We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #28 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great new hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great new small hotel in wan chai. If you need to be near Hopewell or wan chai this is a great change of pace. It's new, comfortable and rooms are great. Pool is cool and will open soon. Free drinks on check in at a cool rooftop bar.

Room Tip: High floor and suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrittmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear mrittmayer,

Thank you so much for your great comments. You will be pleased to know that the pool was finally opened in October, so when you come back you will have a chance to enjoy the rooftop experience. We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    320
    47
    10
    6
See reviews for
100
298
103
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Indigo for 5 nights in September. First time to Hong Kong so we didn't really know much about the location , but when we arrived we found Wan Chai a great place to be and the hotel a convenient short walk to the MTR.

It was nice and appreciated to be acknowledged as a Platinum member, and although I had to ask for an upgrade, it was quickly accepted by the manager.

The suite was magnificent, having both a lounge room and a bedroom . The furniture was modern and sleek and there was great use of the space.

We had breakfast once in the hotel and although expensive was very nice.

The staff were friendly and efficient and would always wish us a pleasant day or night when we left or arrived.

We love the IHG group and would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benzie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed there a week ago. From the time we checked in I had an idea this was going to be enjoyable and it was. Large corner room with an unusual layout. The bed in a mid room position at first seems strange. But it proves to be intelligent and being able to move around the room easily maximizes space. Lets face it space in HK is a premium even in hotel rooms. Service is second to none. Room service is fast and very efficient. Housekeeping very fast and through(but they kept forgetting our milk). The Nescafe machine a real bonus waking up with tired limbs after walking for kilometers around HK. The pool is a really cool spot to be at sunset on a balmy night. The bar can very busy and expensive, nothing new there. Wan Chai is on the move and the hotel is just where you want to be close to the MTR, Markets and lots of good places to eat from cheap to expensive.Bus stop just out the front to get to The Peak, Stanley etc easily. Stay there again, you bet we would.

Room Tip: Corner Room. Cheap breakfast just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossdco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is hip and modern, more fun than a classic 5 star and lots cheaper. Everything is new and sparkling clean, Nespresso in the room, very functional desks and convenient charger ports etc. But the stand out was the hotel staff -- really helpful with everything and genuinely friendly. This part of Wan Chia is really fun -- more interesting than Central but close enough to it. Easy to get to the trolley etc. Lots of fun places within walking distance. We did not take breakfast at hotel as it was not included and seemed expensive... Starbucks and many other options are very close by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May on-route to Thailand as a tourist.

We've been to Hong Kong many times so it was great to stay in a different neighbourhood.

Loved the room and the peace and quiet - we slept loads!

Really liked the local life going on around you which isn't touristy.

Really nice staff.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights in 2 interconnecting rooms as we have 2 young children. The room size was good for Hk standards. There was a Nepresso machine and pyramid style tea bags instead of the normal Lipton tea bags. They have nice huge wine glasses for wine lovers and a ceramic teapot and tea cups for making tea. They had a nice Grohe rain shower like many other boutique hotels that we have been too. Location of the hotel was lovely, walking distance to the MTR and near eating places like the QRE plaza and the Tai Yuen market where we got cheap but rather good toys. We had breakfast at Cafe Post where they served good coffee and delicious croissants and pastry. Their juice was great too in pretty beakers. The variety is not huge but good enough for 3 days. All their staff were very polite and helpful.

The only let down of this hotel is the standard of the housekeeping. The floor was not cleaned thoroughly and I could see many hairs still on the floor despite room being " made up". The kettle was rather dirty and had specks floating around in the water despite us trying to wash it.

The hotel is not very child friendly either, although they provided a crib, it was a Graco play pen with a very thin mattress. In the end I put my baby on th baby to sleep with me.
Another design flaw they had was that whenever the front door is opened, all the lights in the room are turned on. This is terrible when there is someone still sleeping in the room and another person leaves the room.
The deluxe room that we were allocated was wheel chair access friendly, but because it had no doors at the shower area, whenever we showered, the basin area will be wet. The toilet seat kept dropping downwards so it was inconvenient for the men.

The superior room was good though with no such issues.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiaRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear LeiaRaine,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and we will most certainly look into those areas you have highlighted that you felt could be better. It is regrettable that the Housekeeping let you down, as this is one of the most critical points in the guest experience. I have already followed up with the team and they will be more focused on this area. There are some design elements that we are tweaking and despite your experience, we hope we can welcome you back to our neighbourhood.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,813 reviews
330 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is my 3rd time here (and 2nd review) in 6 months due to the proximity from my HK office, and I'll summarise my new observations from my 2nd and 3rd stays

This hotel has become popular and despite my platinum status and repeated visits, i got a room on the lowest floor. And a day later, I got a courtesy call from the manager asking if everything is ok, since i'm a "gold" member. I didn't even bother to correct him. Some reviewers mentioned the nice view of mountains and my view has always been just metres away from the office next door, so I"m a very envious platinum member

During my 2nd stay, i booked their board/meeting room for a day and they are not really set up for large formal meetings. The conference phone is a normal phone with poor speakerphone function, and they don't deliver the business lunchsets on time. If you have an important and tense full day business meeting, try somewhere else. They did try to apologise by waiving the lunch cost

The pool is finally open after 9 months, and it's a little anti-climatic. Not sure if it's the direction of the hotel and its overall cramped structure, there's no afternoon sun, and at this time of year, pretty chilly. There is good service with staff though

The gym is tiny with 2 treadmills, 1 bike and some free weights.And you'll have to do your crunches inches from the treadmill or wastebin or watercooler, your pick

Trying not to nitpick, but the pencil in the room was not sharpened, and the pen was not working

Since this is my 3rd stay, i did venture out more this time, and found really nice places to eat nearby. Michelin star restaurants like Bo Innovation and The Principal are along the same street. There's also a nice tapas bar 22 Ships along the same street as well for cheaper fare. The restaurants the hotel recommends like Northen Yuan Dumpling and some chinese restaurant they always mention are not worth going

This was the tennis world tour finals week and i appreciated that they had many sports channels in the room, including those for tennis, so i was glad i had the time for tv this time round

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear bcheong,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We know that there is always room to improve and your feedback will assist us in doing so. We do value our IHG Reward members and we continue to focus on the member recognition side of things. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and show you that we can focus on the details.

Best regards from the Indigo Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing