We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seaview resort hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #86 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one night in Auberge, Discovery Bay Hong Kong. This hotel is rather unique in cramped and over-built Hong Kong as it is located in an island resort yet only 50 minutes driving distance by comfortable and complimentary hotel shuttle from the Hong Kong island city pickup point outside Exit B of Wanchai MTR station. This hotel has a sizeable hotel lobby, high ceilings everywhere and full seaview in guest rooms. There are a number of function rooms which mainly cater for weddings.
The guest room I stayed in on 11 Floor is adequately large with a 250 sq ft bedroom plus a 70 sq ft bathroom and toilet area. Both the bedroom and bathroom have full seaview. The bathroom has a rain shower plus a traditional hose shower. All the water tabs and temperature controls are simple to use. All parts of the guest room are clean save some dust on the bedside telephone. There is a 42 inch flat screen TV, a small metallic safe with electronic lock and a mini fridge. The mini fridge was completely empty though. The TV programs are rather limited so don't expect to be able to surf lots of TV stations.
The bed is queen size with clean bed sheet and blanket, and comfortable pillows.
The rooms are insulated from noise from the adjoining rooms by rock solid walls but for people who are sensitive to noise of any kind, they should be aware that there is quite a bit of wind noise from the overhead air conditioner vent, about 8 feet above the floor. This is a blemish on the otherwise extremely quiet environment.
There is a small cluster of eateries ( not part of the hotel ) within 2 minutes walk from the hotel but the food on offer are not appetising. Dining at the hotel's Cafe Bord de Mer on ground floor is preferred. Prices there are lower than comparable grade hotels in Hong Kong. A bottle of Tsingtao beer will set one back HK$50 and a pasta dish costs around HK$180. There is no complaint about the waitress service.

Room Tip: High floor facing the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccaappccoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Auberge is a haven away from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, an oasis.

The first thing that struck me was how friendly and helpful the staff were.

The room was very comfortable and had a wonderful shower. Breakfast was superb and catered for all tastes.

The only bug bear is wifi which should be free throughout and used as a selling point for future visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, Director of Operations at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear shilstar

Thank you for posting us a review regarding your recent stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

We are truly happy to read that you love the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments on the property and our team members are very much appreciated.

We hope to see you in the hotel on your next visit soon.

Warm regards


Derek Chu
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Preferring a private transfer after the long flight was obviously a good decision, I emailed ahead our arrival details and received a prompt reply. On arrival we easily found the transport desk and were whisked away with our luggage by our friendly porter to the awaiting Mercedes van. We booked an extra night to allow for our early morning arrival, I would suggest paying the deposit in cash to be refunded at check out time to prevent your credit card being debited and then later credited sometimes days later. The staff and the concierge was amazing help, they arranged for us to be taken to the Citygate outlet stores by their private transport and then brought our luggage later in the day to take us to the airport where once again we were met by our incredible porter. Edward led us though the myriad of check in queues and ensured that we were all organised for our departure.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra for a Seaview room. Generous room for 2 in the bath :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrearFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, Director of Operations at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear FrearFarms

Thank you for choosing to stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong and sharing your experience with us.

I very much appreciate your kind words on the services we provided, and will share them with the teams. We will continue delivering exceptional service to guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family when you come visit again.

Warm regards


Derek Chu
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

It is very bad to get from Hong Kong International airport to the hotel. Taxis do not go to this location and the shuttle services has a one hour wait. The hotel staff do not help or find a solution when I call for help regarding the transportation. The shuttle stop at 12 midnight so won't be able to get to the hotel after that.
Expedia did not post this information either, so been in the business for so long with poor service is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, Director of Operations at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Hugo L

Thank you very much for writing us a review on your recent stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

Your comments regarding transportation are well noted. For your information, there are two routes transferring guests from the airport to Discovery Bay, one of which operates 24 hrs and guests can take the free shuttle, Bus C4 or C9 to the hotel at the final stop.

We hope you would consider us again and give us an opportunity to win your confidence back.

Warm regards


Derek Chu
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Family of 6 stayed at Auberge for 3 nights. What a great location away from the crowds. We would personally like to thank Richard (activities coordinator) for your wonderful and most helpful information during our stay. We would recommend anyone staying here pls locate Richard for some wonderful information. Thanks once again for a great experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, Director of Operations at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear tina f

Thanks a lot for sharing with us your wonderful experience at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

We are truly delighted to read the lovely words from you. Very much appreciated on your compliments on Richard and I will personally pass them to him.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel soon.

Warm regards


Derek Chu
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Auberge during the labor day holiday and were very impressed with the quality of the hotel and the service from the staff. It was our first time to stay in a hotel with our son, who is just 6 months old, and everything was very well prepared (baby cot already waiting in the room for us upon check in ) and we were well looked after. Even though we didn't book the sea view room, the mountain view as nice, with a view of the pool also. The hotel may not be the easiest to get to, due to lack of Taxis in discovery bay, but there was sufficient local transportation and the hotel also provided a very useful coach service to Wanchai.

The dinner buffet was also of a very high standard and one of the best I have seen (and I have seen many hotels through business travel!).

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others and also suggest it as a good location for visiting disneyland.

For feedback I would just like to comment that perhaps a bar / drinks area at the pool would be good (as the food menu/drinks menu was a little limited) and also the Internet did seem quite costly (anyhow, visitors would be advised to buy a 5 day visitor sim card from 7-11 which offers data; I live in HK so didn't need to use the hotel Internet :)). These are minor points however, as the overall stay was great and exceeded expectations

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife, young son and I stayed there for 2 nights to visit Disneyland. It is not the most convenient hotel to get to but once you figure out the transport it is well worth it. Discovery Bay is a beautiful area. There are lots of great restaurants on the water and it is a very pleasant place to get away from it all. The hotel is great value for Hong Kong.

The rooms are very nice. We had the hillside view and there was nothing wrong with the room or the view. The bed was big and very comfortable. The sofa folds out into a small bed - but no linens for it. The bathroom was adequate (doesn't have a separate shower - shower/tub combination) but had all the necessary amenities. I like to set my computer up using the HDMI on the TV and they were very helpful in providing me with a standard remote which allowed me to do that.

The breakfast was excellent - with a tremendous choice of food.

My biggest compliment though to the staff and the service. I've stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels around the world and the service here stood out. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure just coming and going from the hotel. Check in was great - they provided maps and explained everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.

The transport takes a little time to figure out. The DB ferry is easy enough. Take the ferry and grab one of the many buses that run past the Hotel. To and from Sunny Bay you can take the free hotel shuttle or if the timing is off just grab one of the DB buses to the hotel. The only tricky thing for me was that the DB Airport Shuttle leaves the airport from the China Mainland coach area (I think it was Gate 28) under Terminal 2, not the main bus transport which is next to Terminal 2. Transport to and from Disneyland was fine. Took the shuttle directly there in the morning and then took the Disney train to Sunny Bay and caught the DB bus from there. Whether you take the hotel shuttle or the DB bus, getting around is easy enough.

We really enjoyed our stay at Auberge Discovery Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C, Director of Operations at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear ChinaJim

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience on your recent stay at Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong.

We are all so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we have met your expectations in many ways. Very much appreciated your lovely comments, especially regarding our team members and services. Your feedback is really encouraging and motivating.

Thank you again for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you and your family for another enjoyable experience soon.

Warm regards


Derek Chu
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#91 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,970 reviews
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#382 of 721 in Hong Kong
419 reviews
Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel
#94 of 721 in Hong Kong
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#57 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,045 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#186 of 721 in Hong Kong
119 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Address: 88 Siena Avenue, Discovery Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £103 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Discovery Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing