We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homely studio in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twenty One Whitfield
Ranked #141 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“homely studio in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

one month stay for an extended work trip at the City Corp directly across the road
great location very close to Victoria Park and Tin Hau MTR station with buses to central directly outside the building
loved the clean, modern styling and compact mini kitchen, we picked the 30th floor to get maximum views of the harbour
totally utilised the washing machine and dryer
staff very friendly and helpful and the studio was quiet for a city location
favourite restaurant nearby was Han Japanese on Whitfield Road, also City Super in nearby Times Square for groceries
on Sundays, bus 15B from Tin Hau bus terminal goes direct to the Peak - the views from the top deck are amazing (first bus goes at mid day)

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room on the top 3 floors for unobstructed views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnmoreRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    70
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
77
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We chose this accommodation based on TA reviews, looking for an affordable option for a family with 2 children. The website and the reservation slip mention 540 square feet. So what a disappointment when you open door and realize that the "suite" is barely 200 square feet! This is tiny, even by Hong Kong standards.

When we went to see the reception to inquire whether this was the right room, pointing to the reservation slip, we were met with scorn and lies (the difference between gross and net area...). Then the rude reception lady suggested that we find another accommodation and they would refund us. At 10 pm, how can we find a new flat? So we had no choice and elected to stay. But never again.

Also please note that the location is quite poor with no MRT station nearby. So this is really a bad deal and I really don't understand current TA ranking as you have lots of better options in Hong Kong for a similar or even lower budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank GABA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for two days and despite the cliche of HK rooms being tiny boxes, this was far from that. It was a great size and being open area, you never felt 'trapped'. The room has excellent facilities and includes a mini kitchen so you can even cook your own meals. The finishes of the kitchenette were super. White 2-pac, clean lines with integrated refrigerator and an induction domino. What more could you ask for? It was a mere 8 min walk to Tin Hau station, which is super easy to get to. The finishes in general are excellent. They truly reflect a a boutique hotel.

The view from 25A was great; sure, there was a building in front of me, but that didn't get in the way too much as you still had a great sight line to the harbour. The bed was slightly harder than what I'm used to but it was actually very comfortable.

I loved the rain-water shower head and the additional hand-held shower arm was perfect for a comfortable and relaxing shower. Everything had its place and was very well thought out -Highly recommend

Room Tip: I believe that rooms from 25 upwards are better and if it has a B, it's even better with potenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleks E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is the latest addition to the National Hotels group in HK - they also have the Jervois, 99 Bonham, and Putnam properties. There are 2 studio units on each floor - Studio A with a bath and Studio B with shower and views facing the harbour. Our unit was on the 30th floor with excellent views and easy access to laundry. There are a washer/dryer on every 4 floors, free for guest use. This is more of a serviced apartment style with 24hr security and daytime front desk. Rooms are on the smaller side, OK for a couple but no more than 2 people. The kitchenette with mini fridge and stove comes in handy. Bathroom has a great rain shower and good toilettries - L'Occitane shampoo/cond and packs of toothbrush and toothpaste. Very comfortable double bed with nice linens. Good neighborhood, easy access to MTR and there's a bus stop right out front. Nice rooftop - you can book out the BBQ for a nominal fee. Overall a great place to stay - away from the hustle and bustle of Causeway Bay, but very accessible. Tons of restaurants and bakeries outside. We stayed for 1 week and paid around USD200/night.

If you're looking for a slightly larger room option, check out The Jervois in Sheung Wan. My friends always stay there as they accommodate small families (baby amenities) well.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 30th floor or higher. Studio A has a bath, Studio B no bath with views of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent 5 nights in November at the 33rd floor (apartment B), which was absolutely amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The second day was my boyfriend's birthday and they placed a box of cookies in our room with a nice message. The room was very clean with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in and that also counts for the shower. Actually, the room was even better than on the picture, because it had windows all around our bed. It was like we were sleeping in the middle of the city. Just a ten-minute walk from the subway station Fortress Hill and very close to Victoria Park. The only bad thing about this place was leaving it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ingeclarijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from 5 night stay at 21 W. We had both apartments on 33 floor. My brother had apartment on 11 floor. View from higher floors is spectacular, so if special occasion remember to ask. The view from no 11 was of nearby buildings, while interesting not so spectacular. Apartments were spotless and fully equipped as mentioned. Serviced daily, towels changed daily, we had shower and bath in ours 33A while my sister in 33B had walk in rain shower no bath. Staff at 21 W were very helpful, especially Rocky on the night shift as we arrived very late Surrounding area is very everyday HK and local people going about their business. There is a Pacific Coffee cafe across the road for fresh coffee etc, 7/11 and Circle supermarkets for basic bread, milk etc. Victoria Park about 3 min away, we were in training for 10k to get our 'run' in. On Electric Road, less than 5 min walk is an abundance of restaurants, all food we had was very authentic. Not as many people speak english as anticipated but were very helpful (except taxi drivers!) when asked , we felt we experienced the real HK as a lot of chain hotels leave me feeling I could be in any country. All in all fantastic place to stay, highly recommended.

Room Tip: only queen sized beds (very big double) available. Ask for higher floors for the fantastic views. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirro50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had an awesome 4D3N stay with Whitfield in their Habourview Suite B room (30B) with my fiance over the weekend.

Room was spacious and clean, equipped with rainshower, fridge, flatscreen tv, microwave, kettle, iron, hairdryer, and of course, a very good view of Hong Kong city and part of the harbour.

A short 5-10 minutes walk to Tin Hau and Fortress Hill MTR (same line as Central, Causeway Bay). Travelling time from airport was approx 1hour by airport express & MTR, and HKG350 (>1hr) via taxi.

What matters most to me when i travel is (1) wifi, (2) clean white bedsheets, (3) and a clean and good shower/bathroom. Whitfield managed to fulfill it all! Wifi connection was stable and relatively fast. Sheets were fresh and clean, ensuring a good sleep. Shower came with complimentary loccitane kit which is replenished with every housekeeping trip.

Staff were friendly and helpful, including the housekeeper lady who was really polite. Kudos to Rocky, the permanent night staff, who went the distance to ensure our stay was comfortable.

Definitely topped my first experience to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugenieyien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#105 of 718 in Hong Kong
617 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
TUVE
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,293 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty One Whitfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty One Whitfield

Property: Twenty One Whitfield
Address: No.21 Whitfield Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twenty One Whitfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Twenty One Whitfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twenty One Whitfield Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing