We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Such a lovely hotel- we upgraded to a room overlooking the race course. So glad we did!!!
Very nice room- beautifully decorated, very clean and with an amazing view over the racecourse.

Breakfast was average- bit of a limited selection but what was there was very nice.
We had a snack and drinks at the bar- reasonably priced and good service.

Hotel is well located- 5 min walk from Times Square and MTR.
Great hotel- would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights on business in a room with view into the race course. Very comfortable room, powerful AC and shower. ( Very important). Free use of an I phone to find your way around. The hotel was very comfortable, nice staff. An adequate breakfast included in our very reasonable room rate. There are lots of places to eat and drink within 5 minutes walk. No 15 bus to Victoria peak passes 100 yards away just turn left walk uphill past the light.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My third stay in Cosmopolitan is still the best. My whole family really feels comfortable with our stay. With a great room (Osim Room!!!), great service and wonderful staff (they are my family in Hong Kong). I'll be going back here for sure! :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my family in a suite at the Cosmopolitan or 2 nights . It was a pleasant stay . The staff was very helpful . Rooms could be little spacious but I guess hongkong hotels have small rooms in general . Overall it was a very fine experience .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubodhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel is very nice, Clean, Staff are friendly, affordable and great location.
Also offers yummy buffet Breakfast every morning.
They have complimentary shuttle bus to all main attractions.
The only downfall is its next to a cemetry other then that nothing bad to say :)
We really enjoyed our stay and loved shopping at causeway Shopping.

Happy Travels :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jassmine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked this hotel for an 8 night stay for two back-to-back International conventions. The hotel looked centrally located but securing transport to the Convention center was VERY hard. My two biggest complaints are the constant noise of chipping hammers from the floor by floor renovations going on every day 8-5 and the practices of the front desk staff at check-in.

I booked their "grand deluxe" room category which "includes breakfast and internet". I always travel with a trip folder which includes all my relevant documents, maps, confirmations & tickets. When I checked in to the hotel I had a 15, 4 staff person pow-wow where I had to forcefully PROVE that I had pre-paid fpr my breakfast and internet. All the while they were trying to "up-sell" me into the very room category I had already paid for. To add insult to injury after I had "convinced" them that I had pre-paid internet (which I had to do by producing the printed confirmation with printed terms of my room reservation) they actually tacked on a "service-charge to my complimentary internet". I was there for over a week and witnessed, many times, the same ritualistic hassle at the front desk as other poor travelers were subjected to the same treatment at check in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Tom,

Thank you for your comments. First of all, we are sorry to learn about the unpleasant experience you encountered upon arrival. We believe it was only an occasional miscommunications issue while our staff had tried to explain the limited-time room upgrade offer for a more spacious and valuable stay. That said, rest assured that all the front line staff will be reminded to listen to guests’ requests and preferences patiently under any circumstances, so as to avoid similar discomfort made in the future.

On the other hand, while we’ve limited the renovation work from 10am to 6pm only and arranged buffer floors to minimise the disturbance to our guests, please accept our apology for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. We do hope the newly renovated Grand Deluxe Room from the previous phase had given you a comfortable and refreshing stay this time.

Lastly, we regret to know that waiting time of transport towards the Convention Centre was lengthened due to the unforeseen heavy traffic during your stay, which we appreciate your kind understanding on this. Upon you next visit, we would also like to suggest you to try our scheduled free shuttle service for a convenient point-to-point transfer. Tom, we sincerely hope this single staying experience will not prevent you from staying with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights and we were really satisfied with the hotel's service, staff and the amenities.
Their Family Quad Room has 2 queen beds, a great view of Causeway Bay and they even provided kid's toothbrush, slippers, bathrobes- really family-friendly! You can even rent DVD cartoon movies which the kids can definitely enjoy.

And what I enjoyed the most was the the free-to-use smartphone with 3G internet which we can use during our stay. Aside from the fact that we already have free WIFI in our room, we were always connected because of the complimentary smartphone which also acted as the Hotspot for our other devices! :)

Location was great- it was just walking distance to Times Square and they even have a shuttle service with pick up/drop off points for HK's most visited spots.

And since this was not our first time in HK, we were already expecting rude staff at their reception -very typical of HK hotel staff - but we were really impressed with Cosmopolitan's staff because they were very warm and accommodating!
Keep up the good work, guys! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#143 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,428 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,504 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#114 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £75 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing