We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfectly OK - a great budget deal IMHO !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #296 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfectly OK - a great budget deal IMHO !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our stay was for 5 nights during Thanksgiving week in November and on our first visit to Hong Kong while en route to Beijing.
I didn't expect anything more than a hostel, but we were pleasantly surprised - it is indeed a Guesthouse with some Hotel amenities.

The Anne Black Guesthouse is situated in a dated skyscraper on a busy intersection of Waterloo road. The entrance is around the corner and up a steep hill, across the basketball court (or as a short-cut on the escalators located in the library building that you pass).
It's an easy and pleasant 15-min walk from Mongkok Station - even with luggage - and recognizable from afar.
The lobby looks like there was an attempt to give it somewhat of a modern appeal - in contrast to the building itself - is small but well suited for a Guesthouse and void of any frills.
The elevators are small, but adequate.

The room was dated, spartan with twin beds, a sink, small closet, small desk and a TV on top of a small fridge - and clean, with crisp white linens.
On the desk a tray with water-cooker, tea, instant-coffee etc. which we used frequently.
(But only after having overcome the initial shock over the "coffee" offered, us coming from the "Latte-Capital" of the world ;)
I felt really lucky with our room located on the quiet side of the building and not facing noisy Waterloo Road.
The bathroom across the hallway was absolutely bare, no frills whatsoever, no outlet for your grooming tools - the only amenity was a small mirror - But it was clean and everything functioned.

The staff are helpful, pleasant and efficient.
No problem with WiFi, available in the lobby and adjacent restaurant only.

The Guesthouse, including the restaurant - and in particular the lobby - can be a "zoo", as it seems to be the preferred accommodations and assembly point for droves of young teenagers from neighboring countries on their school excursions.

The adjacent restaurant is apparently a local favorite, dated, a bit shabbily decorated in a true "Elvis" theme - LOL- and of course well equipped for karaoke, if one should desire so and throw a party !

It is fun and perfectly safe to roam the area at day/night and find great places to eat all the wonderful offerings of local Chinese cuisine.

Conclusion: As far as I can tell a pretty good deal for a Hong Kong budget-stay in a prime location - glad I took the opportunity and surely will be back here for another stay in this wonderful city !
Thumbs up and wholeheartedly recommended (if you're not too picky) !

Room Tip: As mentioned before already - If possible select a room on the quiet side, avoid facing Waterloo Roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    187
    137
    30
    7
See reviews for
27
36
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hostel is located about 15-20 minutes walk from Mongkok KCR station so probably the best way to get there is to take the Airport Express to Kowloon and then the K5 hotel shuttle bus to the Metropark Hotel in Waterloo Road. It's about 5 minutes walk from there.

If you're on a very tight budget and all you want is a bed in a clean room (albeit one that looks dirty because of the age of the building) with very basic facilities in a reasonably central location then this may be a viable option. There is a self-service laundry, the restaurant is OK (but there are better close by) and they will charge HKD30 for 30 minutes internet use.

However, it's not a hotel. Don't expect any comfort whatsoever. Also, our experience was that it was very noisy as it's a hostel that accommodates visiting youth groups and we were continually disturbed late at night and early in the morning by the comings and goings of not particularly considerate fellow guests.

Next time, I'll pay more and stay in a proper hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuppersReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
341 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Review: Anne Black YWCA

When visiting Hong Kong, we prefer to stay on the Kowloon side. Hong Kong Island is best for business travelers, and the New Territories best for commuters, but Kowloon has the best views and venues for tourists.

Make certain you check the location of any hotel before booking, since reasonable rates often mean a long commute into the city center from the New Territories or from remote edges of Hong Kong island.

In years past we stayed at the fancy hotels along the Kowloon waterfront. As prices have risen, we have chosen hotels farther and farther inland.

The Anne Black is as far inland as one would care to go, but it was one of the few hotels that offered a single room (with bathroom down the hall) for less than 100USD per night during my stay (it cost 70USD including taxes for each of two stays in November). However, the price drops during the colder months.

I have mixed feelings about the Anne Black. It is safe, clean, and friendly. The front desk staff look and act like professionals, and they were very helpful.

The Anne Black is in an inconvenient location, but acceptable for anyone with good walking shoes, a good map from the HKTB (in the airport arrivals hall), and a good sense of direction. The nearest MTR station (Yau Ma Tei on Nathan Road) and KCR station (Mon Kok East) are each about a 15 minute walk away from the Anne Black.

However, buses run up and down Waterloo Road, and the bus stop is only a few minutes away from the Anne Black (fortunately the #7 runs down Nathan Road to the Star Ferry terminal, and the #271 continues on to the China ferry terminal on Canton Road).

Bus, subway, ferry, and commuter train travel are easy with the Octopus card, which one can purchase (and redeem) at the airport and MTR stations.

The problem I had during my stay at the Anne Black was with the very hard beds -- softer than sleeping on my dining room table but harder than sleeping on my living room carpet. Adding a foam pad on top of the mattress would be a very cheap solution to this problem.

Although the rooms and halls could use fresh paint (there are scuff marks) and new vinyl mini-blinds (the old metal ones are often bent), the housekeeping staff does a good job of keeping the rooms and bathrooms clean.

The rooms are spartan but have all the essentials -- a sink, mini-fridge, CRT TV with about 5 local channels, twin beds, window air conditioner, desk, closet, and electric water boiler. There is no room safe, but safe boxes are free at the front desk. A supermarket is nearby on Waterloo Road for bottled water and snacks.

Finding the Anne Black can be a challenge. From the airport one could take the express train and then the free shuttle to the Metropark Kowloon Hotel (about 12USD each way). I prefer the A21 airport express bus (about 4USD each way), which stops at Yau Ma Tei (at the junction of Nathan Road and Waterloo Road), then walk or take a bus northeast up Waterloo Road to the Metropark Hotel, which is only two blocks after one passes under the KCR railway tracks.

Although the Anne Black is on a hill directly across Waterloo Road from the Metropark Kowloon Hotel, the entrance is around the corner with the gas stations, past the public library (which has free internet on the 8th floor), and up the hill on Man Fuk Road. A taxi from Yau Ma Tei is recommended if you have a large suitcase.

I would probably stay at the Anne Black again given the price of hotels in Hong Kong and Kowloon, but the hard beds are definitely a challenge for those not used to them.

As a break, I stayed for three nights in Macau at a luxurious hotel with a comfortably firm king bed for only 90USD per night.

I hope you find this information helpful. Enjoy Hong Kong -- it is an interesting city.

Room Tip: If you want a room with en suite bath, reserve well in advance. Other rooms have sinks, which is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Good location with bus close by to Star Terminal and lots of excellent public transport and taxis. Easy city to get about and this YWCA takes singles, couples, men and women- one floor women only I think. Very reasonable prices for HK. No frills but very clean, good functional en-suite with plenty soap etc. Ground floor restaurant provided basic but adequate breakfast and other meals (mostly frequented by locals I think - a bit like a club). On both visits I've arrived by pre-arranged bus from airport at reasonable charge- takes about 1 hour - not much longer than a taxi. Hotel can arrange this bus - also to take you back to main airport when you leave. There are other options but I've found this bus very reliable and good value for money. Leaves from basement of airport- can be hard to find- but I've always asked and found people really helpful.

Room Tip: Upper floors have good views but lifts are small and take some time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

It reminds me of an older hospital ward. It's very spartan, & the elevator is seriously overworked & SLOW, & there's no internet in the room. However, there is free internet in the restaurant & lobby area, but it is turned off at night when the restaurant closes! I don't like that it's located up a hill, it's a bit of a workout, & quite a walk to the MTR. The staff was very nice, & I liked the self-serve laundry as well. All in all, for the price you can't beat it. It's the best deal in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancerdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

+ Positives
Very reasonable price compared to like hostels. The rooms are clean, fair sized and their room service is thorough and on time.

Air conditioner is powerful albeit slightly on the noisy side at maximum setting

Convenient walking distance to Mongkok (where many shops and market places are located)

Live entertainment and restaurant next to lobby area

- Negatives

I got a room which was overlooking the very busy Waterloo Road and next to the communal showers and toilets. The problem was the noise of the traffic during morning rush hour and the sound of the water pipes which ran through my room during the night.

No WiFi in the rooms. Have to go down to lobby area.

Advice

Ask for a room that is NOT overlooking Waterloo Road and next to the shared shower and toilets.

Bottom line

Basic 'all you need' and no nonsense hostel situated in a prime location with reasonable customer service. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is NOT facing Waterloo Road.or next to the communal showers and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wai888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed here from 20/10/2011 to 22/10/2011 for 2 nights after our 3 nights stay in Rambler Oasis Hotel in Tsing Yi.

The hotel room looks old but is spacious and clean. Location is good, in the city area, but takes about 15 min walk to the nearest MTR station. Internet access is not available in the room, but is FOC in the lobby. Taxi (RED) from this hotel to the airport is around HKD180.

Pros: Clean and spacious.
Cons: Old furniture, quite far to the nearest MTR station.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milkasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Bishop Lei International House
#151 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#389 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#183 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden View Hong Kong
#152 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#170 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
JJ Hotel
JJ Hotel
#127 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Property: Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing