We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good less $$$ option in a fun area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #49 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is hip and modern, more fun than a classic 5 star and lots cheaper. Everything is new and sparkling clean, Nespresso in the room, very functional desks and convenient charger ports etc. But the stand out was the hotel staff -- really helpful with everything and genuinely friendly. This part of Wan Chia is really fun -- more interesting than Central but close enough to it. Easy to get to the trolley etc. Lots of fun places within walking distance. We did not take breakfast at hotel as it was not included and seemed expensive... Starbucks and many other options are very close by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May on-route to Thailand as a tourist.

We've been to Hong Kong many times so it was great to stay in a different neighbourhood.

Loved the room and the peace and quiet - we slept loads!

Really liked the local life going on around you which isn't touristy.

Really nice staff.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights in 2 interconnecting rooms as we have 2 young children. The room size was good for Hk standards. There was a Nepresso machine and pyramid style tea bags instead of the normal Lipton tea bags. They have nice huge wine glasses for wine lovers and a ceramic teapot and tea cups for making tea. They had a nice Grohe rain shower like many other boutique hotels that we have been too. Location of the hotel was lovely, walking distance to the MTR and near eating places like the QRE plaza and the Tai Yuen market where we got cheap but rather good toys. We had breakfast at Cafe Post where they served good coffee and delicious croissants and pastry. Their juice was great too in pretty beakers. The variety is not huge but good enough for 3 days. All their staff were very polite and helpful.

The only let down of this hotel is the standard of the housekeeping. The floor was not cleaned thoroughly and I could see many hairs still on the floor despite room being " made up". The kettle was rather dirty and had specks floating around in the water despite us trying to wash it.

The hotel is not very child friendly either, although they provided a crib, it was a Graco play pen with a very thin mattress. In the end I put my baby on th baby to sleep with me.
Another design flaw they had was that whenever the front door is opened, all the lights in the room are turned on. This is terrible when there is someone still sleeping in the room and another person leaves the room.
The deluxe room that we were allocated was wheel chair access friendly, but because it had no doors at the shower area, whenever we showered, the basin area will be wet. The toilet seat kept dropping downwards so it was inconvenient for the men.

The superior room was good though with no such issues.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeiaRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear LeiaRaine,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and we will most certainly look into those areas you have highlighted that you felt could be better. It is regrettable that the Housekeeping let you down, as this is one of the most critical points in the guest experience. I have already followed up with the team and they will be more focused on this area. There are some design elements that we are tweaking and despite your experience, we hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood.

With best regards, Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is my 3rd time here (and 2nd review) in 6 months due to the proximity from my HK office, and I'll summarise my new observations from my 2nd and 3rd stays

This hotel has become popular and despite my platinum status and repeated visits, i got a room on the lowest floor. And a day later, I got a courtesy call from the manager asking if everything is ok, since i'm a "gold" member. I didn't even bother to correct him. Some reviewers mentioned the nice view of mountains and my view has always been just metres away from the office next door, so I"m a very envious platinum member

During my 2nd stay, i booked their board/meeting room for a day and they are not really set up for large formal meetings. The conference phone is a normal phone with poor speakerphone function, and they don't deliver the business lunchsets on time. If you have an important and tense full day business meeting, try somewhere else. They did try to apologise by waiving the lunch cost

The pool is finally open after 9 months, and it's a little anti-climatic. Not sure if it's the direction of the hotel and its overall cramped structure, there's no afternoon sun, and at this time of year, pretty chilly. There is good service with staff though

The gym is tiny with 2 treadmills, 1 bike and some free weights.And you'll have to do your crunches inches from the treadmill or wastebin or watercooler, your pick

Trying not to nitpick, but the pencil in the room was not sharpened, and the pen was not working

Since this is my 3rd stay, i did venture out more this time, and found really nice places to eat nearby. Michelin star restaurants like Bo Innovation and The Principal are along the same street. There's also a nice tapas bar 22 Ships along the same street as well for cheaper fare. The restaurants the hotel recommends like Northen Yuan Dumpling and some chinese restaurant they always mention are not worth going

This was the tennis world tour finals week and i appreciated that they had many sports channels in the room, including those for tennis, so i was glad i had the time for tv this time round

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear bcheong,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We know that there is always room to improve and your feedback will assist us in doing so. We do value our IHG Reward members and we continue to focus on the member recognition side of things. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and show you that we can focus on the details.

Best regards from the Indigo Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for a single night during a business trip.

Good - upgraded to deluxe room for IHG platinum which is always a good sign. The deluxe rooms are really nice and spacious compared to the standard one. The smart designs, switch operated curtains, personal care products are all top class.. specially enjoyed the 'sweet memories tea'...and the personal espresso coffee maker.. hotel is new and staff are helpful..

so so - breakfast is okay... not the usual big spread.. pool and bar are small (yet cozy).. room rates are comparable to 5 star so definitely not a 'value for money' case, but agree its not over priced either...

all in all.. a good hotel.. recommended for short personal stays.. not recommended for long family stays or if you looking for a classic hotel with lots of lobby, restaurant and pool space..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Prashant_KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The heart of WanChai is the epitome of Hong Kong. And with clients in Causeway Bay, Central and WanChai, where better to stay than the Indigo.

Excellent facilities, superb bedrooms and top class service.

The breakfast feels as if you are having it in your own kitchen and drinks on level 29 are just as cost and personalised.

Excellent all round.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nicolaos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Nicolaos,

Thanks for your feedback and recognising the great service our staff provided. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards, Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and were thrilled. The rooms were great with amazing views of the mountains.Great pool! Staff very attentive, sometimes our room was cleaned 3 times a day!!! 2 minute walk from the train! (on the hotel website the directions from the nearest train station -Wan Chai- take you on a round about way to find the hotel. my tip would be to exit Wan Chai station from exit A3 and walk straight up the street that has a KFC on the corner, Indigo is on the right hand side at the end of the street)
Breakfast was included in our room fee and was great! Huge variety and very yummy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,526 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#20 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,277 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 729 in Hong Kong
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 729 in Hong Kong
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £148 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing