We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different from other Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #27 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Different from other Hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is still very new hotel in Hong Kong with a very good location in Wanchai, just five minutes from the subway station (Exit A3 at Wanchai will be the closest to the Hotel) and you also have a bus stop almost in front of the Hotel (if you come by bus from HK Station, you can take bus number 6).

The rooms are certainly designed in a trendy way but not functional. Too much windows all over the room means that your bed must be in the middle of the room and the bathroom design is not good at all (as many other readers mention). If you travel alone this may be fine, but with your friends it is not advisable as there is no privacy at all (open bathroom).

Certain things in the room are good like the Nespresso machine and the Internet speed was always very fast for me.

Breakfast is not worth it to have it in the Hotel. Selection of food is rather limited and the price charged (35 USD if you add in your room rate when booking through their webpage is clearly outrageous). You have a Starbucks across the Hotel and a 7 Eleven across the street in Queen's Road East.

Overall and as long as they keep the room rates in a reasonable way (and you avoid breakfast there) it is a good option for stays in Wanchai.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms. They are more expensive and the layout is even worst than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear NickBkk,

We do have a point of difference and appreciate your honest feedback, as we know that our design will not suit everyone, but which some of our guests love. We will certainly review our breakfast standard/offering to see what needs to improve, although many guests love what we have, but every piece of feedback is important to us. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    317
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
296
103
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our first trip to Hong Kong. Stay on the island we were told, so we did. Hong Kong is the city with the second most sky scrapers in the world and this is one of them.
Location is excellent and you shouls ask for a corner room with mountain views ( no extra cost)
We couldn't praise the staff more highly, always welcoming and helpful, but the restaurant staff made breakfast a special experience. A wonderful array of food with any sort of egg cooked instantly to your liking by the chef. Coffee was just superb.
The corner room we had was amazing. Two of the four walls were just windows with electric blinds and electric curtains. Excellent shower completed the unit. We were a bit phased by the bed in the middle of the room, but after waking up, opening the curtains by remote control we were converted. There is wifi, a desk to work or read at and downstairs a library with Apple Mac computers.
Now go to the top of the tower. There is an amazing rooftop pool which juts out over the street, 30 floors down, and with a glass floor. This is just fantastic.
At the other side of the building is a rooftop bar, we watched the Chinese new year fireworks from there. What an amazing stay we had.
If you want to stay on Hong Kong Island then I don't think there's anywhere better.
Really worthy of (my only) 5 stars (so far)

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor corner room with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Dr_John_Poyser,

We are delighted to read that "you don't think there is anywhere better" than our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed three nights at the Indigo. Two rooms, superior and deluxe. Deluxe is a corner room with floor to ceiling curtains that open to give a great view. Hotel new and modern near metro. Roof pool with part-glass floor, spectacular! Rooms very comfortable, big bed, nice desk with box of necessities. And a first in a hotel: excellent bathroom lighting! Super fresh breakfast, juices yogurts etc in a fridge-nice touch. Will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Vivienne O,

We truly appreciate your great feedback and are thrilled that you will want to return!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel had recently opened when we visited, the staff were 'very attentive and helpful'.

The room was stylishly decorated, furnished to a high standard and 'very comfortable'.

The pool on the roof was a great place to relax together with the top floor bar/lounge

The location of the hotel is central, in the heart of the real Hong Kong and easy to get to most places

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mearnsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mearnsy1,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much that you regard us as a "great hotel". We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in january. Loved everything about this hotel. The location is perfect, 5 min walk to the subway and 2 stops from all the tourist spots. The hotel itself is unique, modern, very clean and spacious. We had an amazing corner room, with floor to ceiling windows! The room had all the amenities, nice pillow menu, expresso machine etc. super comfortable bed and a great rain shower.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The pool looked great( too cold for us to use in jan), but the bar was not up to mark for standards in HK. Breakfast was ok, but wouldn't pay extra for it. There is a Starbucks across the street and plenty of other restaurants and street food around.
Highly recommend this for the price for HK, the space you get and the location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear ottawanian,

We go out of our way to create 'guest love" and we are thrilled that you loved everything about our hotel and can't wait to welcome you back!

Best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The Indigo was recommended to us by a friend and we could not have been in better hands than in this lovely new hotel. We booked four rooms and all of us were more than thrilled. Excellent location right in the action of Wan Chai, with very easy access by foot to many worthy spots to visit. The rooms were spectacular with great views; would recommend to book the corner rooms as with the curtains all drawn up you can't be mistaken of the city you are staying in. Amenities were perfect, shower pressure was very good, free WiFi, a very nicely stocked Mini Bar and breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately did not try out the pool or any other outlets, but all the staff we came across with at the front desk and at breakfast were always smiling and extremely helpful. Will recommend this hotel to my friends who would be looking for a very centrally located hotel, with great design and good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 1984DST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear SammyDST,

Thanks for your great feedback and it was our pleasure to give you an experience that was filled with smiles. We can't wait to welcome you back.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I just stayed at the Hotel Indigo for 3 nights and all I can say is WOW!!

First of all, the location is just excellent! around 5 minutes leisurely walk to the A3 exit of the MTR and smacked right in the heart of Wan Chai. There's a lot of convenience stores nearby, a starbucks just outside the hotel and a bakeshop just a few minutes walk away.

Second, the room is fantastic! Modern Chinese. It's very well appointed and has everything that you need, a really comfortable bed and a pillow menu which I think is a very nice touch as you can specifically get the pillow you want, be it a memory foam pillow or a chrysantemum pillow. it's surprisingly spacious for a Hong Kong hotel, has lots of hanging space for your clothes and luggage. I liked the room slippers, very comfortable!

The hotel facilities are also awesome! The library where you can read in peace or borrow books or dvds that you can bring back to your room. The hotel roof top bar, the pool and even the tiny gym.

Lastly, I think the star of the hotel is really the staff! They're very helpful, attentive and friendly. From check - in to check out, i can't complain about anything. And also, whenever I called to request for something, it always gets delivered or addressed in 5 minutes or less. really really impressive!!

I'd gladly come back to this hotel when I'm in HK!

Room Tip: Get a corner room, you get 2 sides of floor to ceiling windows! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pao_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark I, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Pao_Tan,

That is a big WOW! from us too. Thank you for such glowing feedback and recognising our stars - our Indigo team. We are all waiting to WOW you again on your next visit.

With best regards, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing