We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new hotel, nice rooms but service are still lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #70 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel, nice rooms but service are still lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is brand new, so its very nicely designed. Their club room is very nice, but the foods sucks (maybe because I stay at 5 stars hotels all the times), but if you don't stay at a lot of hotels, then I think you;ll be ok.

However what made my experience here not enjoyable at all was the customer service! I always came into the lounge really late when they are almost closed and I noticed the club lounge guy would rush to hide the "wine". I don't even drink at all, but I think this is a low budget hotel, so they have a lot of people "stealing" foods or something. I stayed here for a night because I wanted to visit Sai Kung.

The hotel is brand new and there are still a bunch of glitches associated with it - especially the electrical outlet. I plugged my iPhone into the wall and it burned up. It didn't even burn up at any place except this one. At other hotels, they would have replaced me with one that they have at the hotel, but this hotel is really cheap and tried to put the blame on me that its was my iPhone charger that caused the short circuit. A whole bunch of people were in my room at 12 AM for several hours trying to figure out what could have cause my charger to be burn. They could've easily give me one of the ones they have in house, but I can't believe they wouldn't. However, the lady manager there was really sweet, she ended up giving me her own charger. If it wasn't for her, I would have called up Marriott customer service line and get to the bottom of this.

By the time they left, all the nearby restaurants were closed so I ordered in room service. The rice were dried (Literally Dried and hard as rock). Too tired and hungry to complaint and I know they would probably tried to find some excuse to shift the fault away from them anyway, I ate the foods and went to bed. Breakfast was so bad, I didn't even eat anything. However I have to say, the design of the club room with the glass windows is absolutely gorgeous.

Everytime I walk down stairs, they have this creepy security guy (old and kinda chubby) and giving you a mean dirty look (maybe because I dress so casual).

So I don't really know how to rate this hotel. Its new and very pretty, but its in a poor area, so I kind of understand the service type. As a Marriott Platinum member and staying at so many top Marriott, using my typical standards may not be quite fair to them. However, it is true that I didn't enjoy my stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloverIsSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    251
    53
    8
    15
See reviews for
150
129
47
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The service is excellent.
The room is excellent.
The staff is excellent.
Everything is here, and you couldnt ask for better
There is a convenience store below, and to get 24hr food, you can take the taxi to nearby food court.
In front of hotel, there is bus stop which can take u anywhere in HK including to Airport
The location is in Sha Tin, which is pretty far away from city, Shek Mun MTR station only 2 blocks walking distance

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel after getting scammed by the taxi driver from the airport (always remember to keep the card that is given to you by the airport staff, it has the taxi number written on it so you can complain in case of anything). We were pretty unhappy with that experience but the staff were friendly and gave us our room earlier, which made us feel better.

The room was pretty small, but most hotel rooms in Hong Kong are small. It was nicely furnished, had all the necessities and we were definitely happy to come back to the room every night after all the walking.

The location of the hotel is not as convenient and the MTR station is about 10 minutes walk away but there is a shuttle bus that takes you to the nearest MTR station. There's a local cha chan teng directly opposite the hotel which has nice and cheap comfort food for breakfast and around the area there are a few eateries and convenience stores.

The best part of the experience is that the staff there were extremely friendly and helpful, always greeting us enthusiastically and ready to help us! They also gave us good advice about when we should go to which places depending on the weather conditions. Thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, MS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Hong Kong. The room was wonderful. It was very spacious for a Hong Kong hotel and I had a nice view of the river. The gym is clean with new equipment and was deserted both times I used it. There is also a pedestrian/cycling track along the river within 5 minutes of the hotel. That's the good part. The bad part is the location. It takes close to an hour and at least 3 transfers to get anywhere in the city. Also, there are not any good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel so you will need to eat at Momo Cafe. The food is good, but it is pricy. Note that the room service prices are the same as the cafe. If I had known this, I would just have had room service since I was traveling alone. It is convenient for travel to Shenzhen especially if you take a taxi to University station. Otherwise, you can walk to the Shek Mun station on the Ma On Shan line. If you arrive on the train, there is a ground floor entrance which is not well marked on right side of the hotel. Otherwise, you will have to haul luggage up a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rooms are clean but hold out little hallway noise. When your neighbor's door closes, it will sound as if someone is breaking into your room. Beds were a bit firm for me.

Location makes it a poor choice for the tourist. From hotel to central on the metro requires at least 45 minutes and three transfers.

Staff was stubborn and uncaring about a minor misunderstanding.

On the positive side, there is a small shop around the corner from he lobby.

Again: it's comparatively cheap for good reason, so beware.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your valuable comment.

We do appologize for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate if we could contact you for further understanding the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Sha Tin. It is actually near a MTR station called Shek Mum. When you travel from city center like Tsim Sha Tsui or Central you need to transfer train for a few times to get there. Itis about 5 minutes walk from the MTR station. It is in an industrial district. There is a coffee shop a block away. The food was good. There are no good restaurant, except the ones inside the hotel. The closest shopping and restaurant is at the so call #1 City. Taxi can take you there fo HK $30.

I am a platinum member and was upgraded to an upper level room (not suite) and given lounge access. The view of the river was nice. There were a few snacks during evening happy hour, with beer and wine. Breakfast was pretty good. The lounge open till midnight, if you need sode, water or coffee.

If you can get used to the MTR system to get there, this is a nice hotel. The rate is reasonable. Service was great. Gym is clean with adequate machines. The pool was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I am from usa and I was vacationing in Hong Kong, Japan and Philippines. By far, this hotel met all of my expectation. Everything was in order, no problems of any kind. Please try the MoMo Cafe Restaurant. Its a bit expensive but I am sure you will enjoy it.........Have Fun ! JamesNeil ..byeee

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnd_MyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#45 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regal Riverside Hotel
#155 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#65 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#62 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: 1 On Ping Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Sha Tin, with a mere 5-minute walk to the MTR Shek Mun Station (Ma On Shan Line), the 524-room Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong Sha Tin features stylish rooms with tranquil views of the Shing Mun River, offering smart and practical choices to make your stay energized and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing