We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and spacious with fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #82 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I spent two weeks in this new, spacious and friendly hotel enjoying our stunning ocean-view suite, the outdoor pool, restaurant, bounty bar and spa botanica. Staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We managed to organise a special celebratory party, mostly by email from the UK and it was all stress-free. The events team were fabulous ...efficient, flexible and accommodating ... the cake and prosecco came as unexpected complimentary additions! We know Discovery Bay (it is not the typical Hong Kong experience but a 'resort' within easy reach of the hustle and bustle of the city) and are so thrilled there is such a fantastic hotel there now. Enjoyed meeting the senior management team at their cocktail reception too. They are a highly professional and friendly team. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: ocean-view is just fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOH109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear JOH109

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on us! I’m grateful and delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

Great thanks for your compliments on our team members, they are very much appreciated and encouraging.

Thanks again for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit!

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Spent eleven nights in this new hotel and loved every minute of it. The rooms were beautiful and the deluxe suite balconies were incredible overlooking the sea towards Hong Kong. The rooms were cleaned every day to an exceptional standard. The swimming pool, spa, restaurants were all excellent. Staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Anne Busfield the General Manager does a great job!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Roz069

Deepest thanks for your wonderful feedback on Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and our team members!

I’m extremely happy to read that we have met your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thanks so much for staying with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

spent the past weekend with three mates in a two bedroom suites. A warm welcome kicked off with a limousine van transfer upon arrival at the pier and followed by a hearty cheese platter came with a bottle of prosecco. Tried the "sea dream" package at the spa and was impressed with the 5-star hotel spa ambience and service it offered. We headed to the pier for dinner and reckoned the commutting wasn't a hassle as there were options instead of relying on the hotel's shuttle. Al fresco breakfast on a sunny Sunday morning was definitely a nice treat. All in all, it's good to have a resort like this in a tiny place of Hong Kong offering a weekend retreat and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear EXHKG

Thanks for your compliments. I’m so happy to read that you very much enjoyed your weekend retreat with your friends at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

It’s also great to know that you found the hotel unique and we overall have met your expectations.
Thanks so much for staying with us and sharing with us your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family spent two days at this new resort hotel in Discovery Bay at the end of June. With not much time to go overseas, we wanted to give this new hotel a try when the kids finished their exams. Transportation was easy, we took ferry from Central Pier 3 and then their free shuttle at the pier to the hotel. Less than an hour, we arrived at the hotel from Central. I had never imagined how convenient it was to get to Discovery Bay. As for the hotel, to be honest, I didn't expect a lot. But once we arrived, we were all WOW-ed by the pleasant decor and the stunning views. It was like we were in a resort somewhere else, it's totally not Hong Kong.

Although there were restaurants at the nearby plaza, we didn't go out at all and consumed all our meals at the Cafe, for there were simply too much to do in the hotel and the food at the Cafe was beyond expectation. My kids were busy joining the classes and activities provided by the kids' club and we also spent a lot of time at the outdoor swimming pool, which was just magnificent! The scuba diving coach was super nice and my daughter simply didn't want to leave!

Although service was a bit slow at the Cafe, it's understandable and the service staff were eager to help. Also the food quality helped them gain back our hearts.

You can tell a lot of staff are quite green, but it's the attitude that matters. As it is still in its soft opening stage, I expect they will pick up and things will become better and better. Look forward to going back soon!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must-try. To give a few more bucks, you can have a one-of-a-kind experience by h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Andy H

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and sharing with us your experience on your stay.

I’m very happy to read that you and your family very much enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments on our location, facilities as well as team members are well noted and appreciated.

Thanks again for your lovely and encouraging feedback. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary, we did mention this is for celebration when we sent the booking for an ocean view room. And surprisingly there was a complimentary bottle of champange ready at our room. We then walked around the area which is very peaceful, the ocean view is very nice. We spent the afternoon at the pool, we ordered 2 drinks but it came only after 30 mins, the manager came over to apologize very sincerely and said would waive the bill although it did show on the billing when we checked out, but after we told the lady at the front desk of what had happened and should be waived, she immediately revise the invoice to us without questioning too much which we felt they do respect and trust their customers. We also had our dinner buffet at the cafe, although the food was average but all the waiters and waitresses are all very nice and in a very good manner.
We will definitely come back again for visit.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zenhel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Zenhel k

Thanks very much for your lovely feedback! I’m very delighted to read that you enjoyed your anniversary at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

Your comments on our services and team members are very much appreciated.
Thanks for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed a night at Auberge for our wedding anniversary and it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in the ocean view room and the view was simply amazing (it really is worth the extra money for travellers choosing between a garden vs. an ocean view room!) Everything in the room was to my liking, from the relaxing ocean themed colours to the room layout and decor to the unmissable large sunken bath overlooking the ocean which can comfortably fit 2 people. With the lovely sunshine and view, I opened the curtain in the morning thinking I was on a tropical island for a moment rather than in HK!

The service of the staff was very good from front desk to concierge to inside the restaurant. For the 2 meals that we had in the restaurant, we had the luck to be served by someone called Betty with an outstanding level of sincerity and attentiveness which is rare even in other upmarket restaurants (especially in HK).

There is a shuttle bus that takes guests to and from key locations in HK island and Kowloon which makes life much easier for anyone who may not want to take the ferry.

So why am I not giving it 5 stars?
- When I called up to enquire about the shuttle prior to my stay, I was told that it would depart from Elizabeth Building in Causeway Way. It turned out that the Building was a huge block and it wasn't clear which side of the building the shuttle would be picking up so I had to wander around the block hoping to catch it. (It's be on Jeffa Road for fellow travellers taking this shuttle!) On getting on the shuttle I realised I wasn't the only guest that had this confusion so the staff should have been more precise in giving directions.

- Food at breakfast was generally good but some of the food was not as fresh or to the high quality I have expected (e.g. the smoked salmon wasn't fresh and yoghurt wasn't smooth). However these were relatively minor. The high tea set was very good though!

All in all I'd be very happy to stay at Auberge again anytime!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ApplepieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear ApplepieLondon

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! It’s great to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

Your detailed comments on our rooms and services are well noted and very much appreciated.
Thanks so much for sharing with us your comments and it would be our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My kind of place, great price for anything in Hong Kong. The fantastic views, clean rooms, and welcoming staff all helped to make our two nights and a full day of touring fun and enjoyable. We took the ferry from Discovery Bay to Central and then used MTR for getting around and going back to DB. The trip back does require stopping at Tung Chung and getting on the bus to DB. The return can also be by the Ferry. There are two bus lines, one goes to the wharf South DB(small community and shopping, restaurants, and ferry) and the other goes to North DB. The hotel is at North DB. This is a growing and changing area of small restaurants, grocery store, and other businesses. Sounds complicated, but easy to do. There is a no taxi policy for this community. There is also a free shuttle bus between the hotel bus stop and the wharf stop. Close to Disney, Golf, great food, hiking, biking, and swimming. The hotel pool is wonderful, opens at 7 am and empty the first hour or so. Bus from Hotel to Airport was about 30 minutes. The 9:15 bus was empty and helpful driver to get the baggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_teachinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaclyn S, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Travel_teachinChina

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong with your family and sharing your experience with us.

I’m very delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely comments on our rooms, team members and transportation are very much appreciated.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Warm regards

Jaclyn Sy
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#88 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,999 reviews
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#101 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,013 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#424 of 725 in Hong Kong
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#53 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,118 reviews
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#62 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,011 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#171 of 725 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Address: 88 Siena Avenue, Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £110 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing