We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #89 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Quick easy bus ride from the airport. Discovery bay is a secluded paradise. Very private but the rooms are stunning. And the view of Hong Kong is amazing. You can get to central from a ferry at discovery bay or you can go back to the main bus terminal and switch to the metro. All is very accessible from this location, but you feel like you are in a private resort. Lantau island is easy to see by bus.
Simply amazing

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Rocknryry

This is so great to hear! We are always very grateful for such positive feedback. Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest. We very much look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to stay with us.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    313
    101
    24
    29
See reviews for
283
253
36
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The room is spacious and comfy, a great value for money in Hkong.
Its located near Disneyland on Discovery Bay.
Please note, you cant take taxi to this hotel. Just take MTR to Sunny bay, and catch bus to the hotel. You will be dropped off before the tunnel, and take connecting bus (C4/C9) from bus stop just across it, it will take you directly to the front of hotel.
You only need to do this once, once you familiar with surrounding, only 3 minutes walk across the tunnel.
I was here during soft opening, great view to the ocean... a unique concept of bath tub, you can actually dip in the tub with ocean view....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Alexandre N

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and for taking the time out of your day to review your recent stay.

It would be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was highly impressed by Auberge Hotel. This is a brand new hotel in its "soft" opening phase. Large rooms, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, everything is new. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, great value.

Just be aware that you CAN'T catch a taxi to this hotel because Discovery Bay is a car-free zone. The only way to get there is by ferry from Central then bus from DB Pier, or train/bus from Hong Kong Airport, or hotel shuttle bus. You really need to have a plan in place to get to the hotel before you arrive in Hong Kong.

This is my new number 1 hotel in Hong Kong. Don't fear the remote location, Disneyland is a short bus/train ride away (but allow up to an hour on the weekend because there is no Sunny Bay connection). Central is 10 minutes by bus to DB Pier, then 20 minutes by fast ferry.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Simply outstanding and great value for money. The only downside is the reliance on public transportation to get around, but once you get to know the bus routes in and out it is not an issue at all.

Room Tip: Have a plan in place to get to the hotel before you arrive in Hong Kong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear brodricj

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong recently and we very much appreciate you sharing your wonderful comments on tripadvisor.

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The entire team and I are dedicated to enhancing your stay and such lovely feedback from you is very significant to us all.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to stay with us.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

At first, I assumed that it was going to be a pleasurable experience. Nice lobby decor, great seaview, the elevator was impressive and they even gave us an upgrade to a suite. I'm thinking, "Score". However, we get to our suite, and it was as cold and uninviting as a vacant apartment.

Entering the room, we could hear our echoes because there was nothing on the walls, no rugs on the floors, very little furniture and ugly/cheap furniture at that. It was a big open space of nothing. Then our bedroom was a tiny space of nothing. But they did have robes for us, which unfortunately looked like hospital robes with sperms drawn on them.

I'm really not a big complainer, but I was pretty disappointed. It had no snack bar, however the kitchen area was stocked well w/ dishes. The bathroom shower was made for people 3foot6 (w/o a place to put the soap by the way). We paid for internet $20 usd a day, it worked sporadically (and I really want my internet $ back, but they warn you that there are no refunds).

The worst part of all this is, it has probably one of the best seaviews in Hong Kong, so it has the potential to be a great place, but the hotel is thrown together w/ very little integrity.

Something tells me that we would've done better without their upgrade, because I don't think their suite was fully decorated. It was a lifeless shell of a room for $200 usd per night, which was their bargain price. Not feeling the bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Jordan D

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong recently and for sharing your views on tripadvisor. Your comments are very constructive and help us enormously to improve our services.

I was extremely disappointed to read that we did not meet all your expectations during your stay, in particular with regards to the suite we upgraded you to . We are in the process of enhancing our suites with some additional artwork and trust that during your next stay with us you feel an enhanced level of comfort.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we sincerely hope you would be willing to give us the chance to regain your confidence in the future.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

we spent 4 nights at auberge discovery bay early this month. our friend got a wedding ceremony here so we thought it might be convenient to stay here too. the ceremony in white chapel was really beautiful and charming. the ocean view behind the bride and the groom is really something to remember.
about the stay, we have some issues to complain though. first of all, like all the reviwers mentioned before, this hotel is very far from the city and the transportation here and there is quite limited. there are public buses around town regularly but it took us sometimes to understand all the bus schedule and the bus stop locations. the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to TST, wan chai and causeway bay but noone told us about this until we found it by ourselves in the hotel information booklet in the room. the shuttle bus is very nice and clean and new and the driver is very polite though. if they run more often it would be perfect.
another thing to complain is that there was really nothing to do around the hotel. in the hotel website, they mention about the discovery north plaza so we expected some shops and some restaurants nearby that we could enjoy spending sometime around. turned out that there was nothing at all except one big wellcome supermarket. we arrived at the hotel on the first day at 8 p.m. and realized that there were no place to have dinner just one pizza shop and one indian restaurant i guess. so we chose to buy something to eat from wellcome instead. and it opens only till 10 p.m.
the hotel room is nice and spacious. the bed is very comfortable. the breakfast buffet is great. hotel staff is average but the bellboy is quite nice and he gave us good information about hotel transportation.
other cons:
1. strong cigarette smell in the room
2. no late check out after 1 p.m. although i saw not many guests around when we departed
3. no complimentary bottles of water on third day
4. no bed made up on second day
5. no free wifi
6. the safe in the room was broken

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Sweetheart19

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong for your friend’s wedding ceremony and for your post regarding your stay on tripadvisor. Your feedback helps us tremendously during our soft-opening phase as we strive to create memorable experiences for all our guests.

I was very happy to read that your friend’s wedding ceremony was so special. However I’m sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay.

There is actually a wider variety of restaurants and shops in the main plaza which is served by a very frequent bus service which takes less than ten minutes to reach. I was so sorry to read that this was not highlighted to you during your stay.

Your comments on the housekeeping service are very well noted and we are following these up.

We are only able to offer late check-out subject to availability. The availability of our guest rooms were limited upon your departure, so I am so sorry that we could accommodate your request.

We hope you will consider Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong as an option once more and thank you again for your very helpful comments.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Joe lau and the young girl who worked with him were excellent nothing too much trouble even to the point joked about couldn't sleep due to noise of friend snoring went out and personally bought me great ear plugs few new teething issues but would return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Bfrugby

Thanks for your wonderful post on tripadvisor. We are always very grateful for such positive feedback, especially as it concerns the team!

I was so pleased to read that Joe took such great care of you during your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong again.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This place makes no sense. If you're visiting Hong Kong, why would you choose to spend your time in a (largely western) residential suburb...? Food in Discovery Bay is very average and overpriced, it's TWO buses and an MTR ride to Disney from here (easier to get to Disney from almost ANYWHERE else in Hong Kong). I guess if the hotel is cheap as hell, and you don't care where it's located, then it's a cheap bed in a nice clean hotel. But if you want to see any of Hong Kong, there's literally nowhere worse. You might as well stay in some expat ghetto in Singapore...
Don't wast your time or money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne B, General Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Adam W

Thanks for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong with your family recently. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to give us your opinion on your most recent stay with us.

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy the location of our property in Discovery Bay. For your information, we have recently commenced with a range of shuttle bus services from the hotel to areas such as Central, Kowloon and Disneyland. We trust that this will assist our guests to access a range of areas in Hong Kong with ease.

Once again, thank you for your time and comments, they are very much appreciated.

Warm regards

Anne Busfield
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,944 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#374 of 718 in Hong Kong
416 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
880 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
79 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Property: Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Address: 88 Siena Avenue, Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing