We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is not bad!”
Review of L'hotel elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'hotel elan
Ranked #82 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The hotel is not bad!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is not bad! but be careful!!! Money from the card write off 2 times per stay at the hotel!!! plus Deposit block the card and do not return for 10 days!!!! Was in many countries, but such lawlessness with cheating money meet for the first time!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalia_SID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhotel_elan_hk, General Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Natalia_SID

Thank you for taking the time to write a message on TripAdvisor. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have taken your comments seriously and have carried out an investigation. We have submitted a refund request after your departure regarding the difference between the deposit and actual accommodation with other expenses. This refund process usually takes 10 – 14 business days. Should we be of any further assistance, please feel free to reach us at rsvns@lhotelelan.com . We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Sylvia Chung
General Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    260
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
78
178
52
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at L'hotel élan for 5 nights and loved it. The metro was a 5-10 minute walk and there were food courts 5 minutes away with plenty of choice. The hotel itself was modern and sleek - we especially liked the lift music! Our bedroom was spacious and clean with all the mod cons and great free mini bar! The hotel is in an unusual location with not much going on around but this didn't matter to much as we were out exploring most of the day. We would recommend as a great base to explore the city!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica_and_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhotel_elan_hk, General Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Monica_and_James

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our style and interior design. When you plan for a return, don’'t forget to visit our hotel website for exclusive accommodation and dining offers! We wish to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Sylvia Chung
General Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've only stayed in this hotel for a night as a little getaway but I have to say this hotel is surprisingly very good. As I am a local resident here in Hong Kong so i have an idea where it is. Heres my review of some parts:

Location
Its not near the tourist sites such as Causeway Bay, Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui, Wan Chai or Central but its still very convenient. The nearest MTR station is Ngau Tau Kok station and if you take Exit B, its only 5~10mins walking distance from the MTR. Although its located in one of the industrial areas of Hong Kong, that means you get decent prices of restaurants and not "tourist" prices. In fact, only around the corner of the hotel, there is Tsui Wah where you can eat local breakfast. During weekdays or on Saturdays, there are some other restaurants open. In fact, you'll be around 10~15mins walking distance to APM. Overall, i think the location is fairly convenient.

Transportation
As mentioned previously, the nearest MTR station Ngau Tau Kok station but if you know your way around you can watch 215x bus outside Millennium City 6 to Tsim Sha Tsui (you'll need to ask hotel for exact location). It takes approx 10mins waiting time and 20mins to get to TST or 30mins to Kowloon station (subject to traffic condition). There are red mini buses to Mong Kok.

Regarding travelling to/from airport, theres a E or A bus that stops at Kwun Tong (near APM). The travelling time is approximately 1hr (subject to traffic condition). Then from APM, its approx 10mins walking distance.

Facilities
There is gym and swimming pool but don't expect it to be fully equipped, theres only like 2 treadmills, a small area for weights and thats about it. The swimming pool also is a very small. The gym is open 24hrs with towels and unlimited water to drink.

Room
The room is fairly small but you probably won't be expecting to be spending too much time in the room and as long as you don't bring 2 big sizes suitcases i think its ok. Free wireless provided with iPad also too so you don't need to worry about simple internet checking/browsing. They've got the basic stuff provided such as comb, hairdryer, kettle, toothbrush, shampoo, etc... They have some basic drinks in the mini bar which is complimentary.

Overall
I think its more of a business hotel than a tourist hotel because of its location near to Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay but still its not exactly too far away from the city center such as Mong Kok and Tsim Sha Tsui. You probably won't get this decent hotel with the price range if closer to the city center. The location is only 5~10mins walking distance from the Ngau Tau Kok station so i quite like it. If you are happy to venture like the locals to Mong Kok, Yau Ma Tei and Tsim Sha Tsui, you can ask the hotel for directions on how to catch the minibuses and buses there instead of taking the MTR. As mentioned previously, I am not going to complain about the room size because its still good for a few days.

Food - Sorry cannot comment as i didn't try its restaurant there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bruceywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhotel_elan_hk, General Manager at L'hotel elan, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear bruceywonder

Thank you for sharing your detailed comments with us on TripAdvisor platform. We are pleased to learn that your overall experience with us went well. Although our gym and pool are not big, we do generally experience smooth attendance.

Indeed, other than the nearby shopping malls apm and Megabox, you may easily reach the almighty shopping district Tsimshatsui or Mongkok by MTR or bus within half an hour! Regarding transportation to/from the airport, in addition to the E or A bus option, you may also consider our limousine service (at charge) for a more indulgent and convenient experience. Please feel free to contact our Reservations Department at rsvns@lhotelelan.com or
+852 3968 8366 for more details.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Best regards,

Sylvia Chung
General Manager
L’hotel élan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel! Ive stayed at this place twice now, first time being a 2week stay and 2nd time a short 3 day stay. Both were business trip purposes, location is not so great to the tourist spots, but its accesible to the subway thats about 15mins walk away, and the subway takes you practically everywhr! Apart frm the location everything else about this hotel is lovely! Rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained, generous selection of toiletries provided, shower has both rain and the usual shower heads. They even have 6 types of complimentary drinks in the room fridge. The hotel also has an outdoor terrace at the 3rd floor, perfect for some drinks in the evening. Pool is a lil small, but has a lovely view overlooking the city and the harbour. Gym is well equipped, also has some refreshments (fruits/snacks/drinks) that are provided for free. I have nothing but praises for this hotel! Only minor setback is the breakfast menu that did not change at all, maybe the hotel could work on varying the breakfast menu.
Excellent place to stay! Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Veni Venusha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Concierge staff are very friendly and proactively offer help throughout my stay. I especially appreciate the team there and one of the staff called Yick, he recommends nice places for me to visit in my packed schedule with even the transport route. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hildddda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is not the best hotel I've stayed in, but I was prepared to give it 5 stars....until I lay on the bed, which felt more like a slab of granite.

The hotel is new and very cool, with a roof top pool with great views over Hong Kong. It was far better value than most other top Hong Kong hotels. The location is good, near the harbour, but takes a while on the MTR to get to the popular places like Central and Tsim Sha Tsui. Looks like they spent all their money on the fittings and then had to buy cheap mattresses to come in on budget, what a shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have booked this hotel based on the previous reviews - just check-in 10 minutes ago and this is so far my first impression:
-No taxi driver had an idea of this place - we were driving around from the airport for hours! so if you want to come here - PRINT A MAP... and hand-it over to the driver!
-Upon arrival got some help with the suitcases but as soon I've entered the elevator for the famous reception on the 35th floor I was on my own... no more help with the suitcases!
-On my reservation request I've specified the preference for a high floor... guess what! - not available - now I'm inside of my room with the beautiful view of an old Hong Kong Building right in front of my window - Good for the receptionist team - They have the best view - WHO for God sake designs a hotel where the receptionist have the best view while the guests are looking at old Hong Kong Buildings!?!?
-I've requested a NON smoking room which was confirmed by the receptionist - we are allergic to the smell of cigarette... I was sent down to my room on the 16th floor... and the smell of cigarette was unbearable - upon entering we've called the reception to ask about this and her reply was "can we send somebody with a air spray? or somebody from maintenance"??? - our reply was: No we can't stay here - an air spray - are you mocking? we've invited the receptionist to come to the room to check for her self - of course she didn't came - she ask us to come up... again with our luggage up to the 35th floor... with the nice view there!
-I am tired, driving around, I am stucked in an smoking room - of course I was upset and my first question being back to the reception was "why would you send us to an smoking room.... not I am coughing like hell due to my allergy... Her reply "very strange - that was a non smoking room" for what I said - if you don't believe go and check by your self!
-They gave us a new room - of course couldn't be a high floor but one floor down - we are here regretting our decision of taking this hotel, far away from everything with the lovely view of ugly buildings around, and making an effort to convince the receptionist that that-one was an smoking room.
Having been twice on the famous reception with the great view - I've complained that nobody has helped-us with the luggage and guess what! no reply! - they just let us go!!!
So my recommendation to all.... it doesn't worth to stay here, it doesn't worth to be far away from all - for this view and this service there are tons of hotels out there in Hong Kong!
It's one of my numerous trip to this city and this what happened today - never ever happened before.
Today is my first night... I have three more... very hard would be to make me change my mind - so far TERRIBLE!

Room Tip: Don't know - this hotel is just surrounded by ugly old buildings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank montreal-jet-setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#60 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#74 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
L'hotel Island South
#128 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Kwun Tong
Newton Place
Newton Place
#406 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel elan

Property: L'hotel elan
Address: No.38 Chong Yip Street, Kwun Tong, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Kwun Tong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel elan 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'hotel elan, the latest development of the L'hotel Group under the Chinachem Group, is now opened. Located in the vibrant new business hub of Kwun Tong, the Hotel offers 254 superbly appointed guestrooms and suites, a gym and an outdoor pool, a contemporary casual dining restaurant offering international cuisine, and banquet facilities. It is a design-led boutique-inspired hotel with an array of seamless e-tech services, from unparalleled eCheck-in, eKiosk information services, to user friendly eMenus. The hotel is also enriched by an exciting collection of contemporary art for a private gallery atmosphere amid the welcoming spirit of modern Asian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'hotel elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Elan Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing