We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and only hotel in Discoery Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable and only hotel in Discoery Bay”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a nice hotel with good facilities and a helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is aso near restaurants. The public bus from the airport drops you off directly ouside the hotel.

The hotel would benefit from using its location by having seating for their restaurant outside overlooking the sea, and maybe organising activities such as kayaking.

If you want to stay in Discovery Bay, then this is a good (and only) choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear jfpower

Thanks for sharing with us your views and they are very much appreciated.

I’m happy that we have generally met your expectations and you had a lovely stay with us.
Thanks for staying at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and it’d be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    299
    98
    24
    27
See reviews for
269
244
36
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia, Peru
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is very new when we arrived, however it has stunning views over the ocean looking towards Hong Kong island, it was the best weather they had experienced in along time so we were very lucky to have such clarity.

For an Asian hotel the lobby is the weakest area, we are use to arrival staff around the clock, anyone can walk into the lobby and go unnoticed or ignored.

Rooms thou are small but compact and the Ocean View rooms are wonderful if you are lucky to experience no pollution. Aircon however was noisy we felt.

The breakfast is quite poor, however the staff are attentive and you do get a proper cup of British tea.

When we arrived the pool was not finished which we felt was a shame and we had booked our stay weeks in advance and they could of informed us.

Anyhow it's an ok hotel few teething problems like lobby staff and lack of transport from airport or to the DB ferry, not sure the mainland Chinese will tolerate being told to walk to the bus stop!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear PicklesAsia

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and sharing with us your experience on your recent stay.

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed the stunning ocean views and beautiful weather during your visit. However, I’m sorry that we did not communicate with you well on the transportation prior to your arrival. For your information, there are regular buses running from the airport and the DB ferry pier directly to the hotel.

Your comments on our team members and buffet breakfast are well noted.

Thanks for your constructive feedback again. For your information, our swimming pool is now open and we hope to welcome you back gain for a more enjoyable experience with us.
Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We went to Auberge hotel to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday and the night is excellent. They offer some special birthday gift for us and arranged late check-out. The staff are friendly and very helpful, but they seems appear to be poorly trained. No one will open the hotel door for you. Lovely break from the city and strongly recommend..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Kelvin T

Happy Belated Birthday to your girlfriend and thanks for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

I’m so happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time with us.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Auberge hotel in Discovery Bay, Hong Kong. The hotel is new, clean, well appointed and the rooms are very comfortable. I had a short stay in Hong Kong for the first British & Irish Lions game vs the Barbarians. The hotel is fantastically situated in a quiet bay with excellent local amenities in walking distance. Bus and ferry transport make travel to the main island, Kowloon and the airport extremely easy. The Auberge is an excellent choice for those wanting to enjoy the bustle of Hong Kong whilst having the option to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garethgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Garethgk

I’m very happy to read your wonderful comments on Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong! It’s so great to hear that you very much liked the tranquil and unique location of the property, and found it easily accessible.

Your comments on our rooms are well noted and much appreciated as well.

Thank you so much for staying with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again for another excellent getaway.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

What amazing views from the ocean rooms. Food expensive but decent. Superbly clean. Yes, difficult to get to but certainly worth the quiet and calm. Lovely break from the city.. Only down point was the restaurant service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear SassySista

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong with us.
It’s great to read that you enjoyed the tranquility of our location and our amazing views.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.
Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here, and we feel we got decent value out of it. We had a mountain view room, overlooking Disneyland, and contrary to what many others had experienced our room was better than what was advertised; we had a sunken bath overlooking the ocean and an excellent bed. It seems we may have gotten a free upgrade. The internet is certainly expensive, at 40 HKD an hour or 120 HKD a day; luckily there's free Wi-Fi in the lobby, so it was never really needed.

The staff are friendly and somewhat helpful, but the restaurant staff appear to be poorly trained; we had a waiter spill tea on our table, look at the mess he made, and then simply wander off without wiping it. He couldn't even remember what table we were seated at when he brought out order.The teapots they used were poorly designed and spill everywhere. The High-tea we had there was good, and the breakfast too, but the quantities of bread are small and the dinner buffet leaves much to be desired. The deserts are small and bland, and the selection of appetizers beforehand was severely limited. Our father's day buffet consisted of a small selection of appetizers, a dry steak and a basic desert buffet, which with drinks not included totaled 850 HKD (110 USD) for 2 people! Suffice it to say there are much better places to eat at on DB; try the DDeck. At least there you'll get some decent food for your money.

Overall the room and hotel are nice but unfinished, but the food leaves much to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoGerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear TokyoGerry

Thanks for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong for Father’s Day.
I’m happy to know that you enjoyed your 3-night stay in our Ocean Front Room and I trust that you enjoyed the sunken bath and the amazing views overlooking the ocean! However I’m very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectation with the food and service in Café bord de Mer.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you would find your visit more enjoyable when you choose to stay with us next time.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Hotel needs to have more clear information on getting to the place.
Took a bus from airport to hotel pier, then transfer to another bus to hotel.
Bus stop to hotel not connected so have to walk in the rain to hotel.
Room was spacious, bed was comfortable. There a supermarket and some shops next to hotel. If you take a bus to the pier, there are more dining options.
All staffs are helpful and ready to assist you except the front office. They are unfriendly and forever looking grumpy. Needs to work on that.
Overall, hotel is near Disneyland but if you are more into shopping, then look for another hotel near city side.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomoo1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear moomoo1211

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and sharing with us your comments on your stay.

I’m delighted to read that you generally enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel conveniently located near the airport and Disneyland. For your information, we have shared all transportation information on our website, but I’m sorry that we did not communicate with you clearly on such information prior to your arrival.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again.
Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#93 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#375 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#54 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Gold Coast Hotel
#97 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Property: Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Address: 88 Siena Avenue, Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing