We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs upgrade, need some more seats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #68 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service needs upgrade, need some more seats”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Company came with some 30 guests. We rented the convention room upstairs of lobby.
Room was acceptable, of course you expect some standard when it says Marriott, so the bar was set earlier. They perform at par on room.
Looking forward to service upgrade. Found a few people who speak English. It was troublesome to get simple answers such as what time does the nearest supermarket close. I found someone who explain that even the dumplings had no pork, they all use pork fat. That person really helped, although wished that anyone could communicate it.
Worse experience was we all had to wait at the lobby during check in. There were not enough seats, so all the executive guests had to stand up. These were Directors and CEOs of multinational companies. Even though they were forgiving, the hotel shouldn't rely on such luck.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for providing the valuable comments on your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you and your clients were inconvenienced by the insufficient service of our staff. We are now revising our training plans on servcie enhancement to frontline staff.

Again, thank you for your feedback as we take guest satisfaction seriously.

Please feel free to conttact me at 3940 8810 for further communicating this case.

We hope to see you again soon.

Amanda Ha
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    259
    53
    10
    15
See reviews for
155
142
49
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is new, very nice and clean. The Chinese restaurant on the first floor of the hotel is also very good. It is a bit far from shopping centers but it has a shuttle that will take you to the New Town Plaza. I do wish that the shuttle could run more frequently though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our experience with this hotel did not start off well. My wife was trying to make a booking when during the booking the staff member (Irewan?) hung up the call. When we arrived at the hotel and saw him there he said that "he hung up because he thought we were just price comparing"... !!

It quickly became apparent that this hotel is managed by twenty something year olds.. Some of the service was good but there is an air of inexperience resonating everywhere.

The room itself was quite nice. We booked a corner suite and apart from an unwanted guest (a cockroach on the 23rd floor) a sliding door that swayed, and a lot of noise heard through thin walls from the next room, it was otherwise a nice room. Tall ceilings, very comfortable bed and bed linen, and the best air con system I've encountered in HK.

Strangely, given that the hotel is located in the new territories, parking is an inconvenience, with no parking offered other than an adjacent shopping malls car park which offers only hourly rates, and a private car park which is not covered and is a nuisance to get to if its raining. Clearly this hotel caters for tour groups arriving by bus, of which there were plenty!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I had been in China for about a week.Clean hotel. Great river view. Clean Room. Awesome staff. Nice location. Good food. I love my room with the river view.
nice Breakfast with lots of variety. nice pool and gym

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nirav_584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

this was my 2nd times staying in this hotel, and the main reason why i stayed here is simply because i have things to do around Sha tin

the Hotel is nice, when you enter the lobby, the friendly staffs will greet you and lead you to the reception counter, and the check in service was good

as for the room they have the one with the river view, and the other is just old office buildings nextdoor. they have smoking and non-smoking rooms. the room was nicely decorated and meets the marriott standards

the breakfast and lunch buffet was also nice, various selection of foods, and taste was OK,

the downside was only the location, since it's in the new territories so it's a bit far to everywhere, taxi to downtown may cost you 130 HKD/way, and if you decided to go with the MTR/ the train you will have to do some line changes, which may be confusing for first timers. they also have a shuttle to a nearby mall and train station which may help you to go around. so if you visit HK for vacation, this is not the hotel you want to stay, but if you do have something to do around Sha Tin, then don't hesitate

Room Tip: ask for the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Temmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My family and I had been in China for about a week and a few days before we got to Hong Kong. We stayed at about 3 different hotels prior to this one and this one was by fay in the most convenient location! First they have a complimentary shuttle bus that takes you to and from two different places. One is to the city one plaza and the other one is near some other area. But the city one plaza is a perfect area! It has a mall/shopping center that has a Starbucks, KFC and McDonald's for those who want to stick to something they know. There's a Japanese fast food place there called Yoshihana..so good! We ate there twice. The area near the hotel is a good place to chill out and relax if you don't feel like doing much! You could even walk to city one if you wanted to, maybe about a 15/20 min walk? If you do want to go to downtown where like Victoria Park and Time Square is there's a city bus that will take you straight there without switching buses. It's the last stop and it really is a nice ride. It takes about an hour but there's so much to look at! We did take the subway there the day before but there was so much hopping off and switching lines...take the bus, you won't regret it. I think it was 20HKD per person and it's the number 10 bus. It's clean and you can sit upstairs at the very front, wonderful experience! As for the breakfast buffet..I wouldn't spend the extra for it. We did it for one day and we were glad we only chose one day. The next day we just had breakfast at the city one plaza. All in all the location of the hotel is just super convenient for the price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mishka_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Clean hotel. Great river view. Clean Room. Awesome staff. Nice location. Good food.
I love my room with the river view. The location is strategic, close to MTR Station and Bus Station.
Breakfast was great, i really like it.
The Wifi is amazing. Fast internet with perfect quality. Too bad you gotta pay extra for in room wifi.
I just hangout at the lobby for that.. :p
Pleasant stay in HK with Marriott Sha Tin.. :)

Room Tip: River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiyafabiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,322 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regal Riverside Hotel
#157 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,518 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#61 of 718 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: 1 On Ping Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in Sha Tin, with a mere 5-minute walk to the MTR Shek Mun Station (Ma On Shan Line), the 524-room Courtyard by Marriott Hong Kong Sha Tin features stylish rooms with tranquil views of the Shing Mun River, offering smart and practical choices to make your stay energized and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing