We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view alone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Twenty One Whitfield
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view alone”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Although this serviced apartment is perhaps further from Central than we'd have liked it was a good size by HK standards and the view from apartments above level 30 is spectacular. It looks back over the harbour to Central and is truly beautiful at night. It's a quieter area but still has plenty of restaurants nearby. Taxis are cheap eg $HK40 to get into Central or the Piers.

The apartment building is manned 24/7 but usually there's only one person on the front desk. When we arrived they were off doing something so we had a 5 minute wait outside the locked small front door, inconvenient but this was offset by excellent service throughout our stay. The apartment feels very secure - pass card for the lift and a physical key for the apartment door, plus a safe in the room if you feel the need. It has cooking facilities, microwave and crockery etc for two.

We loved it and would book again on our next trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JayellNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    70
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
77
22
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked two rooms and I had requested (a month in advance) both rooms to be on the same floor and on a higher floor. I was really pleased that the management had made the arrangement to our request. We stayed in two rooms A & B on the 33rd floor.

Room A has bath tub and room B walking shower. I've read previous reviews mentioning that room B is better in terms of the harbour view but I disagree. Room A has the better wider view of the causeway bay and Victoria park. In Room B you can see Electric road in the back which is a plus though.

There's a washing machine and dryer on floor 30.
Lots of wall plug sockets in the room which was a bonus I had too many things connected charging.

The WiFi upload/download speeds averaged 20Mbps
An annoying issue was that every day you have to login to the WiFi network with the given user name and password. Also I couldn't connect the Chromecast to the network as accessing internet needed username/password.

#5 Bus right outside the building it goes to Central going past Causeway bay shopping area.
There's a Hot Pot restaurant just next door please avoid, way too expensive and the food weren't good. Many good restaurants on Electric road towards Tin Hau MTR.
There's a Circle K convenient store opposite the road.

We didn't find the location to be too far from the MTR stations.

Staff very friendly reception/house keeping. A special thanks to Dorothy on the day of check out for arranging our taxis.

Room Tip: Room A has bath tub Room B has shower. Room A bathroom was very warm (summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Its not a hotel, its more like a serviced appartment, but, its not bad!\
The locations is a bit weird, and nothing close what would be interesting for tourists.
They offer also long stay appartments, starting at 20000HK$ per month.
We were a bit shocked when we came in, because the reception and lobby are tiny and it doesnt look very inviting. If you know this before, it is ok. There were only 2 rooms per floor, what was great. So my partner and I had a whole floor on our own.
The view photos are a bit tricky. You have a big building in front, so you get the harbour view on its right and left side. Would I come back. Yes I think, if I don't find a place in this quality in a better location for the same price.The rooms were newish and very clean with a little kitchen, a nice desk to work and free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, but as always, as higher as better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteffanW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Twenty One Whitfield from 4/21 to 4/28. We found the studio comfortable as it gave us a sense of home. Though the studio is no more than 300 sq ft, it has everything we needed. We did not utilize the stove, but used the dishes provided and the refrigerator. The daily housekeeping was nice though the towels are linens are only changed on Tuesday and Friday. That was not a problem for us. They also provided 2 bottles of water daily. I want to mention Roque, the night time personnel who man the door, was friendly and helpful. He even helped us load our suitcases into the car.
The views from the rooftop is priceless and so were the views from the room itself. We were extremely happy that we chose Whitfield as it was reasonably priced (about 160 USD/night). There are plenty of dining options nearby and it is not a far walk from the Fortress Hill MTR station. We definitely recommend staying here and would return when we go back to HK.

Room Tip: All units will face the Victoria Bay as there are only 2 units per floor. The laundry room is locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoloBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I'd like to preface this review by saying that I'm from Hong Kong and have seen/stayed at a number of hotels in Hong Kong and worldwide.

Pros: Brand new & modern hotel and furnishings, conveniently located (5 mins walk to the Tin Hau or Fortress Hill subway station), friendly staff, very comfortable bed, free internet, rain shower, floor to ceiling windows to see the view of Victoria Harbour! The size of the room is very reasonable for a Hong Kong hotel (not tiny, as another reviewer said) - it is a standard room designed for 2 people, not 2 adults plus 2 kids!

Cons: This is clearly a small operation - the reception is tiny and staffed by one person, the rooms are accessed by a traditional key (what new hotel doesn't use access cards?!), the lift lobby on each floor seems to smell of rubbish after each day's cleaning. When you check out, they make you wait at the lobby while someone physically goes up to your room to check for stolen/damaged goods, before you can leave (not good if you're in a hurry!). No facilities, restaurants, etc.

This is basically a small, boutique serviced apartment building - the staff will come and clean your room everyday like a hotel, and all rooms come with a kitchenette and empty fridge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Let me tell you this first. The actual space is far more better than the picture! Even though I stayed 27th floor, the view was still awesome. And you know how small Hongkong hotels are, but this room is spacious enough(I was by myself, though)!
Little kitchenette was good enough, access to city centre(Central, Wanchai.,,) was very convenient because you have bus stop just in front of hotel.

If you want to settle yourself as home, then this is right choice for you.

I reached before noon, I checked my luggage first and had lunch, got back around 1300 and the room was ready. The staff was friendly enough, if you're considering this is not 100% hotel.

Room Tip: Please ask for higher room, over 30th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EunsookHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

one month stay for an extended work trip at the City Corp directly across the road
great location very close to Victoria Park and Tin Hau MTR station with buses to central directly outside the building
loved the clean, modern styling and compact mini kitchen, we picked the 30th floor to get maximum views of the harbour
totally utilised the washing machine and dryer
staff very friendly and helpful and the studio was quiet for a city location
favourite restaurant nearby was Han Japanese on Whitfield Road, also City Super in nearby Times Square for groceries
on Sundays, bus 15B from Tin Hau bus terminal goes direct to the Peak - the views from the top deck are amazing (first bus goes at mid day)

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room on the top 3 floors for unobstructed views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnmoreRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#102 of 718 in Hong Kong
614 reviews
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
274 reviews
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty One Whitfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty One Whitfield

Property: Twenty One Whitfield
Address: No.21 Whitfield Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twenty One Whitfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Twenty One Whitfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twenty One Whitfield Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing