We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Couples” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Ranked #154 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for Couples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with my best friend in the standard twin bed room. The room is really pretty mini, where even the bathroom area and ceiling fan are mini.

Didnt like the fact that there are alot of mirrors at both side of the room, but no full length mirror. The beds are fitted nicely and joined and there are no spaces between the beds and the wall. The beds are facing the bathroom and the door and what surprised me was that the bathroom doesn't have any binds, just a shower curtain to separate the shower and toilet area. In other words, the person outside is able to look at the other person showering, when he or she lies on the bed.

As the TV is mounted at the wall and you can't tilt the TV towards the bed, watching TV will be difficult, unless u sit at the edge of the bed.

For a few nights, I also noticed that the pillow cases had dirt stains on it, so before you lay in bed, do a quick check on the pillows and sheets.

The location of the place is close to Causeway Bay MTR (5 to 10 mins walk) and shopping malls like Times Square and Sogo. Was overall pleased with the service provided by the Hotel staff who were friendly and smiley all the time. Another commendable point is the Hotel lobby. It's really different from other hotels and has a chic and chill setting. Good for chilling with friends after a day of sightseeing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    236
    111
    31
    36
See reviews for
108
132
110
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I recently had a 5 night stay here, 2 guests and we picked this hotel due to the location.

The hard part; finding this hotel in the middle of Causeway Bay, in the mid day heat with luggage and no cell phone/WiFi coverage was difficult. Here are some helpful tips;
- MTR Causeway Bay station exit F. When you walk up the stairs there will be a "forever 21" store, make a right and walk up the small hill until to see the "Swatch" store, then make a left and walk until you get to the "Bentley" Dealership. Don't bother looking for the hotel signage, just look for the green bus stop 28, it is literally right beside it. This takes about 5-10 mins if you don't get lost and good luck getting help from someone on the street.
- Once you are able to navigate to and from the MTR station and nearby malls, this hotel is in a very good location, the rooms face a smaller side street and road noise is limited.

Check in: It is downstairs, and there is a desk where you will check in. We were asked to take a seat in the sitting area and someone came to go over our details. Nothing special here, just the basic names, check in & check out dates and check out time. Nice upbeat music was playing and the deco is inline with a hip/boutique feel that is advertised.
- Note: No bell service
- Note: we asked for a map of the local area and got this monstrosity of a map with so much detail we couldn't read it easily and when we asked for the hotels location the girl at reception had to look for it too! I would recommend just speeding 5 mins before heading out each day looking at where you want to go online instead as the map is pretty much useless.

Room: Well its small but very much inline with what was expected with the pricing and the average size of rooms in the heart of Hong Kong city. It was livable for the duration of our stay and we didn't feel too cramped, but take note we only had 1 luggage. There are no seats or table in the room and the Queen sized bed takes up the entire width of the room but we didn't spend much time in the room nor will the majority of the guests. The walls are freshly painted and overall quiet clean. TV is on the wall beside the bed and therefore basically useless to watch while in bed. WiFi is very good and that is a big bonus! But our room did not have a Safety deposit box which is a little concerning considering how much time we spent out of the too.

Bathroom: My only grip with the bathroom is the shower facet was loose and constantly fell onto the floor when I adjusted the temperature. Water pressure was average and temperature of the water was decent.

Linens: Bedsheets were decent quality, pillows tend to run flat but there are two per person. Towels and hand towels are of decent quality.

Experience Pros: Cute and very accessible once you learn where you are in the city. The room key can be doubled as a little luggage tag after you check out which is a neat little feature.

Experience Cons:
- From what I could tell there is no service elevator for staff, therefore in the evening the elevators would take considerably longer as staff we using the elevators to deliver linens.
- Two different elevator interiors (while this is a small point) it was annoying as each elevator had different layouts for the floors and due to the lighting being poor it would take a bit to find the right floor number.
- Elevators would make a loud audible beeping noise while closing and could be heard in the rooms, we had a room on the very end and we could hear it, meaning we could hear whenever anyone got off on our floor.
- If you are unlucky enough to have a group of Mainland Tourists on your floor then you will be barraged with a lot of noise... shouting and doors slamming at all hours of the day/night. We experienced this on our last night so we just put up with it. - Technically not the hotels fault as those were the guest lack of manners but still affects overall experience.
- Housekeeping staff do not wear uniforms or use housekeeping carts so it is a little unnerving seeing plain clothed people walking in and out of multiple rooms leaving the doors on deadbolt. Meaning anyone could walk into the guests rooms as there is no access control to stop outsiders from entering the guest floors.

Overall: value for money is very good. Location is very good as it is very near to malls and attractions while being on a small street means less traffic noise. Great place to stay for a few days but not for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 604DC852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I arrived into the hotel early Sunday 17 August 2014 at 2.00 am as my Malaysian Airline flight was delayed, from Singapore I was given a room meant for handicap 19 floor, boy there are no shelves no table , TV is on the left side of the wall, the hotel designer has forgot about detailing completely who watches TV on the left side of the wall when your bed when your bed is on one corner of the room, the location is good but was really very disappointed with the layout of the room, How insensitive by giving a normal person an handicapped room, if you want to shave then you have to get to down to your knees,to look into the mirror, I requested for a change but was told that the hotel is full & that is the only room available.

Room Tip: use this hotel only if you are couple not suitable for business travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzimS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I think the title says it all! We booked a reservation through Hoteltravel.com for Aug. 14-16, 2014 but when we arrived the hotel could not find our booking. We arrived in Hong Kong in the evening. We waited from 9:30 p.m. until 12:30 a.m. at the check in for them to try and sort it out and when they couldn't we offered to pay the amount of $305 CAN for the two nights that had been quoted in our booking but they would not take it. Instead they charged us $325 CAN for one night and then we found out the next morning that hotel.com had not charged us for the two nights so we asked to be reimbursed the $325 CAN and pay the $279 US for two nights. They said no, we could go find another hotel.
We don't recommend this hotel because they are not helpful when things go wrong. We have travelled all over the world and this is the worse experience we have had.
Don't come late, or you will be gouged!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Labbott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from July 31 to August 4 with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Great location in the middle of shopping centers and walking distance from causeway bay mtr. You can easily trace your path to the hotel using google maps, as my wife did days before our trip.

Lovely lobby decorated with chich furniture and interior design, together with some nice music playing in the background.

As the hotel always seems fully booked, check-in may be delayed as in our case. If this happens I suggest you leave your bags at the front desk and explore the nearby area - tons of malls and shops. This is also what we did when we checked-out and did some last minute shopping before leaving for the airport.

Wifi speed was consistent and fast throughout the hotel.

Rooms were small but clean and well appointed. No refrigerator, complimentary water, cable tv or cabinets - but these were minor issues. What the room does have are a nice clean queen bed, small but modern bathroom and shower, flat screen tv with local channels and fast wifi access.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, chic and well located hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qallado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from July 31to August 4 of this year with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

Location was great as it was within walking distance from the causeway bay mtr station as well as a number of shopping malls: hysan place, lee gardens, tomes square, etc. Although a bit off from the main streets, the hotel can be easily located with a little research before youleave for your trip - my wife mapped things out with google and we found the place without any hitches.

Best feature of the hotel is its chic lobby, designed with vintage photos and furniture. A good place to hang-out with just a book or your tablet. Wifi speed throughout the hotel was also very fast and cosistent. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Rooms were spartan but well appointed with basic amenities, comfortable bed, bathroom with strong water pressure, flat screen tv.

Some minor hiccups, were check-in with the room being available at 3pm instead of 2pm as promised, but this was fine as we simply left our luggage at the front desk and explored the area nearby while it was being made up.

Also the television did not have cable so only about 5 local channels were available, but again if you will be out most of the time this will not matter. Plus the fast internet and wifi more than makes up for the lack of cable tv.

There was also no complimentary water nor refrigerator or cabinets in the room. But again these are minor matters, as we simply adapted by basically living out of bags. Plus water and drinks are readily available at the convenience stores that are about a 5-7 minute walk away. Again, no big deal!

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you want a clean, conveniently located hotel that covers all the basics for a reasonable price! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qallado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Size of room was comfortable for HK. Location was great. Close to shopping, restaurants MTR. Need to initially locate it on a map as its on a very short lane. A few confusing street names nearby adds to the sense of loss especially if you find Chinese names tongue-twisting. You need to pick out the landmarks which are easy enough. Strangely for such an immaculately detailed place the size and planning of the bathroom and lack of facility for hanging clothes is a real puzzle as if planned by a schizo. But i would still pick this for my next trip because its a such a great deal for HK.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mini hotel C, Manager at Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Shirley,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our pleasure to have hosted you recently. However, it is truly regrettable that we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of the room structure and facilities. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for future improvement.
Again, thank you for your valuable comment and when your plans bring you back to Hong Kong, please let me know and I would be delighted to assist with the necessary arrangements.

Best regards,
Doris Chan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#95 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#280 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#456 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Property: Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Address: Capital Building 6-10, No.8 Sun Wui Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hong Kong at an upscale mini brand, mini hotel Causeway Bay offers finest hospitality for every travel - business trip, family vacation, couple honeymoon or friends holiday. Guestrooms are neutrally-toned in stylish and practically designs. Four room types: Deluxe Room, Family Room, Patio Room and Master Room are well equipped for your needs. With 5 stars bed, complimentary high-speed WIFI internet access, laptop-compatible safe, power plugs, electric kettle and more subtle amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing