We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #154 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
manila
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Chic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

One of the few hotels in causeway that has family rooms. We got a room with two full beds and one single bed. Clean and simple room. Location is a bit far from the mtr but there are a lot of restaurants and malls near the hotel. A lot of highly rated restos around so reservation is required. The reception area is so cool! Love the decor. Might be hard to find for first timers though...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank et c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    236
    111
    31
    36
See reviews for
108
132
110
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mini. That is, if I don't dwell on my complaint about the bathroom. The hotel is close to everything -shops, restaurants, movies theatres - in Causeway Bay, and maybe only a 5 min walk to the subway and tram.. Hotel lobby and surrounding lobby area is cute and quaint. Very clean rooms, fresh bed linens, maids are knocking at your doors by 10am wondering if they could clean your room... No coffee maker in rooms, no refrigerator, no microwave, no water but there was a kettle, safe, wine cooler. Lobby and concierge area was cute and quaint and quirky - love it! What I didn't love was the teeny weeny sink (so small it freaked me out), there was no space to place your toiletries or hang your clothes in the bathroom, the toilet was very strange in that you couldn't sit straight, and the shower stall wasn't existent, where you showered was pretty much on the same level with the rest of the bathroom...very strange, it reminded me of washrooms in china 20 years ago! Oh also, there was absolutely no pressure in the shower head... which was how come I only washed my hair 2 times in 9 days.. NOT Good, but who can wash long hair when there is no water pressure? All in all I would probably stay there again because of the amazing location, nice staff, very reasonable price. Not for the bathrooms though. But then again there was worst things in life than to complain about badly designed bathrooms... all good...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love the location & design of this boutique hotel. The minute you walk into the lobby, it just gives u the "at-home" comfy feeling. It is only a short 10 min walk from the nearest mrt station, and you get plenty of food nearby. So no worries abt getting hungry!

Room wise, we got a room for 3 pax and boy, was it spacious! We got more than enough space for 3 luggages and yet we can move around with ease.

Toilet and bathroom is connected, and as many have already commented, the space between the door and toilet is really small, so you do have to sit sideways but it's no big deal to me. There's no sink in the bathroom but they do have a sink at one corner of the room. The design of that is lousy. There's no rack for you to place soap/washing liquid and often, we end up wetting the entire area. On our first night there, the sink was leaking but the staff was quick to respond to our call and fixed it while we went out for a quick dinner. So kudos to them for the good service.

Another thing is that the bathroom have no hooks for us to place our clothes. We ended up using our clothes hangers which we brought, to hook onto the towel rack.

Nonetheless, this is one hotel which I will consider gg back. Pretty much loved our stay there. If they can re-design the sink area & add some hooks in the bathroom, then it'll really be perfect.

In case anyone is wondering, the bathroom/toilet door here is frosted glass and not clear glass =)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphrael07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Room - We booked 2 deluxe rooms (2 pax and 1 pax in the rooms respectively). Room was pretty spacious. Given the space, toilet was tiny and badly designed.. As what everyone else has mentioned, one has to sit sideways on the toilet and you are likely to keep knocking on the glass walls while bathing. Also the hanging knobs are outside the bathroom and there is no space to hold your clothes inside the bathroom. Do ensure your travel companion is close enough with you considering the design of the bathroom (frosted glass) and that you are not able to get dressed inside the bathroom. I was staying in the room alone so this was not a problem for me. BTW the room was pretty spacious even for 2/3 pax so they should have made the bathroom bigger! Also the sink is placed outside right next to one of the beds.

Both rooms also smelled really funky - you know the sour/ musty smell when you dont try your damp clothes properly? Yea I dont know what caused it but I am supposing the short turnaround time given that the hotel is always running a full house almost every day. Should be ok unless you spend lots of time in the room. On the contrary the lobby & level 1 smelled nice.

Speaking of the lobby, it was tucked in the basement which you can access by only 1 of the lifts or by stairs right beside the entrance of the hotel. One concern is security as no one is manning the lift lobby and anyone can just enter. I saw a security access system (scan hotel card) at the door to the lift but it was not in use. There were also nice tables and benches - great if you want to have group discussions or just simply to rest/ wait.

Location wise - very convenience and not a "ghost town" at night. First night we spent 15-20 mins walking from Causeway Bay MTR - but only because we went to the wrong exit and got lost along the way. One should exit F1 and walk towards Lee Garden - for fast walkers should take about 6-8 mins. Also there were many eateries, including a ramen restaurant and Matchbox Cha Chan Teng right beside the hotel. If you walk a little further, you will find Starbucks, and many other joints. There's a bus stop right in front. If you are travelling out of the hotel by taxi, you will have to go to the taxi stand at Lee Gardens. Do take note of cab drivers who dont go by the meter.. From what I understand/ experienced, flagging them from legit taxi stands would be safer.

Staff service - awesome for HK standards. They were friendly and advised on local average taxi fares when we shared that we were cheated on the ride from the airport to the hotel. They were also able to make recommendations for food and even drew directions on a map for us. Unlike many other service staff in HK, they were courteous and often had a smile on their faces, so thumbs up for that.

Price - this was the first time I was staying in HK, but making comparisons to other hotels in the vicinity, I would say this is one of the most value-for-money hotel. No frills and minimalistic but I can live with that.. Unless I want to pay double or triple for other established hotels.

Room Tip: Take note of the toilet design and make some plans.. You may want to go solo / share a room only wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

After a lot of research we decided to stay here due to the reasonable price and location. I have to say we weren't disappointed. Don't expect the same kind of service as a normal hotel but the staff are still very helpful and friendly.

There were some issues with the water system but we were well informed with the situation.

Some things that could help make the stay a little bit better would be small things like labels on the light switches (we had to try everyone each time we wanted to turn on/off the light) and bottles of water in the room.

Although the space in the room was surprisingly spacious we thought the space for the bathroom area was tiny and poorly design. We couldn't close the bathroom door when we used the toilet.

Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spangle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

fyi, the room that we were staying was not that mini. it was quite spacious for the 3 of us. they have 2 beds, 1 single and 1 queen bed. bathroom is a bit cramped but no biggy for asians, if you're too tall u might leave the door open when u sit at the toilet for more leg room. overall the hotel and room is very clean and perfect FREE wifi! they don't served breakfast but it is a walking distance to time square and u can find a lot of food places . very good value for money indeed.

Room Tip: the reception is in the basement. you better take stairs to go down next to hotel rather than waitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhazzla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel in a great location in Causeway Bay in a busy, vibrant area of Hong Kong. Cannot fault the location. Lovely room. Good service. Take your own toiletries as theirs are sparse. Very quirky reception in the basement. Do sit in the hanging chairs. Yes, our bathroom was very small. We are both very tall but that's not the reason we had to leave the sliding door open - so make sure you know your travelling companion very well and are very relaxed about things in general!! And do have breakfast at the retro Matchbox Cafe next door. And have coffee (excellent capuccino with artistic designs on top!) and great cakes to take out, at the (religious) Bonfire Cafe across the main road. Admiring the Bentleys in the garage as you leave the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JubileePhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#99 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#298 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#447 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Property: Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Address: Capital Building 6-10, No.8 Sun Wui Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hong Kong at an upscale mini brand, mini hotel Causeway Bay offers finest hospitality for every travel - business trip, family vacation, couple honeymoon or friends holiday. Guestrooms are neutrally-toned in stylish and practically designs. Four room types: Deluxe Room, Family Room, Patio Room and Master Room are well equipped for your needs. With 5 stars bed, complimentary high-speed WIFI internet access, laptop-compatible safe, power plugs, electric kettle and more subtle amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing