We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #111 of 724 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Nice hotel. Not the best location in Hong Kong but the shuttle service is very good. Service was worm and helpful. Had joyful experience in t he overall

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 3,203 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

gorgeous , clean safe place to stay . couldn't fault the staff and with a free shuttle bus to time square very handy for the first few days .i didn't eat here but load of opinions around the neighborhood ... recommended to get your rooms early as prices go up closer to the date .....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin_IrelandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

From the minute I walked in I was greeted by all.friendly staff. Rooms were clean.when i needed info of the city. Bellboy went out of his way and walked me across the street to Morrison avenue by subway because he new little English.will come here again

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mauiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Arrived relatively early in the day and was given a room (after a two hour wait) which was not the original room allocated. Because we were exhausted after our flight from Frankfurt we were in no mood to complain about this room's inadequacies. Clearly the room had been designed for one occupant so our double bed was flush against a side wall with only a narrow space on the other side. There was a space for only one port so we had to store the other in the bath room. The windows were bolted closed and were covered with frosting so an outside view was impossible. It was like a cell. But at least the air-con worked.

Later that night I complained to management and to their credit upgraded us for the second night to a very spacious room with a view as well as two queen sized beds. It was a nice gesture but in many ways the damage was done.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Usual check-in time is 2pm daily according to hotel policy. However, we understand how tired it will be after a long haul flight so we always try our best to have rooms ready for guests at our earliest possible time to minimize guest’s waiting time. Our 454 rooms are sectioned into 7 different categories hoping to please traveler’s carrying with them different needs. Room sizes vary from 22-48 square meters with different bedding choices and most of the rooms overlook the city skyline or race course greenery or both! The frosted window is a matter of design aiming to elevate the privacy inside the room, but still rooms with clear window are available. Should guests have any enquiry at the time of booking, our reservation staff will be more than delighted to introduce/recommend the most appropriate room type for selection. In case a room change is desired after check-in, guests can also approach our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager who is always ready to assist. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is not so new but that's not the biggest issue.

They still use the old coupon system for breakfast and made my colleague wait outside the restaurant because we forgot to bring our coupons. Most hotels stopped using coupons system and even if they do, they will allow you to have your breakfast and provide them later. What is the big deal? As if we will lie, and if we do, we will pay for it anyway!

The hotel is chaotic and no one answers the phone past midnight and it took the taxi driver a while to find as no one there bothers to pick up the call. there is no midnight room service so you better make sure you have a full dinner, cos the hotel doesn't have an in-house kitchen...

All and all - I won't go back. It's a horrible experience for me and everything takes so long.

The only complement i have is the bell service, they are the one who really works and being customer oriented.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reginagoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Cosmopolitan Hotel opened in 2004 and has been awarded for 3 consecutive years as one of the most comfortable hotels in Hong Kong by the renowned Michelin Guide. We trust that some miscommunications might have occurred at this point of breakfast seating and we apologize for the inconvenience that have caused. The issue of breakfast coupons is in fact to secure the holder’s privileges yet we value your comments on this.

Our operators are on duty 24 hours answering guest’s enquiry yet we thank you for your comments and we’ll pay more attention to our operator service. Our room service runs from 6:30am to 1:00 after midnight serving a variety of food and beverage and if you need any assistance on food or any other things, please feel free to contact Guest Services Manager who will be delighted to assist. Our hotel has taxi card and location map to provide guests for direction. Those can be obtained at Concierge or Reception.

We are pleased to hear that you are happy with our bell service and their customer orientation. We truly hope to be of service to you again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I had so many changes with my reservation rooms with them but they are so kind enough to respond on every question I asked and they also offered us offers though we cancelled it. But we rebooked again through online and we had a smooth transaction. We stayed there for 4 nights and 4 days. Nice hotel, nice staffs.. good location, near causeway bay (which we enjoyed so much, every night we were there). Nice rooms and we had a nice view of the city (night and day).

An affordable 4 star hotel! Recommended! .^^.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe or more expensive room through online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misaraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Found it very difficult to find a suitable hotel to stay with 2 children (6 & 8) in Hong Kong but this fitted the bill as we had a room with 2 double beds. The room is small and lacking in wardrobe space but we were all in one room so I was happy to compromise! The breakfast was great and a good start to the day. All the staff were helpful and spoke good English. Public transport in Hong Kong is very good, and this hotel is 15 mintues walk from the Metro so very easy to get to the rest of the north of Hong Kong Island and over to Kowlook. Hotel also provides shuttle service to the Central district which is really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolinehelenroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 724 in Hong Kong
3,726 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 724 in Hong Kong
1,422 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 724 in Hong Kong
1,469 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 724 in Hong Kong
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £65 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing