We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room near to subway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wanchai 88 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wanchai 88 Hotel
Ranked #176 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice room near to subway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent three nights in this hotel.It was our first time in HK and the last stage of a China trip. Compared to the other Chinese hotel the room was small, but comfortable and with a great shower.
There is a free minibar and coffee and tea at the reception.
The subway station of Wan Chai is just five minute walk, very convenient also for Hong Kong station where the airport train stops.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggiatriceneltempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theV_hk, Manager at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate very much for your kind words, this strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    137
    29
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
69
36
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very nice stay, great view, great location. Confortable bed, nice shower. Complimentary minibar. Nice air quality in the room and the ambiance was relaxing. Stayed 4 nights, was quite happy with my choice. I woulndt have had this quality for this price in a similar hotel category in canada.

Minor thing: you have to realize the reception is not in the lobby, but on an upper floor. Something you may not realize quickly after a 16-18 hours long flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theV_hk, Manager at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate very much for your kind words, this strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanjung Pandan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Its my second time staying at V after last year and for me, its still live up to the standard. The room is still in a good condition and provide everything a guest might need. The bed is okay, free minibar is a small touch that is appreciated. Staff are great and helpful.

And the location is near the MTR making exploring hongkong easy. The lobby provide coffee and tea all the time (though on few occasion the coffee machine is run out of coffee). The room is cleaned everyday

Some minor downside is they change few of the amenities (the water used to be fiji water, and the toothbrush is better back then) but not a problem. Its still good.

Anyway we will still comeback next year to this lovely hotel, hopefully

Room Tip: higher room have better view, the larger room have a washing machine and much more spacious than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theV_hk, Manager at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate very much for your kind words, this strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Uniquely decorated room is quite spacious, compared to average size of budget hotel room in Hong Kong. Located in area with easy access to MRT and tramp - a cheap transportation. For Those who like to visit the local market, this hotel has a fresh market close by. You can a real experience of how local people buy their raw food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Samjaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theV_hk, Manager at Wanchai 88 Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for your recent stay at V Wanchai2.

We are delighted to learn that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate very much for your kind words, this strengthens our confident on service approach in the right direction. We will definitely encourage our team by sharing your kind words with all our team members.

As you might also be aware that we have several hotels and serviced apartments in Hong Kong. Should you require any further accommodation arrangement in Hong Kong, we would definitely like to keep abreast of your needs for accommodation, be it short or long stays. Do contact us directly and let us know your requirement if any, we shall recommend to you with our best package and offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future at our unique design properties of V family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

As a hongkonger myself just coming back for a few days to shop, I did not expect THIS much from a small hotel like V. The price was very good considering the great location, so I thought the service would be just very average.

In fact, the staff were very attentive and friendly. It is not like the 'annoying type of attentive in Dubai doing everything for you even you keep saying no' or 'the talkative type of attentive asking you this and that but you know they don't care at all'. The V staff here gave you just the right amount of attention, in which made my stay very enjoyable.

The room itself was ok and it has everything you need. I did find a female hair on the floor but this is not a Ritz Carlton. They could hire a few more housekeeping staff tho. The room that I got has no view at all :( However, the bed was pretty big and comfortable enough.

Minibar is free and they refill it everyday. The hotel also offers free wine every evening, but please don't expect anything like a Sofitel club lounge or a CX F lounge. The wine, however, was nice, and was not one of those cheap gas station wine you would find in the US. I won't spend more than 15 mins there tho as they serve it right next to the reception.

Overall, this is a decent hotel if you are only in HK for a few days and won't spend too much time in your room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherman0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Located in busy Wanchai, this hotel is close to all forms of public transport. Grab an Octopus card and you are ready to explore. The closest tram station is a 2 minute walk and the Wanchai MRT station is a short 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself is beautifully maintained and very modern. The hotel staff are professional and very friendly, all speaking good english. Although the rooms are quite small, the daily complimentary mini bar (beers and soft drinks) was a nice touch.

Helpful?
Thank ChristelRad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, check in took 30 min and the staff is very unfriendly and not very helpful. The room on the 15th floor was a decent size but I'n a poor state and smelly, the blind had a hole in it and the shower was mouldy. This is my 4th time visiting and the worst hotel thus far.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#157 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Fleming, Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong
#177 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#455 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place With The Star
Mingle Place With The Star
#276 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanchai 88 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanchai 88 Hotel

Property: Wanchai 88 Hotel
Address: 139 Thomson Road, Hong Kong, China (Formerly V Wanchai 2 Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wanchai 88 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown HK and just a stone's throw from the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre and tourist attractions, Wanchai 88 showcases a trendy setting and a comfortable atmosphere with thoughtfully designed lighting. Featuring spacious rooms with handy services and facilities, we offer you a pleasant stay in this metropolis where Eastern traditions blend perfectly with Western cultures ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanchai 88 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanchai 88 Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing