We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy dirty and disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel
Reviewed 4 May 2013

If I could rate this place with no stars, I would. I have stayed in many hostels in my travels, but I've never seen anything as filthy and run down as this place, especially not a YHA hostel.

Disgustingly filthy. The communal kitchen is filled with rusted and moldering equipment. The counters are crusted with mold, grime, and dead bugs. We had wanted to cook, but there was no way you could hygienically prepare food there.

The bathrooms are streaked with mud and grime. There were two toilets in the whole building. One was broken, with the lid cracked on the floor, and the other was stuffed with newspaper. Take your pick.

The dorms don't lock and the bunk beds are rickety and unsafe. Expect your sheets to be damp. They claim to allow guests to lock their belongings in lockers, but the lockers are tiny, rusted, graffiti covered, and located in the filthy dining room. We kept our bags on the floor.

We were supposed to stay two nights. It was too late to leave that night, but I immediately booked us back into our previous hotel on Hong Kong Island. A shame, because we really wanted to explore Lantau Island.

Room Tip: Here's a tip: stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sevarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKYHA, Manager at YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Sevarem,

Thank you for your comments and we deeply appreciate it. We have followed up with the hostel manager about the situation. We found out that there was another guest staying with us about the same time you did. He occasionally dispersed newspapers around the hostel during his stay. Our hostel manager did advise him on the issue but to no avail in the end. We are really sorry about it.

Hong Kong has a sub-tropical climate and it can be extremely humid in spring. The humidity will get even higher in countryside where the hostel is situated. As a result, our guests may find the hostel premises a bit damp.

We do appreciately your valuable comments and we look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank pandatpfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IsaMasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yan Yan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccaloky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 22 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,073 reviews
Lantau Island
Tai O Heritage Hotel
Tai O Heritage Hotel
#164 of 723 in Hong Kong
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Lantau Island
Silvermine Beach Resort
Silvermine Beach Resort
#386 of 723 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#102 of 723 in Hong Kong
4,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel

Address: Ngong Ping, Lantau Island, Hong Kong 852, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sham Shui Po
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 161 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £10 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a spectacular landscape, YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Hostel is the destination for hiking aficionados. The hostel is close to fascinating hiking trails including Ngong Ping Trail, Buddhist Ancient Walk, Nei Lak Shan, and the 934-metre Lantau Peak which offers sublime sunrise view. Major attractions like the Big Buddha, Po Lin Monastery, and the Wisdom Path are all within 15-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Ngong Ping SG Davis Youth Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing