We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended: Tasty, fast service, good value for money!”
Review of Estudio Iberico

Estudio Iberico
Ranked #2,470 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Spanish
Neighbourhood: Admiralty
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Admiralty
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Highly recommended: Tasty, fast service, good value for money!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was first recommended this place a few years ago by some Polish friends. They said:

"This place at Great Supermarket at Pacific Place has probably some of the best and most authentic spanish food you will find anywhere. The only way you could possibly get more authentic spanish food would be to go to Barcelona or Madrid yourself" (sic).

I've since been to Estudio a few times and it's very good. And highly recommended it.

Pros:
1. Food is tasty
2. Service is efficient. And very fast. I think our Albondigas (meatballs) probably arrived within 3 minutes of ordering. Very quick indeed.
3. Affordable. Our dinner came to about 360 HKD-ish for two, which seems great value for money.
4. They do a lovely Sangria. Very nice and relaxing. Especially in the summer (ie. most of the time here in tropical Hong Kong).
5. You are in a supermarket: so for desert there a lots of options nearby for desert if you don't want a Spanish desert. There is the IScream gelato place behind you. And a Frozen Yogurt place nearby in Pacific Place 3.

Cons:
1. Speed of service can be TOO efficient. We had completely finished our meal within 60 minutes. So if you wanted a nice relaxing chilled out time, this may not be the place for you.
2. Again, YOU ARE IN A SUPERMARKET. So it is relatively noisy around you. And it's not exactly the most romantic of places for a nice chilled out dinner. However if you wanted to buy groceries at the same time, this is probably a good thing...
3. Reservations don't seem to be possible. They seem to operate a 1st come 1st serve methodology.

In summary. Estudio Iberico does tasty spanish food. At good prices. And serves you efficiently. I would go again. And would recommend this place highly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian0345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A real surprise.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This is a discovery in hong kong. You will be lucky if you go for a mean and the owner is there. He will do everything to make it a nice dining experience. Iberian menu and fresh flown produce from Spain.
great Tapas and great food.
it is a shame that this small kitchen is in a food hall. Give it a visit, you will be happily surprised.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jas961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Nitches of Hong Kong”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

What a great place to have some real Tapas, hidden in the middle of the food court of the Great Food hall of Pacific Place.

Very tasteful Tapas very very close to the original ones, have great Albondigas and the Garbanzo con Chorizo is extremely good.

Don't be shy ask for some Sangria, maybe not the best one but good enough.

other things that we did not try but we some other people enjoying we're tha Jamon, the Manchego Cheese and a Glass of Cava.

With came with the kids (9 and 13) and they as well enjoy almost every dish..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VVILLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little Tapas surprises”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

First came across this little place -sits under 25 people in the Food Hall basement of Harvey Nichols in Admiralty Hong Kong 11/2 years ago by chance and have been going back ever since even though the chefs changed! from a quiet very competent hard working young Spanish chef to an older chef from the Philippines the food remains basically same quality even though the sauces for the Penne with Chorizo is less delicate then the young Spanish chef's!as that was what got me hooked in the first place! but still I kept going back and hoping the older chef improves!
But aside from the thicker sauce the Seafood skewers are gr8 as the Galican Octopus served in a dusting of sweet paprika.
Despite the small open kitchen the Menu is quite extensive and the service is usually efficient as they only employ one waitress and sometimes a dish washer but they can perform under pressure unlike one of the larger/more expensive establishments upstairs that will have 8 chefs in high hats bumping into each other and soooooo slow and have no idea what good food should taste like coupled with bad service!
So next time in HK give these Tapas guys a try as they don't cost the earth and pretty sure you'll be hooked!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estudio Iberico also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Estudio Iberico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing