We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4-star, mid-range hotel that tries hard to outdo itself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A 4-star, mid-range hotel that tries hard to outdo itself”
Reviewed 28 December 2009

I had stayed 4 nights in this hotel and I left it, feeling largely contented after my stay here. Firstly, the complimentary shuttle to and from the airport was nice. The hotel was located near a flyover, with some walking distance to the major attractions in HK. The service was impressive ( kudos to the bellboys and foyer staff especially) and I was made to feel welcomed immediately.

When I first received my room on the 19th floor, we had a room with frosted window so we requested to change one with a view instead. Granted, I did not manage to read any Tripadvisor reviews prior to my stay there and had no idea what was in store. When we looked out of our non-frosted window of our 22nd floor room, lo and behold, we got SOME view. The hotel's posterior was facing a cemetery ( Jewish, Chinese, Muslim, Christian etc) terrace cemetery and the HK peaks instead of the hotel's front view of the Happy Valley Race Course.

We thought it was an irony (and hilarious) to be given such a view when we requested for one and a little heads-up by the staff would be nice. We were not bothered by the view which was beautiful in the day but we drew the curtains at night..

Room was spacious enough for two with all the amenities that had came to be expected ( flat screen TV, safe, minibar, drinks-making facilities etc). The firm bed did not bother me and they have an unique menu of a variety of pillows for you to choose from which I did not mull much over.Did not order from the room service menu either as prices are quite steep.

We booked the hotel from Zuji and breakfast ( exorbitant price for add-ons) was not inclusive of the price we paid hence I could not rave much about it. Contrary to the other reviews written by Tripadvisors, I did not see any complimentary fruit in the room, only bottles of mineral water. You can get free wi-fi access only at the hotel lobby.

Two aspects in which the Hotel shines in would be the free shuttle service to most of the major landmarks ( MTRs,Times square, Airport Express Station, HK Convention Center etc) and the fantastic staff (bellboys, chambermaids, foyer staff, some of the reception, guest manager etc).

Everyone was attentive, friendly, helpful and able to answer all my queries and point out directions to places. I was even waited on in the Hotel's washroom by an attendant! ( I don't see this even in 5-star hotels of the country of my residence). They all deserved a Christmas or year-end bonus or something.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend others to it as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaputnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    1,410
    580
    162
    72
See reviews for
906
733
251
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Goord and clean room. Helpfull staff and good room with pleasant bed. Good shower, with much water and adjustable temperature. Very good and rich breakfast. English, Dutch bread, eggs fresh made by cook at wish, chinese dim sum and beans and fresh fruit.s for very small price. Good massage center next to hotel and fabolous shopping on 5 min walking distance. Complmentary bus to city center and HK central station.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinTAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, Australia.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

This was our first visit to Hong Kong and I think we chose extremely well. The hotel was situated very near to all forms of transport so therefore travel to nearly anywhere was extremely easy. The service was excellent and what we liked more than anything else was the friendliness and willingness to help of all staff. The view was breathtaking and overlooked Happy Valley Racecourse and large sections of Hong Kong skyline. Our stay was extremely enjoyable and we will definitely come again and stay at the Cosmopolitan. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianRaewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

The executive suite has great amenities for anyone on a holiday. Perhaps the amenities tend to overcrowd the room. The service standards are good with very friendly and welcoming housekeeping staff. There were times when the internet connection was lost for some reason and could come back on for some time. It is interesting to note that my taxi driver dropped me off the main road instead of driving into the foyer of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmansmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Right across the HK Jockey Club and the Aberdeen Racetrack.
5 Minutes walk to Time Square Shopping Centre and 10 min from Wan Chai

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Our boys attended an expedition trip organised by CNA Asia - so we extended their departure and joined them in HK! This is our 2nd visit to Cosmopolitan Hotel and we enjoyed our stay throughout. The shuttle service made it convenient for us to make our trips to Disneyland, Ocean Park, Lantau island and the shopping malls..all free and easy on our own timing. All these will not be possible without the assistance rendered by the hotel esp Mr Andrew (Director of rooms) whom did not hesitate to answer our endless questions on recommendations and directions:) My children liked one of the founded restaurants named SML (Times Square Food Mall) esp the fresh smooth caramel cream puffs and we went back there thrice! In general, we had a pleasant and relaxing holiday...Thanks Andrew, WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN!!! CJcjcj (Singapore)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeCJcjcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

good for short stays, good location for city center if your will its shopping...

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank indyquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,647 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,411 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing