We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel would recommend”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Wan Chai district of Hong Kong - very close to MTR (underground transit) Causeway Bay station (only 3 stops from Central Hong Kong)

Great shopping and food nearby.

Room was very large and well appointed - our room had a frosted window but this did not bother us. The shower room was a good size with a very powerful hot shower. Toiletries included, large tv and free bottled water in the room. Very large double bed and great air conditioning.

Hotel itself has a great restaurant on the first floor serving a great selection of chinese food and the breakfast is a mixture of chinese and western food.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NI84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    1,398
    575
    158
    68
See reviews for
892
727
247
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Easy to upgrade to a better suite and choice of view or no view (no view is cheaper). Food is good and rooms really nice and clean. Only disappointment was no swimming pool and some noise during renovations. If you need wi-Fi, you need to pay for it or use lobby. Had to pay to use hotel computer to check-in for flights, but it's cheap enough.

Room Tip: Not near service doors or lifts during renovations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraAB159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this Hotel on last week and I travelled with my family. When we arrived Hotel, we was greeted by a Guest Services Manager who was very helpful and knowledgable of guest service as when I process check in at the Front Desk, they have arranged two cups of ice cream for my kids which was very touching and we never expected. Besides we were offered free upgrade to the refurbished Suite room which equipped with two rollaway beds at the living room, the suite room is big enough for my kids to play around.

On the next day, when we returned to our room my kids found two little bears on their beds which was surprised. And my husband like the Free smart phone so much as we can use the Google Map when we were out and we can call back to Australia is Free.

I would like to say thank you to all Front line staff in Cosmopolitan Hotel and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Recently renovated, clean, good breakfast, logical prices, nice spot to see everything in HK. I have visit this hotel more than 5 times and I can say for sure that is a safe choice for business & pleasure trips.

Room Tip: Higher than 14th floor Jockey club side. The view is better. Nice Bar in the 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonidas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights in late June. I’d booked a family room, and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a one-bedroom suite (with two beds in the lounge area). The room is recently renovated and has a spacious, modern feel. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful.
It’s a 10-15 minute walk to Times Square in Causeway Bay, but most of the walk is alongside some very busy and noisy roads. Make full use of the shuttle buses the hotel provides.
It was annoying that the minibar was so full of snacks and drinks that there was no room to put private purchases that need to be kept cool, such as a carton of milk. I realise a lot of people use the minibar contents, but perhaps there should be an option to have the minibar cleared for the duration of their stay for people who do not want to use this facility (especially if travelling with children).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Causeway Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbourne3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Melbourne3136,

Thank you for your comments. It’s great to know that the hotel’s well-appointed facilities and services have given you an enjoyable stay this time. Regarding the mini-bar issue, we do understand travellers’ similar concerns like yours and therefore our housekeeping team will usually help clear the mini-bar for storage upon request. We regret to know that you didn’t have the chance to relay your concern on the spot this time, and hope this single experience won’t prevent you from staying with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back for another promising stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is generally okay.
Just to share my experience, I think maybe the check-in staff is still young and inexperience.

Normal check-in, when it comes to the deposit, we wanted to give cash instead of credit card.
Let me quote her, "that would be 6,000 SGD". (FYI, she is asking for USD 4,800).
We corrected her and she insisted for like 5 min. The story ended with her colleague beside her correcting.

No bath tub - we have a toddler so bathtub was important.

The Good:
There is Wifi in the room.
The view from the room was good
Many timing for the shelter bus

Overall : I will not booked the same hotel again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candyhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Candyhhh,

Thank you for your comments. First of all, please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused to you upon arrival. Rest assured that it was only an occasional case and training will be reinforced to all front line staff to avoid similar incidents from happening. As for the bathtub issue, we do have rooms that come with bathtub to cater for travellers’ needs like yours. We hope you can let us know your preference upon reservation next time, so that we can arrange you a suitable room in advance. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Trying to find rooms in Hong Kong that can fit a family isn't particularly easy so I was happy to find this hotel. The price is good by Hong Kong standards and the staff are very helpful. I couldn't get wifi to work which was mildly annoying but the room did include an Android phone that you could take with you with free phone calls and internet access. The location is very convenient for the football stadium and racecourse and about a 10 minute walk to Times Square and Causeway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinHughesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,581 reviews
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#143 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,395 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,374 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,784 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#102 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing