We are in the 1st recognition by the Hong Kong Tourism Board with the certificate of the “Quality Tourism Service Scheme”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Evergreen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hong Kong
Evergreen Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing