We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #28 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Loved: Interior, room design, rooftop bar, location (close to Lockhart Road for fun and food and MTR), espresso in room, close to awesome running trail.

Didn't like: expensive breakfast (over priced In my opinion, for selection of food), tiny gym.

Service was great. Will stay again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Holidoozy,

Thank you for choosing to stay and it is great to know that our service impressed you and you will return!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    317
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
96
296
103
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We recently stayed here for 5 nights in January. I found the hotel very nice, clean and friendly. the service was great. It's more of a boutique hotel, which I like, it feels a little more intimate. Breakfast buffet was very good, they had a wide variety of local and international food. The rooms were small but nice. Don't share with someone your not well acquainted with though because the shower and toilet are in frosted glass cubicles in the room! the pool is really nice, quite small and not heated (outside on the roof, or close to it) They have a bar upstairs, but when we were there it was not licensed yet. Behind the hotel is a market which was very handy especially if you need to take presents home with you.

Room Tip: If you're sharing with a friend ask about a bigger room with a separate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Lolabianca,

It was wonderful to hear that we have been able to offer you great service and we look forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood in the not too distant future.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
american abroad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel seems pretty brand new, and it's very sleekly designed and comfortable. Every amenity in the room is tucked into it's own place (slippers, umbrella, teapot-- all "for sale" in case you decide to sneak it into your luggage). The space is so well used, our room seemed a lot bigger.

The king-sized bed was comfy and I loved having a sitting area, tea and coffee, light dimmer and blackout shades. Our view was the other high-rise across the alley.

As others mentioned, the bathroom is not closed off from the room, so have fun listening to your hotelmate use the facilities. For many couples, this is probably not a big deal.

The lounge/breakfast area on the second floor is really nice, great place to hang out. It also has a restroom in case you'd like to use the facilities privately and not in the stall in your room. Just saying.

Note, to get to the Indigo by metro, take exit A3 from the WanChai metro stop. Cross the street in front (Johnston road) and go up Tai Yuen Street. If you're wading your way amongst a crush of people looking at stalls of underwear and dried fruit, you're going up the right street!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear rtboats,

Thank you for your great comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Best regards, Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I am travelling often to Hong Kong and stayed already over 10 hotels. Indigo Hong Kong has quite nice decoration and useable design for the rooms. It is tastefull decorated and for HK decent size rooms.

Location, not far from subway or tram about few minutes walk only or take taxi for HK island locations. By foot you can reach lively markets.

Rooms, good size and well equipped.

Staff, friendly and english speakers

Negative points,
No free shuttle for airport express trains as it is a bit off the main hotels.
Not known by taxi drivers but you can tell the street to find the hotel
No lounge or active crowded bar.

Positive points,
Price, again surely good value for around 130 Euro hotels
European management
Design and usability

Room Tip: Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear pegasustr,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are thrilled that you love our neighbourhood. We hope to welcome you back to theneighbourhood soon! With best regards, Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Having heard so much of the 'coldness' of HK hotel staffs, I wasn't prepared to be treated so well by the hotel staffs. They were both professional and efficient in delivering services. Room was very comfortable as it was very spacious for HK standard, bed and linen was very comfortable, free Nespresso (but no milk/creamer was provided), simple stationeries (i.e staples, sharpener) were provided as well. Toiletries were more than enough and being individually packed made them more hygienic although cleanliness was a little disappointing as there were sands and dusts at the corners. The walls were a bit stained too. Location of hotel provided quiet environment although you will need to walk through a very busy market to get there from Wan Chai MTR. As a fairly new hotel, the facilities, interior designs, clealiness are all up to expectations. Hopefully the hotel can keep up its standard as time goes by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank py0188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear py0188,

It was our pleasure to take care of you and provide such a delightful experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood.

With warm regards,Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you have already stayed in the Tsim Tsa Shui area, then this is a great choice. When we entered our corner deluxe room, we were in awe of the design and the floor-to-ceiling windows as well as the motorized shades that revealed an awesome city view. Very comfortable for couples enjoying the weekend for HK, but would also be suitable for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for the view on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Kara A,

Thanks for your great comments and we are thrilled that you love our design. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stay for 3 nights for holiday with family.

As a frequent visitors in HK, I mostly stay at Tsim Sha Tsui, but this time the price is so terribly high due to holiday period, so I give a try on HK side.

The location is at its best, short walk to Wanchai station and tram thru local market, and 5 mins taxi ride to Central and Causeway bay. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby.

The hotel is newly opened, so it is modern, clean, and very comfortable. Staffs are very attentive, and well-trained. The room plan is new design concept and bigger than HK standard. The bed is in the middle, open bathroom with Molton Brown amenities on the side, and working desk and closet at the back. Most importantly, no carpet, it has wooden floors.

Overall, I am very happy with this stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Kengkla ,

Thank you for your great feedback and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the neighborhood soon!

Best regards,Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing