We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Value driven property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location & Value driven property!”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The service, staff courtesy was excellent. There should be however a few more European and western cuisine on the ala carte menu. The breakfast buffet spread could be varied everyday as it does become mundane when one stays for 7 days !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esgeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thank you for the comments. Although the hotel restaurant celebrates Sichuan and Huai-yang cuisines, we do acknowledge the demand of western food, therefore, sandwich, burger and different types of spechetti are included in the menu. We however value your kind comments and will evaluate on our next dining programme meeting. Regarding hotel breakfast buffet serves, that as a number of items including international and Chinese hot dish and cold cuts wishing to appease appetite from around the world. in proximity we have a wide selection of restaurants and eateries featuring international cuisines as well as local tastes in only 5-min walk. Times Square, which is an 8-min walk from us, houses an abundance of restaurant choices and a food court too. Our hotel provides free shuttle service to Times Square/Causeway Bay subway station to help save time and cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    1,410
    580
    162
    72
See reviews for
906
733
251
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We celebrated our wedding in HK and booked 5 rooms in the Cosmopolitan hotel. Everyone enjoyed the stay. The hotel shuttle bus is convenient, but for an even better experience of HK try the tram, which just stops across the street every few minutes. The hotel is within walking distance to a 7/11 and Times Square. It's also very easy to catch the bus to Stanley and Aberdeen since the bus stop is less than 100m from the hotel.
We had 4 Deluxe rooms and one family room. The rooms may appear a little small, but are fine. The Hotel stuff, especially house keeping is very friendly.
Breakfast buffet appeared a little scarce to us for a lack of whole grain choices, cheese, etc, but we could just add from the supermarket what was missing for our taste.
The only minus we experienced was inflexibility in handling a check-in glitch, which left two of our guests, arriving the next day, waiting several hours in the lobby until we were back from the marriage office to check them in. At least the lobby is comfortable and this didn't leave any bad feelings.
At our wedding day we were able to rent the hotel bus for a decent charge, and enjoyed a very nice wedding on the Aqua Luna.
All in all it was a great experience and we can fully recommend the Cosmopolitan hotel. We may well stay there again.

Room Tip: get at least a Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyNoNamesLeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The only negative I initially could say about this hotel was that my room wasn't ready when I tried to check in around 2 P.M., and I thought the shuttle might be a headache. But, the shuttle to Times Square ran frequently and was easy to use. My rooms overlooked a Chinese cemetery from the 23rd floor, which was unique. The room was very comfortable and cozy with a great bed. The last time I stayed in Hong Kong, I stayed on Mathan Road at the Novotel. While that may be a more central location, I can't fault the Cosmopolitan in any way. For the price, it was a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Cosmopolitan in HK! Rooms were well kept, bathroom was very nice, breakfast was good, staff was very helpful! Would come back for sure...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfegeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The room is clean, at least 5 types of pillow to suit your comfy, bell boys and cleaners are friendly, good location with free shuttle bus service. What else can you expect from a hotel which offers this kind of rate?! Highly recommended for family travel with children and elderly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linlin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This was our first time to Hong Kong, we didn't know much about the city.The staff was very friendly and helpful, don't forget funny. We made good friends and they helped us along as we explored the city.We were sad to leave and had a great time.I recommened this hotel for a fun,edgucational, and amazing stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty big for Hong Kong so any roo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shishi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our flight arrived by night, so as we didn't know the city yet, we've decided to book a transfer in a van for 6 persons as we had many suitcases. The comunication was really great, and when we arrived, the staff was very nice to us. The rooms are small, but completely sufficient for Hong Kong standards, and the bathrooms were really nice ! The amenities given were really nice. There was also an iPod dock station. We didn't try the restaurant of the hotel as there were many restaurants around as McDonald's, Burger King, or typical chinese restaurants at less than 10 minutes walk. There are free shuttles to Times Square or other places in Wan Chai, which was really convenient if you didn't want to walk. The lady at the Tour Desk was also really nice, and we booked the Deluxe Hong Kong Island Tour which brings you to the Peak, the Aberdeen Fishing Village etc... There is complimentary Wi-Fi in the hall of the hotel, in-room Wi-Fi would have been better.

Unfortunately we had a view on the cimetery, but it didn't bother us too much.

Overall, I would completely recommand this hotel as it's cheap for Hong Kong area !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AndreGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,649 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#142 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,411 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing