We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and neat, cool view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and neat, cool view.”
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We got a good deal on this hotel online and stayed there for 5 days.
The staff were "well behaved", the room was a bit small for a de luxe room, but the view out towards the city and the racecourse was brilliant.
The service was above standard.
A bit dissapointed in the lack of internet options, but free wireless in the lobby was allright.
Would stay again, but not at full price.

  • Liked — The view and the comfy bed.
  • Disliked — The de luxe room was a bit small.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Berstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    1,374
    565
    156
    67
See reviews for
867
714
240
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Nice hotel, clean and tidy rooms, and the location is good too, near times square and happy valley.

we booked a superior double for a week mainly because we wanted a room with more floor space than the standard. We were put in a very small corner room, which most definately was not the sq.ft we had paid for.

Be aware of this.

Apart from that, the hotel is good for the price.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_Lombard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

Cosmopolitan Hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever lived in Hong Kong. Ideal location in Wan Chai because Happy Valley is just on the opposite side of the street. The Hotel sitting next to the former "Xin Hua News Agent Building" . The receptionists are very friendly and efficient when help people to arrange check-in; Room Attendant Ah Yee are polite, very thoughtful and can manage room so well even make you feel that you are living at home!

The free charge shuttle bus services the Hotel offers saves many of my time in downtown transfer. It has ideal stops/destinations at many shopping landmarks as well as at commercial centers. It takes people to Causeway Bay, Central even Hong Kong Airport Express Way Station at IFC. Most of stops are only less than 5 mins driving hence very convenient.

Anyway in short, the Hotel is excellent. It is with almost all things and services a traveler expects. It left me a very good impression to Hong Kong and it has proved to offering me warm hospitality, professionalism and added pleasure to my short stay. I very look forward to travelling to Hong Kong again (I believe definitely I will) and will sure to pick up Cosmopolitan Hotel to live next time.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank YoyoJing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

As a single traveller on budget but going to Hong Kong for a short conference on my own, this hotel is value for money. Perhaps for a single traveller, the room I was given, was a room for the disabled. Hence the room size was much bigger (think of wheelchairs rolling around). So the bathroon is big enough for a wheel chair to be in it.

Likes: compl. english newspaper, friendly and attentive staff, internet access at lobby, free shuttle bus to shopping and main areas (especially Admiralty and HKCEC), good breakfast buffet range with city view, near MTR and Times Square and wan chai late nite shopping area (8mins walk). Shuttle bus picks up hotel guests from Hong Kong station which is good for Airport express travellers. Lifts are adequate (there are 3) though not very big. The room is clean with a mini fridge which is useful for keeping food I bought. There's hairdryer. For longer stay, the hotel website offers discounts for min. stay nites, which is the promotion I took on. Otherwise, this hotel is quite expensive without the promotional rate.

Dislikes: it's next to a cementery which I didn't mind as long as I don't see it from my window (I got it frosted). cable TV channels could include MTV or channel V as it's mostly business channels like BBC, CNN which can be so boring. There's an underground subway which you need to use it if you want to walk to MTR. It can be rather too quiet for a single female traveller especially late at night after doing the late night shopping and bcoz the shuttle bus ends at 9.15pm last timing. There's a homeless man sleeping there for nites.

I took the buffet breakfast on alternative days. Hong Kong is famous for food and food is available very early in the morning so it's such a waste to have the same buffet breakfast every morning. I'm glad my hotel stay didn't include daily breakfast.

Overall, a good hotel for a budget biz trip

  • Liked — Prompt service
  • Disliked — Location next to cementery
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Just got back from the Cosmopolitan and would recommend anyone staying here. We had booked for 7 nights excluding 1 night in Maccau so were able to experience the hotel to its fullest. Wi-Fi in the lobby was free or you could use the 2 pc's connected to the internet for a fee.

I'd read that a lot of rooms in Hong Kong are small but here ours was fine. We stayed as a group and all 4 rooms were of a decent size and clean. We all had rooms which backed onto a cemetary so the windows were covered but still allowed enough light to come into the room. Only problem with this is you cant see what the weather is like.

The location is good, about a 15/20 minute walk to Times Square where you can catch a train to any of the major sites you want to see. The Hotel bar is ok and about 5 minutes away is a couple of local bars one with Karaoke and the other and English bar.

Staff were helpful organising transfers to the airport and giving advice on how to get to attractions. Taxis are cheap and plentiful in Hong Kong and easy to get from the hotel.

Overall good experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — shower leaked
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

After reading varying reviews there is always a little concern that you have booked the "right" hotel.

The Cosmopolitan lived up to all the good reviews with good size rooms, spotlessly presented and cleaned aech day on request.

The buffet breakfast was enjoyable for each of the five days of our stay (a couple of items could have been replenished a little sooner on the odd day) and staff were generally prompt and attentive. We had an occassional problem with language, a couple of counter staff not strong with English, but generally this was overcome quickly.

The hotel has a tram stop outside the door and we had no problems getting taxis when necessary. Happy Valley racecourse is across the road, Times Square is a short walk away and we were also able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle buses to various HK areas.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would have no hesitation recommending the Cosmopolitan to our family and friends.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyHappyHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

myself and my partner stayed at this hotel for a week, and when we booked the hotel through expedia we didnt know where the location of it was as we hadnt been to hong kong before, when we arrived the hotel was excellant only been built since 2004, the lobby was full of mable and the doormen were really attentive, we choose a deluxe room and the standard was high, the hotel was right across the road from the happy valley race course, taxis are cheap in hong kong so getting around was easy and the place felt safe, i would definately recommend this hotel

  • Liked — standards of cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nurse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,473 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#136 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,370 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,619 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,085 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#66 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing