We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twenty One Whitfield
Ranked #139 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not a Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Its not a hotel, its more like a serviced appartment, but, its not bad!\
The locations is a bit weird, and nothing close what would be interesting for tourists.
They offer also long stay appartments, starting at 20000HK$ per month.
We were a bit shocked when we came in, because the reception and lobby are tiny and it doesnt look very inviting. If you know this before, it is ok. There were only 2 rooms per floor, what was great. So my partner and I had a whole floor on our own.
The view photos are a bit tricky. You have a big building in front, so you get the harbour view on its right and left side. Would I come back. Yes I think, if I don't find a place in this quality in a better location for the same price.The rooms were newish and very clean with a little kitchen, a nice desk to work and free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, but as always, as higher as better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteffanW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    71
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
78
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Twenty One Whitfield from 4/21 to 4/28. We found the studio comfortable as it gave us a sense of home. Though the studio is no more than 300 sq ft, it has everything we needed. We did not utilize the stove, but used the dishes provided and the refrigerator. The daily housekeeping was nice though the towels are linens are only changed on Tuesday and Friday. That was not a problem for us. They also provided 2 bottles of water daily. I want to mention Roque, the night time personnel who man the door, was friendly and helpful. He even helped us load our suitcases into the car.
The views from the rooftop is priceless and so were the views from the room itself. We were extremely happy that we chose Whitfield as it was reasonably priced (about 160 USD/night). There are plenty of dining options nearby and it is not a far walk from the Fortress Hill MTR station. We definitely recommend staying here and would return when we go back to HK.

Room Tip: All units will face the Victoria Bay as there are only 2 units per floor. The laundry room is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoloBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'd like to preface this review by saying that I'm from Hong Kong and have seen/stayed at a number of hotels in Hong Kong and worldwide.

Pros: Brand new & modern hotel and furnishings, conveniently located (5 mins walk to the Tin Hau or Fortress Hill subway station), friendly staff, very comfortable bed, free internet, rain shower, floor to ceiling windows to see the view of Victoria Harbour! The size of the room is very reasonable for a Hong Kong hotel (not tiny, as another reviewer said) - it is a standard room designed for 2 people, not 2 adults plus 2 kids!

Cons: This is clearly a small operation - the reception is tiny and staffed by one person, the rooms are accessed by a traditional key (what new hotel doesn't use access cards?!), the lift lobby on each floor seems to smell of rubbish after each day's cleaning. When you check out, they make you wait at the lobby while someone physically goes up to your room to check for stolen/damaged goods, before you can leave (not good if you're in a hurry!). No facilities, restaurants, etc.

This is basically a small, boutique serviced apartment building - the staff will come and clean your room everyday like a hotel, and all rooms come with a kitchenette and empty fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Let me tell you this first. The actual space is far more better than the picture! Even though I stayed 27th floor, the view was still awesome. And you know how small Hongkong hotels are, but this room is spacious enough(I was by myself, though)!
Little kitchenette was good enough, access to city centre(Central, Wanchai.,,) was very convenient because you have bus stop just in front of hotel.

If you want to settle yourself as home, then this is right choice for you.

I reached before noon, I checked my luggage first and had lunch, got back around 1300 and the room was ready. The staff was friendly enough, if you're considering this is not 100% hotel.

Room Tip: Please ask for higher room, over 30th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EunsookHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

one month stay for an extended work trip at the City Corp directly across the road
great location very close to Victoria Park and Tin Hau MTR station with buses to central directly outside the building
loved the clean, modern styling and compact mini kitchen, we picked the 30th floor to get maximum views of the harbour
totally utilised the washing machine and dryer
staff very friendly and helpful and the studio was quiet for a city location
favourite restaurant nearby was Han Japanese on Whitfield Road, also City Super in nearby Times Square for groceries
on Sundays, bus 15B from Tin Hau bus terminal goes direct to the Peak - the views from the top deck are amazing (first bus goes at mid day)

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room on the top 3 floors for unobstructed views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnmoreRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We chose this accommodation based on TA reviews, looking for an affordable option for a family with 2 children. The website and the reservation slip mention 540 square feet. So what a disappointment when you open door and realize that the "suite" is barely 200 square feet! This is tiny, even by Hong Kong standards.

When we went to see the reception to inquire whether this was the right room, pointing to the reservation slip, we were met with scorn and lies (the difference between gross and net area...). Then the rude reception lady suggested that we find another accommodation and they would refund us. At 10 pm, how can we find a new flat? So we had no choice and elected to stay. But never again.

Also please note that the location is quite poor with no MRT station nearby. So this is really a bad deal and I really don't understand current TA ranking as you have lots of better options in Hong Kong for a similar or even lower budget.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank GABA54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for two days and despite the cliche of HK rooms being tiny boxes, this was far from that. It was a great size and being open area, you never felt 'trapped'. The room has excellent facilities and includes a mini kitchen so you can even cook your own meals. The finishes of the kitchenette were super. White 2-pac, clean lines with integrated refrigerator and an induction domino. What more could you ask for? It was a mere 8 min walk to Tin Hau station, which is super easy to get to. The finishes in general are excellent. They truly reflect a a boutique hotel.

The view from 25A was great; sure, there was a building in front of me, but that didn't get in the way too much as you still had a great sight line to the harbour. The bed was slightly harder than what I'm used to but it was actually very comfortable.

I loved the rain-water shower head and the additional hand-held shower arm was perfect for a comfortable and relaxing shower. Everything had its place and was very well thought out -Highly recommend

Room Tip: I believe that rooms from 25 upwards are better and if it has a B, it's even better with potenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleks E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
282 reviews
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#107 of 718 in Hong Kong
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,322 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty One Whitfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty One Whitfield

Property: Twenty One Whitfield
Address: No.21 Whitfield Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twenty One Whitfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Twenty One Whitfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twenty One Whitfield Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing