We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 - place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #111 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family of 4 - place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel that has the standard provision. Clean and tidy. Has 2 queen beds.Location is a bit off but hotel provides shuttle to major shopping centre.Price was not too steep as I remembered - was back in 2009. Did not have much difficulties getting around on our own.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehairmonstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    1,406
    577
    161
    70
See reviews for
903
730
248
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed between 25-29th July 2013.

Initially booked 1 room for 3 people but the room was very tiny so we paid extra and upgraded to the osim suite on a higher floor. They brought in a roll in single bed for the 3rd person and this was situated behind the couch.

The room itself was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The only real issue i had was with the bathroom. Great that there were 2 showers however the shower closest to the toilet constantly smelt like urine (on the very first day). I'm not sure if it is due to the toilet not being cleaned properly or from what looked like a drainage sewage pipe in between the toilet and shower. I ignored it and waited the next day to see what it was like. I just assumed it was from the drain so ceased using the extra shower. WOuld have preferred the second shower to be outside of the bedroom for our 3rd guest to easily access.

It was a great chance to try out the osim (deluxe massage chair) and also their massage saddle (this was interesting to watch.., not sure what it is supposed to massage??).

The cosmo is supposed to be very close to the wan chai mtr but i found all the other ones around except for the actual wan chai mtr!

There is a free shuttle bus to take you around the area.. just as you leave the hotel on your right is a cemetery.......... which i was no aware of.. I'm happy that my view was not of the cemetery though!!! Kind of scary at night i would think.

Coming from Hennessy Road towards the hotel, we stumbled upon a brilliant tapas/bar tucked in the corner. http://hk.dining.asiatatler.com/restaurants/catalunya-hong-kong
Catalunya served the best cocktails and food. For 3 of us, we had 5 cocktails, 4 beers, 2 spirits and 3 tapas dishes which came to under $1000HKD which is about $120 Aus !! I was stoked. THe atmosphere was perfect, dimmed lights and great chilled out music. Decor was perfect to my preference too.

There is also a shop called Alice Fashion in Central on 63 Wellington st that i recommend. After mexican dining on the same street (delicious!) i stumbled upon this boutique.. open til 10pm!! WOOHOO. Being kind of tipsy a beautiful friendly lady selected dresses for me to try on. I bought 3 for about $400aud. I loved that shop and angela (the assistant) so much that I had to come back before i left.. and the bf gifted $600aud on 8 items. 2 blouses, 2 coats, 3 dresses. Perfectly sexy yet very classic and demure. The bulk of my shopping was here and not the markets actually!

What i disliked most was that in our original room, despite having "Free wifi" there was a service charge of 12HKD per day per device. To be honest in aud it's not that much but the principle is "Free wifi..." so once we got upgraded that was waived. It's odd that everyone was just sitting around the lobby (already not being that big) as you walk through, but i was aware they were just using free wifi with no extra charges.

Also once we upgraded we of course paid the difference. Friend "A" used his c/card and we assumed that was it. Friend A left before us and when we checked out they asked us to sign off for friend "A's" payment as they were "holding the transaction and hadn't yet processed". It was a huge hassle and in the end we paid and our friend had to wait for 2 weeks to be reimbursed as on his side as the transaction had already gone through according to Australian bank's internet transaction record. So i'm not sure what they were trying to do as they reassured us it hadn't gone through....

The complimentary breakfast was annoying. They gave vouchers but with 3 people for a few days that was a lot of vouchers and it was easily misplaced (we did find in the end). You could not just quote your room number which was annoying. The breakfast was not that flash. The bacon was very mediocre. At least the tropical fruit variety made up for it. Even the scrambled eggs weren't all that pleasant.

The friendliest staff was Hugo Chou. He was great help and English was very good. Benjamin Shum was another friendly face.

I have now stayed at both the Cosmo and Cosmopolitan in Hong Kong (different locations) and unfortunately will most likely not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Thu C,

Thank you for your time in sharing with us your recent staying experience. First of all, we have checked the mentioned room condition and believe you are talking about the occasional damp smell from the shower cubicle curtain. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and the Housekeeping staff has already been reminded not to overlook any details when cleaning up the rooms in the future. At the same time, our guest rooms are undergoing a complete makeover now and we do hope the new face will impress you on your next visit.

In regards to the subway station, actually both Wan Chai and Causeway Bay subway stations are within 10 minutes walk from our hotel. Our Concierge is always happy to suggest you the shortest route towards your destinations, and we hope you could take advantage of this service next time. On the other hand, we are happy to know that the view of the city’s skyline and racecourse in our signature OSIM suite was to your liking. We also believe you had a great time exploring the various restaurants and boutiques in our neighbourhood.

For the free Wi-Fi issue, the service charge was imposed by the internet service provider instead of the hotel, and we would like to seek for your kind understanding on this. Your comments on the breakfast vouchers and food quality are also well noted. We will consider your suggestions and further review in the management meeting for future improvement.

Lastly, we regret for the confusion made to you regarding the upgrade charges. Due to security reason, we will usually require the cardholder’s signature for actual payment during check-out. Therefore payment was arranged directly with you though your friend’s credit card was used to guarantee the payment upon arrival. To further clarify, the amount shown in your friend’s bank record was only hold for guarantee purpose, in which no actual payment transaction was made. That said though, the bank will usually take less than 2-week time to release the said amount and we are sorry for the inconvenience caused. We hope this could ease your concerns and you are welcome to contact us anytime if further explanation is needed.

We hope this single staying experience will not prevent you from staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were on route to Vietnam with our son who had not visited Hong Kong Before , so we wanted to give him a taste of Hong Kong in the short time available. It worked OK for us. Location is not perfect but once you have worked out the route it is for instance an approx. 15 minute walk to the Wan Chai Star Ferry and convenient for night life and bars of Wan Chai itself. No free Wi Fi except in lobby. Perhaps would not recommend as best choice for longer stay unless good value is your main driver or you are planning to go to racing at Happy Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Surrey,

Thank you for your comments. Located amid the busiest district in Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, we hope to bring you a sense of oasis for resting after a long busy day. It’s only a short walk to reach the city centre with an array of bars and restaurants on the way, and we also suggest you to try our free shuttle service towards 15 major destinations next time. Please visit our official website for exclusive offers like free Wi-Fi in guest room, 24-hour check-in/ out service and best rate guarantee etc. when you plan your next visit to Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hong Kong was the second destination after visiting Phuket, Thailand for our honeymoon. We can only praise the Cosmopolitan Hotel. We arrived around 10pm at the hotel and were immediately helped with our luggage whilst still outside. We checked in at the front desk and were greeted by Louis Chan who was the Guest Services Manager. He accompanied us up to the room after upgrading us and showed us the room facilities. On a daily basis he would come and see both of us and ask how our stay was and whether we required any help looking around Hong Kong. On occassion when we did not know where to go he would offer his advice and provide maps for us to get to the destination.
Regarding the hotel, the room was a good size and had all the amenities we required. We had a fantastic view of Causeway Bay including Happy Valley Racecourse from our room. Housekeeping was prompt and very friendly taking their time to come and say hello and ask if we required extra pillows etc. When making our way towards the lift, they would come running to press the button for us which we thought was very nice of them to do. The room and the hotel are very clean and they have their own information desk that helps you with excursions along with a restaurant located on floor 2. The hotel is in close proximity to the MTR and Times Square where there are lots of shops, restaurants and markets. Their is also a bus stop no more than 100 metres from the hotel that takes you to the top of the peak for less than £1. This is perhaps the most scenic route as well.
Overall the hotel and the staff were excellent, we felt that we selected the right hotel for our honeymoon. The customer service we received was second to none which only made our stay in Hong Kong all the better. I would thoroughly recommend anyone wanting to visit Hong Kong to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashminder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel is basic but adequate.
Clean room, overlooking an exceptional cemetery and the race course!
Reception area was always busy as it was useful for free wifi.
Drinks were expensive at the bar.
Staff were friendly and free transport to Wan Chai district was provided, although we discovered its quicker to walk.
This hotel is ok for a couple of nights stay. Don't expect luxuries.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the race course was quiet. Bathroom small but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_williamswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thanks for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our signature rooms with unique racecourse view. Apart from the free Wi-Fi provided in the hotel lobby, we suggest you to book via our official website next time to enjoy free internet in room and also other privileges like best rate guarantee and 24-hour check-in/out service. Also, your comment on the prices of the drinks is well noted. Though it’s set along with the city-wide hotel standard, we will further review to ensure great value is delivered. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This place is fine for its price. It's not luxurious and not in the best location but you could do a lot worse for your dollar.

If you don't smoke insist on a non-smoking floor. We were unlucky on our first night with no adjoining room available (despite requesting months in advance) and being put on a smoking floor (the smell was frankly overpowering). This was fixed after the first night and the place was fine after that.

No restaurants close by but cabs are still pretty cheap over there so not a big worry. Had a couple of good meals in the restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor (without the frosted glass) and definitely request non- smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmosfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that adjoining room was not available on the first day due to full occupancy on that day. While our guests are welcome to request for their preferred room arrangement (non-smoking floor and adjoining room) in advance, the arrangement is subject to availability, and we hope to seek for your understanding towards this matter. We trust our Guest Services Manager had immediately arranged for you a room change on the next day to address your concerns. It’s great to learn that you enjoyed the food in our hotel restaurant. Many localised bistros and restaurants are also within easy reach from our hotel, and we hope you will have time to explore on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed with my family 2 Adults and 3 Kids. The hotel is ideally situated for shopping at Causeway Bay and Time Square. The hotel staff very helpful at all times.
Hoped that other people in Hong Kong would be this good.

I had plenty cash to spend in Hong Kong but because of their taxi drivers and the general public arrogance I chose not to.

Many Hong Kongers were so arrogant and rude. The MTR was a good source of transport as I limited my use with the rude taxi drivers. The MTR patrons are in such a rush and will just about push you over. So to other tourist think twice about visiting Hong Kong as I could not justify the prices of designer goods when China is so close. Hong Kong might have been the place to shop but I don't thinks so anymore. Just look at the Premium Cars in the street. The shop owners buy the goods cheap in China and sell it to us the tourists at extremely high prices.

The shops show 70% off but the price is only a couple of dollars cheaper than Australia. BE WARNED

Room Tip: The Hotel accommodated my request for a room on a higher floor, but there was renovations going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,604 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#94 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#144 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing