We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clever Rooms in a Very Convenient Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Ranked #26 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Clever Rooms in a Very Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The Indigo has very nice, though rather small rooms. Our room, though short on space, seemed far roomier than it actually was due a 20 foot long wall of glass for a window and unusually high ceilings! Though like many hotels in HK, a lot of their rooms don't have much of a view, due to adjacent skyscrapers, the rooms feel flooded with light. Another wall was completely tilled in mini ceramic tiles in an eye pleasing Asian design. Further classy little touches included a Nespresso machine as the in-room coffee maker, and a small but immaculate rooftop open air pool and adjacent jacuzzi.

Other pluses: the front desk staff couldn't be more knowledgeable more more helpful! The wifi was both fast and relatively easy to use, and the housekeeping staff was enormously accommodating! On our floor, there was always a constantly stocked bowl of fresh oranges for guests to enjoy. The air conditioning was excellent and we loved the fact that apparently motion detectors turned off all the electrics when we left the room, and magically turned them on again when we returned. None of the cards-in-slots act needed! We also appreciated the under the bed nite lights to guide us to the bathroom in the dark.

Cons: the biggest negative for us was the annoying, cloying perfume that the hotel continuously pumps into its lobby. In addition, the hotel seems to be slightly under-elevatored with only 2 cars servicing some 23 floors. As a consequence some ofbthevwaits seemed rather long.

Also, while the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the Wan Chai metro, it is clearly in an area in the process off gentrification, and the streets are narrow and crowded. Tenements and luxury buildings and office towers all seem to be living next to each other. We didn't mind and thought it part of the charm to have to walk through a crowded street market to the metro but others might find this off putting.

While we loved the wall of light previously mentioned, we felt it was a shame that what I can only describe as metal, shelf-like, decorative features were installed on the exterior of the building to somewhat diminish the otherwise marvelous effect of the glass wall!

Although the wifi was good, it was inconvenient to have to re log in every time we left and then returned to the room.

We found the closet and drawer space somewhat limited for 2 adults.

Finally, we found the mandatory service charge the hotel levies to be onerous; we prefer to tip directly at our description so we really know that it is the service people involved who really get the money for good service!

Our tip: best rooms appear to be on the higher floors

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AspenWicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear AspenWicki,

We truly appreciate your honest feedback and know that we may not appeal to all guests, but there is something for many different travellers. Most importantly, it is great to know that our staff delivered on the service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood in the not too distant future.

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    313
    45
    10
    6
See reviews for
96
295
100
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were very happy with this quite funky, boutique hotel. The rooms and facilities were great and the breakfast was the best we had on the trip. Location is also great with easy walking to everything you need to do. Staff were very friendly and good with the kids.I will definitely recommend to my friends traveling to HK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Megan D,

Thank you for your great comments and recommendations and good to know that you will return. We look forward to welcoming you back to our neighbourhood soon!

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I just stayed at the Hotel Indigo last week for 6 nights. I was in Hong Kong for a conference, along with my children and their dad. I booked the hotel through the conference based on location (walking distance to conference center), pool (for kids), cost (reasonable), and size of rooms/beds (they offered "twin" rooms). We had a really positive experience. The staff was really accommodating and helpful, and there were always several people in the lobby on duty - at the front desk, helping with cabs, directions, etc. The hotel is new, with a modern but artistic style. The room was not big by U.S. standards but did have two beds (bigger than twin, smaller than doubles) and room to walk around them, a TV, little corner seat and table for tea, desk, shelves, closet and decent size bathroom. The far wall of the room was decorated with a beautiful tile design. The room also had many features which made it seem even more luxurious and special, such as a nice Nespresso coffee machine, a tea set, a mini bar and a drawer filled with snacks, red wine, and nice wine glasses. The room also had bottles of water which were replenished every day, robes, slippers, a voltage converter plug, desk items, sewing kit, umbrella, and other such necessaries. The modern bathroom had a beautiful, large shower we all loved. The hotel pool is on the roof (29th floor) and part of it sticks out off the roof and is all glass, a cool feature the kids loved. There is a hot tub on the roof also, along with lounge chairs, and a person manning it handing out towels. There is a bar up there also. The hotel restaurant was nice, with a buffet breakfast with typical Chinese, American, and European food. I did not have dinner there but my family did and they loved it, they served Chinese food and the kids loved the sweet and sour pork and the duck. There is a small fitness room which we did use and thankfully there was no competition for the treadmill. The location was very convenient, again, being walking distance to the Convention Center (one block through a market, then up onto the covered walkway all the way to the HKCC, about a 10 minute walk). In addition to the market down the street, many other restaurants were nearby, as well as a few sights such as two temples and an old Post Office. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Hong Kong. The only odd thing that happened was the fire alarm went off twice while we were there. We were told it was due to people smoking in their room (the hotel is completely smoke free, which is great). The first time it startled us out of bed and down the stairs only because we had the kids, but the alarm does say to wait for instructions so after that we just stayed put and it was all fine. The only suggestion I would make is that they offer a top sheet on the bed or use thinner duvets, because the duvets were so thick that we were hot sleeping, but then if you removed it there was nothing thinner to cover you and with the A/C it was too cold to be without anything. But otherwise everything was great. A beautiful hotel with super nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCF314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear SCF314,

It is a great pleasure to read such comments and I will most certainly ensure all our staff members are made aware of your heartfelt feelings about our hotel and service. We are all
looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distance future.

With warm regards, Roy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a whole week here at the Indigo Hongkong. Unfortunately it was raining the whole time so we couldn't use the wonderful pool at the 29th floor. It looked very appealing. The room we had was very nicely decorated, with coffee/tea making facilities, a nice mini bar, complementary mineral water, nice amenities etc. Bathroom a little small but adequate. Lovely rainshower and big fluffy bathtowels. Service was excellent, very efficient and nice staff there. Only 3 minute walk to Wan Chai metro which is also very convenient. Convention centre 10 minute walk, on footbrigde so protected from rain/sun etc. We will definitely come back here when we have to travel again to HK.

Room Tip: On a higher, corner floor you have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Featherfox,

We are delighted to read the heading "A great hotel with great service" and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough about how impressed I am with this hotel. They were communicating with me well before I arrived to make sure all my transfers were taken care of and to see of I needed anything else. The staff was impeccably gracious, attentive and worked hard. Super staff is the bottom line here.
The hotel itself was beautiful! Rooms were super clean, large and wonderfully appointed, bathrooms were large and the floor to ceiling windows that ran across a whole wall were just great even with the high rises around them.
Check-in, check-out, and concierge just great. Definitely will stay next time I am in Hong Kong. Highly highly recommend you do to!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Sue M,

Thank you for such glowing feedback and recognising our staff - our Indigo team. We are all waiting to WOW you again on your next visit.

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel is modern, very tastefully decorated, in a great location on HK island and the roof top pool an added bonus. The service across the board was good, and the breakfasts excellent. The area is interesting to explore and there are so many eating options near by you can just wander out from the hotel and take your pick.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Alex G,

It was wonderful to hear that we have been able to offer you great service and we look forward to welcoming you back to explore more about our neighbourhood in the not too distant future.

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condat-sur-Vezere, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay at Indigo was fantastic. Beautiful room and wonderful helpful staff. The hotel is situated in a very nice part of HK Island and there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. Reception staff always ready to help and treated us well. I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: I have ticked Spa....there isn't one but the rooftop pool is breathtaking as it extends out from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cafourche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy Y, Manager at Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Cafourche,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much that you regard us as a "Hong Kong Gem" hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With warm regards, Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Property: Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Address: No.246 Queen's Road East, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island is a dynamic addition to the fabric of Wan Chai, one of Hong Kong's most diverse and historic neighbourhoods. The hotel's fresh and stylish design is intriguing, original and deliberately evocative of its culturally rich urban environment. Our individually styled rooms capture the history of the neighbourhood through its design and artwork. On the rooftop you will discover our contemporary bar, Skybar, and dramatic infinity glass bottomed pool.Wan Chai’s shops, markets, restaurants & bars as well as Wan Chai MTR (subway) station are at the hotel’s doorstep. Get to know our chic and historically rich neighbourhood with a stroll through the many varied of the attractions that Wan Chai has to offer. Our team will be more than happy to share their neighbourhood stories with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing