We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over Substance”
Review of L'hotel elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'hotel elan
Ranked #81 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Style over Substance”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Aptly named L’Elan, this hotel is a triumph of style over substance. The reception was on the 35th floor and all the rooms were below. Apple computers abounded at the check-in desks and the arrival process was cold but quick.
However, for all the technology the hotel, booked direct, had provided the most meagre of confirmations with virtually no information other than my name and date of arrival. Sure enough, when we came to check-out it was incredibly unclear what the correct total cost should be as they provided no breakdown on the confirmation and the rate was different each night. Eventually sorted but tiresome.
On arrival, Chinamen in jet black suits silently spoke into their shirt cuffs.
In the room, there was a gleaming ipad on a bedside table. It served no actual useful purpose but it looked good. The servicing of the room was sloppy with items not replaced. It is a 5 minute walk to the MTR but door to door from the hotel Central via MTR took an hour so each one will judge whether that's far or not.
Concierge barely spoke English and could only provide the most basic info. The shuttle bus: picked it up at Sainsbury Road at 22.30 and it took 5 minutes to get to Kowloon Station where we had to wait a full 15 minutes where no one got on or off but had to wait because of the timetable. No effort to amend the timetable to cater for less traffic in the late evening. Sloppy again. Rooms were fine, good bathrooms, nice shower. Free internet in rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riverside43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    260
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
78
178
52
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Economical option for us as we are two adult with two kids (aged 3 and 4), with the limited hotel options for one room (either sky high prices in city, or not so good reviews). So this hotel offered a very good option for us.

Pros:
Just around the corner of mtr, <5 mins walk thru tunnel and 2 street corner turnings
Very good chui Wah restaurant just 2 mins walk, one of the famous chain.
7-11 at mtr
Free beverages in fridge, replenished daily
Wifi access inside room, very good speed
Can fit 2 adult and 2 young age kid (<5yrs) for the twin bed room, keep in mind that this is not for big size kid sharing
Good pricing
Modern style
Cool rain shower, all of us loves it

Cons:
It is situated in industrial area, and 30-40 mins from city centre thru mtr
(there is hotel shuttle bus though)
Double twin bed is not as big, so better be sure to check with the staff if ur kid is bigger

Info sharing:
Taxi ride from hotel to Disneyland hotel is approx hkd220 for a weekday 9am ride
Taxi ride from admiralty mtr to hotel is approximately 150hkd for weekday 830pm ride
If you travel to ocean park, it s very far away from hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheechee_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 9 nights in the end of October and beginning of November. Like the others have earlier told, hotel was very modern and nice. We really liked the spacious room in 20th floor. Although there were couple of minuses. The biggest dissapointment was the hotel restaurant. We took a buffet dinner including the main course but the staff forgot our main courses. Finally when we got them, chicken was raw. They also told us to hurry up because the buffet was closing at 10pm (even though the reastaurant was open till 12 pm). When we were leaving they told us to give some discount but we never got any. A little bit same style continued with the breakfast. There were a lot of staff but no one was really concentrating to serve the certain tables. You had to ask coffee or tea, food was running out all the time etc. Other customers were unsatisfied too. There was only one lady who was all the time greeting and taking care of customers but she was there only during the weekends.

We understand that the hotel is very new and they are still "practising". That's why we suggest that the hotel will develop e.g. their IPad system. It was missing a lot of basic information like breakfast serving time, how to use air conditioning, restaurant menu etc. You'll find one information from the hotel's internet pages and other information from IPad or from the short video. We wish L'hotel Elan will collect all the information to one place (IPad).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a brand new hotel opened just 2 moths back in Hong kong. Rooms are much bigger than any similar hotel for that price range of 140-150US$.

Very unique shape dolphin at entrance make u feel diffrent moment u step in. The reception at 35th floor has small desks all girls using Apple lap tops

Rooms are brand new and you are smell freshness of furtniture. Coming to best part- Room has I pad for free usage for the duration of stay. You can play.surf and update ur FB status every moment ? Beds are soft with big/small pillows .

Gym on 35th floor and Breakfast on 2nd floor is not large but will make your apetite full .


It is 2 min walk from apm mall and subway station

Room Tip: Good connectivity as room is 2 mins walk from Subway . Pl take rooms on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwin1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have stayed in a fair number of hotels around the world over the past few years and stand by that this has to be the best that I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Absolutely amazing decor, has only been constructed in the past few years so the upkeep is naturally of a high quality. Unlimited free mini bar, wonderful views, roof top swimming pool, great restaurant, walking distance to the MTR, one stop away from great local shopping at Kowloon Bay. What else can you want? Is also very nice to stay out of the hustle and bustle that is Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. Makes the trip into the city a lot more exciting and who does not enjoy mingling with locals on the train? Without a doubt will stay here again the next time I come to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October. The hotel was 3 months old! I loved the views from the check in area and gym. The rooms have modern decor, the bathrooms are great with a wall into the room that can be glass or opaque. It is 5 minutes walk from the subway, which is the easiest I have ever used! Overall great value for money and highly recommended!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Everything about the hotel can be described as excellent, with one exception, the distance to Hong Kong Centre / shopping /etc.
Our advice is to use the excellent Hotel shuttle bus, this will get you there in about 25 minutes.
Also, use the Airport Express rail link when travelling to and from the airport to Hong Kong, on leaving, you can actually check in your luggage, get your boarding cards, leaving all the hassle for a fast efficient journey to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank photographie1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#61 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#74 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#128 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#406 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel elan

Property: L'hotel elan
Address: No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel elan 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel elan, the latest development of the L'hotel Group under the Chinachem Group, is now opened. Located in the vibrant new business hub of Kwun Tong, the Hotel offers 254 superbly appointed guestrooms and suites, a gym and an outdoor pool, a contemporary casual dining restaurant offering international cuisine, and banquet facilities. It is a design-led boutique-inspired hotel with an array of seamless e-tech services, from unparalleled eCheck-in, eKiosk information services, to user friendly eMenus. The hotel is also enriched by an exciting collection of contemporary art for a private gallery atmosphere amid the welcoming spirit of modern Asian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'hotel elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Elan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing