We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very crazy theme park rides and nice cable cars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Park

Ocean Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.95*
and up
Skip the Line: Ocean Park Hong Kong Admission
Ranked #15 of 811 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's most beautiful theme parks and ranked as the 7th most popular theme parks in the world by Forbes - the home-grown destination includes an iconic Marine Land, Amazing Asian Animals (giant pandas, red pandas, asian otters, etc.), and cable cars as well as state-of-the-art, world-class facilities such as Polar Adventure, Thrill Mountain, and Aqua City.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very crazy theme park rides and nice cable cars.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I took on the 'Abbys' ride and we were sat down with a safety buckle and the machine took us up to at least 100 over meters up the tower and then we had a free fall down and it was shocking!!!! That was my first and last ride in Ocean Park. If you are that kind of 'daredevil' person then go ahead and take your sweet time to enjoy the rides! Went there in March 2011

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,125
    2,833
    935
    208
    140
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Long Wait Times”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited this attraction mid week, the lines to ALL rides and attractions was for us un exceptable. Every line showed at least one hour wait. The only thing that was worth seeing/doing is the chair lift, again an hour wait for 5 minute ride both ways. The aquarium though large was average. The pandas viewing was disappointing, one asleep the others in their housing viewable via cct.
I would never go back or recommend to my friends this attraction, but in fairness we did not see many show that were programmed because of the long wait and us being tired waiting in lines in 33deg temperature.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry_eight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“family fun”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A great place to take the kids. We saw the giant pandas and went on lots of rides. The queues are awful but if you stay until the early evening they are much better. I wish we'd spent more time in the day looking at the animals and other attractions and left the rides until later, as given the queuing a day isn't long enough to do everything. There is a bubble room but you need a change of clothes (suggest taking a swimsuit and small towel). The cable car ride down the hill was great too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Mortons_in_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pandas pandas pandas”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Pandas are a big draw and the new enclosure is the best Panda enclosure we have seen anywhere in the world (and we have been to a few!). The zig-zag shaped enclosure ensures you can view the Pandas where ever they are in their well designed and maintained environment.
Some of the areas very close to the bears has floor to ceiling glass. other areas further from where the bears flop around has half walls. Friendly staff mingle with the crowds maintaining low noise levels so as not to startle or upset the bears. It is very good.
However, there is downside. And it is pretty big. The old Panda enclosure that I saw only 5 years ago and was then very impressed with, has deteriorated into a shocking level of squalor. The older bears are still kept there but now monkeys share the enclosure. The grass looked dead and the smell was atrocious. This is in marked contrast to how it was just a few years ago and was a bit upsetting to see.
Beyond the Pandas, the next impressive feature is the aquarium. I am not usually interested in fish but I have to say this was very impressive. A wonderful structure that enables you to see the fish from above, the side and from below. The only thing I thought a little distasteful (or ironic perhaps) was the King Neptune fish restaurant next door.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best part of Honk Kong”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Excellent ropeway ride, unparallel water life display, could not expect to see a penguin in South-East Asia. The best part was the dancing fountain son-et-lumiere show.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chatterpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Park also viewed

 

Been to Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing