We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
California Hotel HK
Ranked #508 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed in California Hotel few days ago for my birthday. The hotel is actually new and they were even renovating the place.

The location is inside Golden Crown Court along Nathan Road. Some people tend to get lost finding this place because you wouldn't notice the entrance, but we knew exactly where it is because of google earth. It's only a few meters away from the MTR. There are a lot of restaurants in the area as well. Malls are just walking distance. Perfect place in Tsim Sha Tsui.

From the airport, take bus A21 (make sure to buy 2 way ticket because its cheaper) and it will take you 1 block away from the building. Going back to the airport, you just have to cross the street and take the same bus.

Rooms are very small but it's how it is in Hong Kong. We have to place our luggage under our beds to have 'space'. Bathroom is small as well. The toilet is just beside the shower. Regardless, we slept pretty well. They regularly change your sheets and towels too.

Over all, the place is very clean, very convenient, and the staffs are very friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room near the front desk to get good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

There are total of three of us in this trip and the room that they provided us was big enough for the three of us. Hotel rooms in HK are always small so can't really complain much unless you are willing to pay $200+ in SG for a night. But basic necessities are provided : Clean bed, new towels changed everyday and space for us to put our luggage. Once negative point was the hotel is not smoking free so smoking is allowed in the air-conditioned environment which i personally cannot stand it. I suggest that the owner of the hotel cather a room specially for smoking for the benefit of non-smoking guests.

Room Tip: If u travel with odd numbers(3,6,9), request for the three person rooms as it is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IssacJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location, cost and because it offered a family room. On arrival, at 1.30 in the morning, the hotel couldn't find our booking, although we could clearly see our name written down in the arrivals book! The receptionist didn't know what to do so made a phone call to someone who instructed him to give us a full refund so that we could go and find alternative accommodation. By now it was 2.30 in the morning, we have 2 children and have never been to Hong Kong before so obviously this was not a suitable solution, we explain this to the member of staff who then suggested we could stay in the one room that was available - a single bedded room, by this time we were willing to compromise and went to look at the room. The room was down a corridor which was full of workmanship tools and even had a wheelbarrow in it! The room itself was tiny with the smallest single bed that I have every seen, my husband and I couldn't stand by the side of the bed and close the door - obviously unsuitable for 4 people to stay in. At this point our patience was running out, we had a child asleep in the hotel lobby and the other one worrying that we would be sleeping on the street in Hong Kong, we explained to the receptionist that he would need to find us alternative accommodation to which his reply was that he didn't think he would be able to find us anything. I encouraged him to try and he made a phone call, he was very cuffed with himself when he said that he had found something - a room in the guest house across the road which "old and not very nice" I am sure you can imagine our reaction!

It was at this point that we contacted our booking agent - Agoda - who were very helpful and eventually found us alternative accommodation.

I would not recommend that anyone stay in this, I use this term loosely, hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MrsK135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

California Hotel is located in the bustling Tsim Sha Tsui - a strong plus, but with no signages on the exterior of the building to which it is housed, it can be quite a challenge having to locate it.

But this is certainly a minor issue compared to other problems that we soon have to deal with.

We booked a triple room, but instead of being given a room with three single beds (as advertised), we are given a room with one single bed and a king single.
The toilet is small, as expected, but what we didn't expect is a toilet bowl built so close to the door and the wall that there's barely enough legroom for a 1.55m person, let alone anyone taller than that. But if you're taller than that and have to use the toilet, be prepared that you will have to twist your body and lift one of your thighs and hold it at an awkward angle.

Wifi is another issue. There's wifi in the common lobby, but no wifi in our room. When we raised the issue with the staff, he casually said it was because our room is too far away from the router. No further assistance offered.

There's also no remote control for the aircon in our room, no fixed line, and no place to hang our towels. When we asked for hangers, the staff again simply said he ran out of hangers, and went back to smoking again. Yes, the staff all smoked in the air-conditioned reception area.

Hair-dryers are not provided in the room, and we asked for it at the reception counter, the staff gave a stern reminder before handing it over. 'Return it as soon as you're done with it!'
That's when I realise I have made a terrible mistake of having checked in to this hotel. So if you're not on a shoestring budget, or are left with no choice, do think twice before you check in to California hotel, or just be prepared to have to put up with third-world service.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pokesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 凌云 朱
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lixl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 外道
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#474 of 723 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#165 of 723 in Hong Kong
440 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Wellyet Guest House
Wellyet Guest House
#378 of 723 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Grand Guest House
#445 of 723 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Panda's Hostel
Panda's Hostel
#69 of 161 in Hong Kong
66 reviews
Panda's Hostel - Hot Dog Bus
#91 of 264 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Hotel HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel HK

Address: 4F., Golden Crown Court,66-70, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong 999077, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £37 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — California Hotel HK 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2012, the California Hotel guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Hong Kong for business or pleasure. Only 0.4km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, Kowloon Mosque & Islamic Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your California Hotel HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing