We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #39 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel seems pretty brand new, and it's very sleekly designed and comfortable. Every amenity in the room is tucked into it's own place (slippers, umbrella, teapot-- all "for sale" in case you decide to sneak it into your luggage). The space is so well used, our room seemed a lot bigger.

The king-sized bed was comfy and I loved having a sitting area, tea and coffee, light dimmer and blackout shades. Our view was the other high-rise across the alley.

As others mentioned, the bathroom is not closed off from the room, so have fun listening to your hotelmate use the facilities. For many couples, this is probably not a big deal.

The lounge/breakfast area on the second floor is really nice, great place to hang out. It also has a restroom in case you'd like to use the facilities privately and not in the stall in your room. Just saying.

Note, to get to the Indigo by metro, take exit A3 from the WanChai metro stop. Cross the street in front (Johnston road) and go up Tai Yuen Street. If you're wading your way amongst a crush of people looking at stalls of underwear and dried fruit, you're going up the right street!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear rtboats,

Thank you for your great comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards, Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I am travelling often to Hong Kong and stayed already over 10 hotels. Indigo Hong Kong has quite nice decoration and useable design for the rooms. It is tastefull decorated and for HK decent size rooms.

Location, not far from subway or tram about few minutes walk only or take taxi for HK island locations. By foot you can reach lively markets.

Rooms, good size and well equipped.

Staff, friendly and english speakers

Negative points,
No free shuttle for airport express trains as it is a bit off the main hotels.
Not known by taxi drivers but you can tell the street to find the hotel
No lounge or active crowded bar.

Positive points,
Price, again surely good value for around 130 Euro hotels
European management
Design and usability

Room Tip: Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegasustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear pegasustr,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled that you love our neighbourhood. We hope to welcome you back to theneighbourhood soon! With best regards, Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Having heard so much of the 'coldness' of HK hotel staffs, I wasn't prepared to be treated so well by the hotel staffs. They were both professional and efficient in delivering services. Room was very comfortable as it was very spacious for HK standard, bed and linen was very comfortable, free Nespresso (but no milk/creamer was provided), simple stationeries (i.e staples, sharpener) were provided as well. Toiletries were more than enough and being individually packed made them more hygienic although cleanliness was a little disappointing as there were sands and dusts at the corners. The walls were a bit stained too. Location of hotel provided quiet environment although you will need to walk through a very busy market to get there from Wan Chai MTR. As a fairly new hotel, the facilities, interior designs, clealiness are all up to expectations. Hopefully the hotel can keep up its standard as time goes by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank py0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear py0188,

It was our pleasure to take care of you and provide such a delightful experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood.

With warm regards,Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you have already stayed in the Tsim Tsa Shui area, then this is a great choice. When we entered our corner deluxe room, we were in awe of the design and the floor-to-ceiling windows as well as the motorized shades that revealed an awesome city view. Very comfortable for couples enjoying the weekend for HK, but would also be suitable for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for the view on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Kara A,

Thanks for your great comments and we are thrilled that you love our design. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stay for 3 nights for holiday with family.

As a frequent visitors in HK, I mostly stay at Tsim Sha Tsui, but this time the price is so terribly high due to holiday period, so I give a try on HK side.

The location is at its best, short walk to Wanchai station and tram thru local market, and 5 mins taxi ride to Central and Causeway bay. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby.

The hotel is newly opened, so it is modern, clean, and very comfortable. Staffs are very attentive, and well-trained. The room plan is new design concept and bigger than HK standard. The bed is in the middle, open bathroom with Molton Brown amenities on the side, and working desk and closet at the back. Most importantly, no carpet, it has wooden floors.

Overall, I am very happy with this stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Kengkla ,

Thank you for your great feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the neighborhood soon!

Best regards,Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has one of the better locations on Hk island, just a few steps away from Wan Chai, but hidden from the main strip so you feel you can relax when you want to.

The room was modern and well appointed, and the glass lit staircase and elevator are a nice segue from the bustle of the city to the calm of your room!

DEF staying here next time!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Steve H,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled to know that you love to return to our neighborhood! With best regards, Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We are a family of 4 who stayed over the new year period 2013/2014. We really enjoyed this boutique hotel. It is funky and modern and in an excellent location. The Hotel is located a short walk (through the street markets) to the Wan Chai MTR station, buses and trams. There are lots of interesting bars and restaurants nearby and the upmarket Times Square shopping centre is a short tram ride away.
The hotel staff were very good, the interconnecting rooms were ready as arranged and the hotel organised a transfer for us to and from the airport. Our travel agent commented on the efficiency of Jacky, the reservations manager. (We have been burned before in HK at this time of year, where interconnecting rooms were not delivered as promised, but that was not the case here.)
The cafe staff deserve a special mention, after a day they remembered our breakfast drinks order and were very friendly. We weren't planning to eat breakfast at the hotel, but the selection was good and our teenage kids loved it. They also loved the free wifi.
The rooms were not huge, but that is to be expected in HK. The rooms met our expectations and were furnished in a modern asian style. We used the laundry service once and it was very efficient.
This is my third visit to HK and the second time I have stayed on the Island rather than in Kowloon. I much prefer it and would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear ScottyLass2013,

Thank you for your great feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the neighborhood soon!
Best regards,Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,476 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,122 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#20 of 726 in Hong Kong
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £166 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing