We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Value Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Ranked #352 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean Value Accomodation”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Anne Black YWCA is not a pretty hotel but it certainly works as a cheap place to stay when you are looking to control your budget. The rooms are clean and they and the bathroom facilities are cleaned daily which is really my main concern with a room. The beds are hard and not the most comfortable but work just great after long days roaming the strees of Hong Kong. We found the hotel to be quiet and fairly easy to get to via the train (about a ten minute walk from Mong Kok station) although you won't find it convenient to stop back at the hotel to change or drop off bags (its just far enough out of the way of other things to do). Would certainly stay here again as it was perfectly pleasant and pretty much what we expected for our money. Restaurant had some OK breakfasts for a reasonable price so it made starting the day easy.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrinterBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    187
    138
    30
    7
See reviews for
27
37
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our HKG and Shenzhen package tour. It is located in the Mongkok area, however it's quite a long walk to the shopping area, so we take a cab (HKD 20-23) to the Mongkok shopping center like Langham Place and Night market areas. The rooms are quite small and old however its clean and we had our own bathroom. The only thing I don't like about this hotel is that its a 5 minute walk to the main road. It's located in a school and residential area. I do like the restaurant in the lobby during lunch, good and very affordable food if you choose their lunch specials, at night they provide live music. They have free wifi in the restaurant and lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hi All,
I stay at the YWCA for 4 nights last week with my family.I book 2 rooms cos i have 2 teenage kids
with me and we end up having a separate room in different floor.Request for room to change to
the same floor for the family was not done.Room wise we found one of the room my children stay
have some weird smell and the electric kettle at our room actually have stain in it and smell of
milk.Location wise is not really great as it is uphill and inconvenience if it rains.The elderly will
have a hard time walking back to the hotel if there is rain and they are not prepared with
umbrella.I would recommend spending a little bit more for the Metropark Kowloon hotel which
is just across the main road.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joecheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for budget travellers without kids. The 15-20 minute walk to the MTR stations might not be pleasing for kids. Rooms are clean and medium sized, even that with the communal bath is not bad at all. I recommend food trip and bit of shopping at the ladies market on/from your way to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
6 Thank IMpenilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Went there a few days ago. The nearest station is Yau Ma Tei. I'd say the walk from hotel to the station is around 15 minutes. The way to the entrance is an uphill but manageable. The landmark is the gasoline station in the corner of waterloo and another road.

The room is very clean and simple. They have very good room service. There's wifi at the lobby but there's none in the rooms. But anyway, it doesn't matter so much since I just went there to sleep after a long day of tour.

I stayed for 3 nights and they charged me 2,100 HKD plus 200 HKD deposit which they will return when you check out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allegrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went to Hong Kong with a mission to visit Victoria Peak, Disneyland, Ngong Ping and Ocean Park. I chose Anne Black as it was known to be close to MTR (Yau Ma Tei station). The price is reasonable for a stay in HONG KONG, and i was very fortunate to get a very clean room. Since i didnt stay in my room that much, it was fine with me. Their service is satisfactory too.. But i think i'll stay somewhere else in future..

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to get a room with bathroom or else you'll need to share the toilet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearl_lynely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed at the Anne Black as a budget single traveller for one week. The hotel is located within a ten minute walk of Yau Ma Tei MTR. The single room had a bed, old style box TV with mainly chinese channels (i.e no ESPN sport !), aircon and small bathroom.

The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant (athough slightly pricier than the local canteen style restaurants on Waterloo Road) gave a decent meal at a relatively cheap price (I paid HK$450 a night for the room with no breakfast).

A good deal of younger travellers but little noise or commotion after 11pm.

If you are simply looking for a place to rest at the end of the day and otherwise explore HK this place is a very good location and excellent value.

Room Tip: Higher the better - also note the public library with free internet access is almost next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#311 of 718 in Hong Kong
270 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#190 of 718 in Hong Kong
436 reviews
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#158 of 718 in Hong Kong
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#169 of 718 in Hong Kong
641 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#153 of 718 in Hong Kong
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)

Property: Anne Black Guest House (YWCA)
Address: No.5 Man Fuk Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Black Guest House (Ywca) Hotel Hong Kong
Guest House Hongkong
Anne Black Hotel Ywca
Anne Black Guest House (YWCA) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing