We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
Ranked #72 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I would recommend this hotel to friends. Very nice concept i.e., clean lines and modern design, the interiors were aesthetically pleasing plus the staff was wearing jeans, sweatshirts and chucks which gave guests a relaxed comfortable feel. You get your money's worth as the room is bigger than your usual for hong kong at a fraction of the cost normally paid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear ‘Ana T’
Glad that you loved our concept and style! Thanks for taking your time to write and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best regards,

Andy So,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed there with a tour of HIS, for four nights.

It was really new and stylish looking hotel outside and inside.
Their facilities are very nice, such as game place with old fashion table games, pool, and wii place! Which is fun when you are bored in hotel.
I heard their food is good, but I didn't use the restraint at all, which was sad.

The room was neat, but everything was very tiny! Shower room, bed, closet, everything! I could barely open my luggage in the room otherwise it shuts the aisle. So if you know you need big bed to sleep, I font recommend you.

It's located to be a bit far from TST station, it's not a walking distance so you better take taxi. It casts you 70 HKD ish for one way. I once had a bad taxi driver asks you to pay like 400HKD! So now you know the price, don't pay more than that!

There is not much thing to do for tourists around the hotel. You probably need to take taxi to go explore the area.

If you are small like me, or prefer new and clean hotel, you can choose this one. But there might be better choices closer to the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is really unique anda cozy hotel.. Feels like in japan, the scenery is quite good. The bathroom is black and white theme. There is pizzabar but i haven't tried it yet because it is closed at 9 PM. From outside doesn't looking good..but it is very comfort

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Novita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear ‘Novita K’
Thanks a million for your feedback about how well you enjoyed your visit to us. Glad to hear that you loved our uniqueness & design.
Please come back soon!

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for 3N/4D. Had an excellent stay. Food, staff, service everything is great.

The hotel is on the far end of the city but it is not at all a problem as their is a free shuttle for pick and drop to the city center Tsim Sha Tsui.

Food was excellent. Limited options for vegetarians.

MTR station is at 5 minutes walking distance.

Overall great value for money!

Room Tip: Request for a room on "Hollywood Plaza" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nidhi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear ‘Nidhi G’
Thanks for such a terrific review! We love to hear how we are doing & our team are thrilled to read your awesome review.
Hope to see you soon on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had light meals at night in the hotel restaurant, which was a bit expensive compared to ones in city, but nicely served and tasted mostly good. Although there was a small shopping street nearby the hotel, it was dark around the hotel and we did not go out.
Staff members were mostly young and brisk. However to my disappointment, some looked apparently impatient to my inefficient questions. Lobby member was frequently replaced, but work transfer might not be going well, and my request was suspended for a while. The overall reception quality did not correspond to the rank (four star?) of this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dykhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is the second time we are staying in this hotel. Its clean and the staff are relatively efficient. However I do not understand why they need a deposit of HK$4000 when the rooms are prepaid and the mini bar/fridge is empty. I accidentally broke a mug and was charged HK$120 for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syr2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear ‘syr2211’
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us & letting us know your concerns.
We have taken your comments on board and we appreciate your input.

I would re-assure you that the pre-authorisation for incidentals was just a temporary hold to give you the convenience of signing privileges during your four nights’ stay for two rooms, a typical step for most Hong Kong hotels.

I am delighted to see that you choose to stay with us for a second time and that you enjoyed your stay overall. I hope that we can have the pleasure of your company again in the future, please feel free to contact myself direct to personalise your next visit to Hong Kong.
Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sent email to hotel twice asking about airport shuttle. NO ANSWER.
Upon checking in they wanted to charge 2600HK on my Visa for MISC., even though I paid all in advance.NO THANKS, I refused.
Breakfast buffet was a joke. I asked their omelet bar for a ham and cheese omelet. Sorry no ham and no cheese. Only half cooked bacon. I survived on potato patties for breakfast for 5 days. Lost 8 pounds however!
Do you want to eat their BOILED (not grilled) breakfast sausage? First bite was already too much to take. Lobby and restaurant was VERY noisy with patrons screaming at each other. Unbelievable behavior. Not hotel's fault. Room was the smallest I have EVER stayed in, but Clean. Often housekeeping forgot the, necessary, bottled water. Front lobby opens to an industrial, dirty alley. Hotel shuttle was handy, free and on time. Highly advertised swimming pool was "out of service". I heard Nikko hotel is OK and much better location.

Room Tip: Plenty of hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui (forgive my spelling). More central location. PentaHotel was REMOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear ‘Bruce J’
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at pentahotel Hong Kong Kowloon. I regret to see that we did not live up to your expectations though I believe my team had extended their assistance in catering to your needs during your stay and had explained to you that the email address you requested the car transfer to was regrettably incorrect. Our mission is to offer the best services to our guests and we will take all your comments on board. Appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#70 of 729 in Hong Kong
465 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,905 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 729 in Hong Kong
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#104 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,015 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Address: 19 Luk Hop Street, San Po Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £59 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, the first international brand hotel situated in the famous Kai Tak area of the fast-emerging Kowloon East, offers modern technology features and uncomplicated services for stylish, independent-minded travellers and digital nomads. You can experience pentastyle throughout the hotel - the contemporary rustic decor seamlessly blends with whimsical local cultural references. The 695 practical guestrooms at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon mix fun with functionality, comfort with creativity, and style with simplicity. Ranging from 22 to 44 square metres, our comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night's pentasleep. Room amenities include free WiFi, a smartphone docking station, an LED TV with selected Cable TV channels, an electronic safe, individually controlled air-conditioning as well as coffee and tea making facilities. Be prepared to be surprised by our pentalounge - a single venue combining lobby, reception area, bar and cafe together. It's a lively place with 230 seats which offers favourite local Hong Kong dishes and a variety of comfort foods and all-day drinks. Please be advised that our outdoor pool area is closed from November 1st, 2016 until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Penta Hotels Germany GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing