We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Ranked #87 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Good and convenient location. Very nice view of the harbour and near the central pomenerade.
Appreciated the hospitality and the room upgrade by the front desk. Thank you so much! Accor hotels are always my number 1 choice. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ShuTingHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    1,600
    383
    56
    25
See reviews for
576
937
426
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We arrived at IBIS late at night after miscommunication with an apartment company. Many hotels/hostels were full, but IBIS had one room available. After trekking the streets of Hong Kong for some time after 36 hours without sleep, we were pretty much up for anything. IBIS was a pleasant suprise!

The staff was not overly friendly, but polite enough. We stayed at the 31st floor at a room with an amazing view of the harbour. The room had free, fast wifi, was very clean and big enough for the two of us and our big backpacks (not too common in Hong Kong, we have realized). The location of the hotel is perfect, only a 15 minute walk to the Soho area. Moreover, the area around the hotel was also very fascinating. Also, Starbucks has a shop on the first floor - perfect if you need your coffee in the morning or want a cheaper breakfast meal than the hotel breakfast.

All in all a great stay. However, the prizes are a little steep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benedictebjerknes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear benedictjerknes,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us in the Harbour View room. It’s indeed a great pleasure taking care of you and your appreciation towards our room size and free WiFi are a great motivation to all of us.

Thanks for your support and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel located in the heart of Sheung Wan, the hotel has the Queen St tram stop right outside the door, and only a 5 min walk to the HK-Macau Ferry Terminal & MTR (8 min) nearby. There is a Starbucks Cafe at the of the hotel.

To get to the hotel, catch the Airport Express at the airport and get off at the Hong Kong Station. Interchange with the complimentary Airport Express Shuttle Bus (Route H1) (FREE) which runs every 20 minutes and will drop you by the entrance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CELESTESIN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear CELESTESIN80,

I am thrilled that you find our hotel in the great location and is having the marvelous transportation network which allow you to access here with no difficulty.

Thanks for all your nice comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back real soon.


Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location of the hotel is approx 10 mins walking distance from Sheung Wan MTR (ExitA)
*well if walk from Central that's around 20 mins or more.. because you will end up shop around
nearby tram, less than HKD50 from HK MTR station or shuttle bus from the same station (H1) after you arrive via Airport Express

Decent price and well maintained hotel
decent breakfast *if included in your stay, else just eat nearby
not very sound proof
room is decent size for the price of HK hotel
in-room WIFI and safe provided

only dislike the reception area is on the 5th Floor, only 1 bottle of drinking water is provided even paid for 2 occupants
no other facilities like gym and etc is provided...
the mini fridge is a very small, literally can only store 6 small bottles of drinks.....
pillows too soft for me *personal preferences....

Room Tip: room on the harbor view for the nice sea view room on another view will provide you a view on every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBIS H, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear nicekit,

We really thank you for your comments about ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Hotel. We will share your feedback to our dedicated ambassadors for improvement.

In supporting for the PLANET 21, Accor’s sustainable development program, we are trying to eliminate the consumption of 1-time disposable item in order to promote the environmental protection in our daily practice. If you would like to request more complimentary water, simply call our housekeeping and we are happy to delivery your requested items to your room within 15 minutes.

Please be understood that as an economy hotel, we are aiming to provide the best service at the best price. Thus, providing the most cozy and comfortable environment is our major concern and the recreational facilities are not with us under ibis brand positioning.

We do extend our warmest welcome to your next visit again soon!

Best Regards,
Simone Hansen (Ms.)
General Manager
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#50 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#98 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Property: Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Address: No. 28 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IBIS HONG KONG CENTRAL & SHEUNG WAN HOTEL, a catchy icon strategically located in the bustling Sheung Wan, within minutes away from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal, airport bus station and in the vicinity of Hong Kong Central's business and shopping hub including Airport Express, boasts the first ibis flagship hotel in Greater China to showcase a brand new vibrant style, bringing in comfort, well-being and service. The 550 modern, boldly simplistic guestrooms are furnished with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and bespoke interiors on 3-metre high ceiling, large bay windows, premium timber flooring and comfy bedding coupled with stunning harbor views in some rooms on higher floors that born to feast your eyes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing