We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #88 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel located in the heart of Sheung Wan, the hotel has the Queen St tram stop right outside the door, and only a 5 min walk to the HK-Macau Ferry Terminal & MTR (8 min) nearby. There is a Starbucks Cafe at the of the hotel.

To get to the hotel, catch the Airport Express at the airport and get off at the Hong Kong Station. Interchange with the complimentary Airport Express Shuttle Bus (Route H1) (FREE) which runs every 20 minutes and will drop you by the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CELESTESIN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear CELESTESIN80,

I am thrilled that you find our hotel in the great location and is having the marvelous transportation network which allow you to access here with no difficulty.

Thanks for all your nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back real soon.


Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,235 - 1,241 of 3,357 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location of the hotel is approx 10 mins walking distance from Sheung Wan MTR (ExitA)
*well if walk from Central that's around 20 mins or more.. because you will end up shop around
nearby tram, less than HKD50 from HK MTR station or shuttle bus from the same station (H1) after you arrive via Airport Express

Decent price and well maintained hotel
decent breakfast *if included in your stay, else just eat nearby
not very sound proof
room is decent size for the price of HK hotel
in-room WIFI and safe provided

only dislike the reception area is on the 5th Floor, only 1 bottle of drinking water is provided even paid for 2 occupants
no other facilities like gym and etc is provided...
the mini fridge is a very small, literally can only store 6 small bottles of drinks.....
pillows too soft for me *personal preferences....

Room Tip: room on the harbor view for the nice sea view room on another view will provide you a view on every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear nicekit,

We really thank you for your comments about ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Hotel. We will share your feedback to our dedicated ambassadors for improvement.

In supporting for the PLANET 21, Accor’s sustainable development program, we are trying to eliminate the consumption of 1-time disposable item in order to promote the environmental protection in our daily practice. If you would like to request more complimentary water, simply call our housekeeping and we are happy to delivery your requested items to your room within 15 minutes.

Please be understood that as an economy hotel, we are aiming to provide the best service at the best price. Thus, providing the most cozy and comfortable environment is our major concern and the recreational facilities are not with us under ibis brand positioning.

We do extend our warmest welcome to your next visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank SUPERADRIANME
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bo_PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty decent overall.

The rooms are very well kept and clean, a housekeeping supervisor even came by one time to inquire if I felt the room was clean. Kind of odd but hey it shows they care enough to check which I think is really important.

The checkin area being on the fifth floor is a little odd and the elevator situation is kind of hard to get used to but luckily when you do get one they are fast.

The rooms are a bit tiny by many American standards however if you've been living in Asia you may find them perfectly sized.

The room has everything you need, everything seems to be in working order, I didn't opt for an upgraded view but was satisfied with the standard one that came with the room. I believe I recall they had some complimentary bottles of water in the room.

The staff overall was very helpful when inquiring about activities and transportation but was surprised when they were unable to assist me in mailing postcards but it isn't a luxury hotel after all so wasn't a huge deal. They did inform me as to where I could buy stamps in the neighborhood and where I could mail them so that was ok.

Realistically I think the place was a good deal for a good room , clean, up to expectations for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xj22jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear xj22jaguar,

Thank you for taking time and effort to share your experience share your comments regarding your recent stay at ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Hotel.

There are 2 elevators which can directly get to the ground floor out of our 5 elevators. We are unable to make all the elevators going to the ground floor since it is restricted to the building design. Thus, we are going to indicate the direction of each elevator in the near future to improve the guest experience in our hotel.

I really appreciate your comment about our staff members, which take their roles in our property very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
We do extend our warmest welcome to your next visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel has two things going for it, being new and the location.
The hotel is comfortable, clean, neat and at a good price for Hong Kong. As others have said the room is not large but big enough, it offers everything you need for a business stay and the bathroom is factional.
The location is great if you have to get around the city as it is close to the train and ferry and within walking distance to Soho for shopping and restaurants. I would recommend taking the time to walk up the hill and enjoy some great food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,222 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,984 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#28 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,299 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#89 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £63 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing