We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
Ranked #71 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at the Pentahotel Hong Kong for one night on business and everything was wonderful. They had a great buffet breakfast with a little of everything from eggs to waffles to dim sum. My room had the most amazing view and the entire stay was flawless. The service was amazing and I was walked to the front door of my hotel room. It's a bit out of the way and I think was a 25 minute cab ride of the harbor. Overall, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was already familiar with the "Penta concept", since I had been to their Shanghai branch. But WOW, what a nice surprise still to discover the Penta Kowloon: a totally new, edgy concept of hotel. Say goodbye to the usual dusty carpeting and ostentatious lobby. Instead, the common spaces feel like your favorite Pub: dark colours, dim lights, wooden floor, chunky Club armchair and funky decoration items such as a pool table, a baby-foot... Electro-rock music at the background. Its playful, dynamic and SOOOO refreshing! The restaurant space is split in a noodle station, with awesome selection of homemade Hong Kong noodles, a wok station and also more western fares like burgers / pastas etc... There is also a Pizza Restaurant at the ground floor. Breakfast was surprisingly diversified and tasty, and the best part? It was included in the rate! As for the rooms, they were extremely comfortable and well-designed: I have thoroughly enjoyed the sleep quality thanks to the mattress and quilt quality. There was a large glass window with lounging space: perfect for reading a book while enjoying the views of Kowloon. The overall design of the place was very modern, in dark grey shades, with funky Chinese touches. WIFI connection was excellent AND free, which nowadays should be seen in ALL hotels. The rate was totally affordable for an expensive city like Hong Kong: I got a deal at around 120 USD (breakfast and all taxes included!!) on booking.com. Service was fast, professional and efficient, while very casual (staff wears sneakers and jeans, unlike elsewhere in the hotel industry!)
The only small down side of the hotel is that it's quite in the middle of nowhere, remotely located in Kowloon city. You can't do much by foot from there. Luckily, the hotel is quite close (10 mn walk) from the Diamond Hill MTR station, from which you can go directly to Mongkok. But it will take you a good 40-45 mn to get to Hong Kong island. If you arrive from Airport, the best option is to get the fast train to Kowloon station, then hop in a cab for 20-30 mn (approx. 80 HKD). Last point, if like me, you arrive late in the evening, there are only 2 options for meals: either you buy some instant noodles from the hotel (there is a vending-machine), or there is a 7/11 (3mn walk) down the street. I know a 7/11 diner doesn't sound very exciting, but you will find noodles, crackers, chocolates, dried fish and beer. We can all survive on beer and Doritos ;-)
To conclude, I am in love with the Penta concept...totally! It is exactly what many of us expected from the hotel industry: to step a bit out of the traditional concepts and offer something new, fun and affordable, while never compromising on quality. Hats down Penta!

Room Tip: Even the most basic room was awesome. You don't need to go for any superior room category!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acidinmyfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ‘Acidinmyfridge’

Thanks for your terrific review! Love to see that you had such a wonderful time with us. Please come back soon.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Was at this hotel for 3 nights and my review as follows:

1) Location - located nearby Diamond Hill MTR Station (there is a signage as to which exit to the hotel) around 5-10 minutes walk. Just beside the hotel, there is a chinese restaurant. Also 7-11 is around 3-5 minutes walk. Hotel building is the tallest and nicest building in that area so it is easy to spot it from far. Hotel provides free shuttle to MTR Station (every 30 minutes) and Tsum Sha Tsui K11 Mall (every hour). Overall, the location is not central but it is quiet, peaceful, basic shops and shopping centres are nearby the hotel and it is convenient to get around everywhere. So in my opinion, the location of the hotel is ok.

2) Hotel Building and Check In - yes, the hotel building and deco does look like a good 4 star hotel. Hotel deco is very nice, rustic and sophiscitaed yet minimalist. There is something very unique and beautiful about the hotel overall. Check in was fast. Hotel staffs are very friendly and informative and they can speak good english.

3) Pentaroom: Room size is not too big nor was it too small. For HK Standard, i think the room size can be labelled as good. The design of the room is very smart, there are compartment everywhere to put things, so at the end of the day, the room doesnt feel cramped. Bathroom size is ok, and the shower space is actually quite big with great rainshower. Overall, the room is impressive, modern, rustic and worth the price paid.

4) Wifi: easy to use and strong signal in our room as well as within the hotel area

5) Swimming Pool: it is an outdoor swimming pool. Very good size swimming pool in HK i would say. It is open 7am to 7pm but i wish the management could review this and allow swimming up to 9pm.

6) Gym: 24 hours which is excellent. No complains.

7) Buffet Breakfast: To be honest, the hotel restaurant is very classy and spacious. Breakfast selection is good. Plenty of varieties and there's hot steaming dim sum too. Overall, i enjoyed the breakfast. Maybe for improvement, the hotel may wanna offer fresh fruit juices instead of the chilled fruit juices. Also, to add another type of noodle soup selection to the current selection for varities.

Overall, I am happy with my stay at this hotel. Yes, it is not centrally located but since everything is so convenient, i dont mind staying here again for my next visit to HK.

For overseas traveller visiting this hotel:
Taxi using meter from airport to the hotel is around HKD250-300 per taxi
There is an express coach from airport direct to the hotel at HKD140 per pax
If you decided to save some money and use the airport transfer service, just buy ticket from airport to Tsing Yi Station. At Tsing Yi station, take to Lai King Station. At Lai King Station, take to Prince Edward Station and at Prince Edward Station, take to Diamond Hill Station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ‘RGau’

Glad to hear that you will come back again in the future. Your review is what our team love to see. Thanks for taking your time to write.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay in penta..Reason for my recommendation is
1.very good breakfast.
2.Well Maintained
3.Clean Rooms.
4.Excellent Service

The area is little remote and there is no subway nearby. As we were in a group tour including the site seeing we were not bothered about that.

Highly Recommend this place. Worth the money

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the hill side. Avoid the front facing rooms coz massive construction is goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJISHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ‘AJISHA’

I’m glad you enjoyed our great food and living environment. In case you were not aware, our nearest MTR subway station is just approximate 8-minute walking distance away (Diamond Hill), and we’d love to show you the way on your next visit!

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We are just about to end our 2nd journey at Pentahotel and we thought it would be useful to share our experience. They are part of the new generation of hotels and it is much appreciated. The warm welcome of the staff at reception make you feel like home. The restaurant at reception level is just great. Clean, helpful staff, good selection of food and à la carte is just the way you want it. The pizza bar is a little counter and they are made in a wood oven so the taste is fresh.The MTR is very close. The area is an old industrial district which gives the SoHo feel and so very trendy. Penta is the 1st in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are to visit Hong Kong. Ratio price/quality is the best! France and Nathalie (H!P Collections INC)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ‘Nat N’

Great to see you coming back! Sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us. Thanks for your comments.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is my first time at pentahotel was in April. We have felt ourselves from the beginning to the end very welcome. penta hotel is a beautiful design hotel with great attention to detail. Our room, with a view of Plaza hollywood, small room with a king bed and nice pillows. The bathroom with a rain shower was nicely designed. Free wifi but not fast. Hotel is not far away from the MTR but many factory . Who does not want to walk can take the free shuttle from the hotel driving to TST in Kowloon. The hotel has only two restaurants, the eaststreet and pizza bar.But there is no hotel bar.If u want to have a drink you need to take taxi to somewhere....not good. Restaurant The Market is an extensive hot and cold breakfast buffet .The hotel has a nice pool but.....they said is not yet open...I have a little bit disappointed! What this hotel for us was mostly very special is the staff. Specially thank you to front desk staff Isaih Chang, What a great service and professional! He is alway keep smile to every guest and give us a amazing trip in HK!SUPER! While we appreciate every staff person we particularly enjoyed using the service and advice from him! We are confident that penta in the foreseeable future the number 1 on the list of hotels in HongKong is.We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyNHSo, General Manager at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear ‘jacob s’

This is the type of review we love to see! Your compliment to Isaiah is encouraging. All of us including him will keep it up. Thanks for making our day.

Best regards,

Andy So
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had map on iPad to show airport cab driver and thankfully he knew it and said new hotel. This older industrial area in Kowloon area was quiet. Up escalators to very modern chic check-in desk / lobby that uses iPads to sign in as guest etc. This new hotel has a hip young look going for it. There were 3 of us so we had an extra bed for our teen in the room making it a bit snug but we enjoyed our modern surrounds. Only issue we found was having a long shower created a bit of a plumbing issue, with lots of water going out onto main bathroom floor. It was ok, we had an extra towel to soak it up. We went walking around local area and found some obscure department stores and the odd chain fast food place. We had a comfortable stay. The hotel seemed to be very popular with bus loads of tourists coming & going. And yes, we enjoyed our stay and will stay again. We did not try any meals at the hotel. We feel that because we know HK well enough we are confident going around on our own and with taxi drivers too. Thanks pentahotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#68 of 730 in Hong Kong
464 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,862 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#88 of 730 in Hong Kong
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
997 reviews
Ovolo Southside
#32 of 730 in Hong Kong
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Address: 19 Luk Hop Street, San Po Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £60 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon, the first international brand hotel situated in the famous Kai Tak area of the fast-emerging Kowloon East, offers modern technology features and uncomplicated services for stylish, independent-minded travellers and digital nomads. You can experience pentastyle throughout the hotel - the contemporary rustic decor seamlessly blends with whimsical local cultural references. The 695 practical guestrooms at pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon mix fun with functionality, comfort with creativity, and style with simplicity. Ranging from 22 to 44 square metres, our comfortable guestrooms ensure a sound night's pentasleep. Room amenities include free WiFi, a smartphone docking station, an LED TV with selected Cable TV channels, an electronic safe, individually controlled air-conditioning as well as coffee and tea making facilities. Be prepared to be surprised by our pentalounge - a single venue combining lobby, reception area, bar and cafe together. It's a lively place with 230 seats which offers favourite local Hong Kong dishes and a variety of comfort foods and all-day drinks. Please be advised that our outdoor pool area is closed from November 1st, 2016 until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Penta Hotels Germany GmbH, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing