We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of L'hotel elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'hotel elan
Ranked #105 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2012

An amazing hotel with modern facilities. The room is very spacious with wide screen TV and a King size bed, plus an awesome view from the room. The hotel also include complimentary mini bar every day and iPad use with free wifi. The bathroom amenities are complete,it also include loofah. I enjoyed the terrace at the 3rd floor and beautiful swimming pool view on the 35th floor. The location is a bit far from the shopping area and attractions but not to worry as they have a shuttle bus that always arrived on time. It is a walking distance from the MTR station (Ngau Tau Kok). Overall I enjoy my stay in the hotel and it is really value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubblynad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed here for three nights early December and it was a pleasant stay.
The location of the hotel is not ideal for travelers wanting to be close to the action of Hong Kong. However, with that said, it is a very short walk to Ngau Tau Kok MTR station and public transport is extremely efficient in Hong Kong.
L'Hotel Elan is very modern and the staff were always happy to help. I was very surprised with the size of the room. Most standard hotel rooms are fairly small in Hong Kong, but here, the room and bathroom was large and extremely comfortable. It was a great room to come back to after a long day of being out.
The iPad in the room and complimentary minibar are nice touches.
It was also good value for money. I guess by being a bit further out they can compromise on price and be competitive with somewhere much more cramped but closer to the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I moved to this hotel from downtown for the remainder of my trip while I was in Honk Kong. The trip on MTR from Central took an hour. The district where this hotel stands is very bland, with nothing interesting to see or places to go get some food. The hotel has a shuttle that goes every 30 min, but it still takes about 45 min to get to Mong Kok. As others mention, after they pick you up at Tsim Sha Tsui station, the shuttle then goes to Kowloon station and stands there for 10 min….never have anyone actually got on. It would be worth for the hotel to find out ahead of time if the shuttle should expect anyone and if it was worth wasting another 10-15 min on the already long trip. Basically, I would leave the hotel in the morning and come back in the late evening. It’s too much trouble and time to go out back in town if you want to go get dinner.

The hotel itself was a lot nicer, cleaner, modern than the one I stayed at in downtown (Cosmo Hotel). The design is really nice, large rooms, great beds, sheets, spacious bathroom and they have all toiletries you could possibly need. The mini-fridge has two beers, two sodas replenished daily and they provide with bottled water as well. The room also had couple nice glasses for wine, dishes and silverware if you bring something from outside for dinner/snack (as I’ve done couple times).

The reception is on 35th floor – strange, but didn’t really bother me. It has nice views, open gym and a very small pool. From the pictures on the website, it looked like a decent size pool but it really is quite small and instead of looking at beautiful views you were looking at the construction.

I had breakfast once at their restaurant and it’s definitely not worth it – they provide a variety of food, but most of it is overly greasy and tasteless.

The patio on the 3rd floor (I think) is nice but because it was mostly cloudy and sprinkled rain from time to time, the hotel kept all the furniture covered so I didn’t get to enjoy it at all.
Housekeeping deserves most of the praise – after staying in hotels for travel in US and Carribean islands, I’ve come to expect very little of them, most of the time they make your bed and consider it done deal. The housekeeping at L’Hotel Elan was AMAZING – they kept my room beyond clean, tidied up everything so neatly that it made me forget the long trip to the hotel, the bad weather, etc. I don’t have enough words to describe how fantastic they were.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachBum770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I can only check out after unwillingly paid a few hundred dollars for the local calls I made. I am upset b/c their free facilities included free local calls in their website and they did not tell me the $5/local call if I did not make the booking directly with the hotel. Embarrassing.
It is conveniently located, but if you want to sit down at the lobby to wait for a friend or a taxi, you bet you have to stand all the way b/c there are only 2 chairs to sit and they are naturally always occupied. Just in case you want to go to the bathroom, you either have to go back to your room if you have not checked out yet or you have go to the 35th floor The swimming pool on the 35th floor is just a joke, nobody would want to swim or sit there b/c you won't feel any relaxation at all as people checkingin and out are watching you. Yes, the check in-out desk is on the 35th floor.
Certainly would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

This is my second stay in L'Elan hotel. Honestly, I quite like this hotel although it is located in an industrial area. The free shuttle bus to Kowloon and TST are very gd and convenient. Eatery are nearby the hotel and APM mall are 10 min walk away or 1 MTR station away. The food court and the mall close late at night. Rooms are good size and minibar are complimentary. Free wifi are provided. I will choose this hotel again if I go to HK again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Modern, comfortable, beautiful hotel with nice swimming pool with harbour view. Two issues:
1) location is not good. I was there for business, so I picked this hotel because it was close to the office. However, Hong Kong is an exciting place to go out after work, shopping, browsing, eating etc.. The location then becomes an inconvenience. They have a shuttle running from the hotel to Tsi Tsan Shui (main area) every 45 min, but it only stops in two places, which is annoying if you want to hop off along the way. The trip from the hotel can take 45min. There is not much around the hotel other than a large shopping mall.
2) Reception is on the top 35th floor (dont ask me why), which is inconvenient to check in and out. Lifts are slow. Also the reception is right next to the pool and gym on the top floor, so people are using the facilities while others are checking in and out. There is space on the ground floor for a reception, so I dont understand why the reception is at the top.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank megadayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed here on business for nearly three weeks as my office around the corner. This and the really good rate are the only saving grace for this hotel at the moment. It's brand new so rooms and facilities are clean and modern although the I pad technology is really lacking in detail, the dining information has great imagery but no detail of what's actually in the dishes they provide. Rooms are clean , great showers and the housekeeping was good with bottled water replenished daily. The restaurant service is average with basic breakfast, nothing special for dinner and unfortunately for this hotel the staff are mostly very young and still learning their trade. I absolutely hate the way they try constantly to clear the table and your plate away before you have actually finished the meal. Thought I was going to get my coffee confiscated when I sauntered out of the restaurant with it to enjoy it with a cigarette on the open air terrace (1 floor up). Obviously they haven't been briefed on how customers like to push the boundaries and actually don't want to be marched into the restaurant, and marched out again.

The check in on 35th floor is weird and slow and not customer focused. The concierge is on the ground floor lobby and these guys offer better service - shame they can't check you in! Although the smell of drains hangs in the lobby so it's a good job you only pass through quickly!

I would never use this hotel for leisure as its just too far away from the centre of Hong Kong and right in the middle of a business/ industrial area which makes it bleak in the evenings. Ok they have a shuttle bus that runs every half hour to the centre which is free but if you want to be in the centre of things this is not the place to be. The MTR is close by and is really good to get around on, used it to travel into china on a few occasions without mis-hap. Taxis a readily available outside the hotel and I was lucky that I am on expenses as this could get expensive if you want to get to the centre and back all the time

The swimming pool is closed and can't be used - I understand there is a problem with getting a licence so won't be open any time soon.

I guess I am being a little harsh, but if you are on holiday this hotel is cheap but there are a lot of hidden expenses to be aware of - taxis, not much in the way of western dining options in the area etc.

However, things I did find around the hotel, the mall called APM is a 10 minute walk away and is full of lots of stores, Chinese restaurants, Starbucks and is open until midnight.

I wish I could be more positive about the hotel but I have a feeling that when the newness wears off they will have nothing to offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room that has a connecting door to another room as my colleague got on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank choccyaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#70 of 729 in Hong Kong
465 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#139 of 729 in Hong Kong
680 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camlux Hotel
#179 of 729 in Hong Kong
35 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#98 of 729 in Hong Kong
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel elan

Address: No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £71 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel elan 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel elan, the latest development of the L'hotel Group under the Chinachem Group, is now opened. Located in the vibrant new business hub of Kwun Tong, the Hotel offers 254 superbly appointed guestrooms and suites, a gym and an outdoor pool, a contemporary casual dining restaurant offering international cuisine, and banquet facilities. It is a design-led boutique-inspired hotel with an array of seamless e-tech services, from unparalleled eCheck-in, eKiosk information services, to user friendly eMenus. The hotel is also enriched by an exciting collection of contemporary art for a private gallery atmosphere amid the welcoming spirit of modern Asian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your L'hotel elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Elan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing