We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Ranked #61 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Amazing staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a "good" size room, which was perfect size for my husband and me. We were in 402, which has a shared balcony, one of the only ones in the hotel. Here are my thoughts.

THE GOOD:

The staff. Hands down some of the best hotel staff I've ever encountered. Their English is impeccable. And they were incredibly helpful. The young guy in the morning (can't remember name!) saw us hanging over a map and came right over to help us plan our activities and offer us tips on what to do and when. And Cheryll was fantastic too -- very friendly and helpful during our entire stay.

- Breakfast: It's croissants and coffee. And it's free. And they're yummy. So don't complain. There are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity if you need something more

- Complimentary coffee / tea / water and goodies all day. Need I say more. I can't vouch for the tea, but the coffee was fantastic.

- Mobile: We found it really helpful that all the rooms come with a mobile you can use free of charge and take around with you.

THE BAD (but really not that bad):
I felt that the rooms could be a bit cleaner, especially on the side of the bed up against the window. There was quite a bit of dust on the sills and dust balls on the ground. But overall, very clean. Just an area that's a bit hard to reach.

OTHERS:

- Location: Yes this place can be a bit tricky at first. My taxi driver didn't know where it was and dropped me 20 mins away. I think he was confused on the Ave vs Road...But this isn't the hotel's fault. My suggestion would be to beef up the directions on the website. I printed it off and gave to my taxi driver, but maybe if there was a landmark or some other directions it would be easier for them.

- Amenities: There's a nice gym. Small, but has everything you need.

Room Tip: 402 has a HUGE balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    195
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
53
219
77
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Well I think the last 2 reviewers beat me to it, they pretty much said everything I wanted to say! I also arrived on an early flight and had notified the hotel of an early check in and was able to go to my room straightaway. The mobile phone they provided was great, as was the umbrella for all the rain, plus I'm pretty sure I got an upgraded room as well, although the hotel staff didn't mention it.

It's located a good walk to TST station and although I liked the location down a one way side street I can see that it would be hard to find, especially in the dark. My taxi driver dropped me at the corner of Kimberley Rd and I walked down the street to the entrance.

There was a little problem with the electricity and a few lights over my bed didn't turn off, which was frustrating when you're trying to nap after a very long flight but luckily this was fixed after an hour.

Overall I would definitely like to stay at Residence G again on my next trip to Hong Kong.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ophir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this cool hotel for an anniversary weekend while already in Asia and it was blissfully simple, chic and comfortable. We stayed in one of the small rooms and it was perfect for two people. I felt like every inch of the room was planned well and thought through. There were quite a few things there that really made us feel at home. There were converter plugs in the room, lots of great channels to choose from on the television, free wifi and snacks in the room. The best thing was the smartphone provided in the room that was pre-loaded with ideas on things to do while in Hong Kong with maps and other details that really proved helpful to us to maximize our two days in the city. We were even able to make free international calls on the phone. Incredibly accommodating! My husband and I are busy professionals, so we didn't really plan much in advance. Between the smartphone and Wil at the front desk, we were able to quickly put together an itinerary that we'll remember for the rest of our lives. Lastly, it was raining during our trip and my husband forgot his umbrella. What do you know? There was one in the room. The conveniences provided just never ended with this hotel. They've thought of everything.

I love, love, love this hotel. I can't wait for the first one to open in San Francisco this year. We'll finally have this cool hotel chain stateside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My stay isn't done but just had to write a review ! Love love love this Hotel . Got in early because of the early flight and not only did Ane ( operations manager ) allow us to check in but upgraded us the Greatest Room ! been to many hotels but G beats them all. Love the boutique design with modern elements from the bed to the open shower to the little things such as M&Ms and a smart phone who can take with you while moving about the city. Thanks Ane !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

LOVED it. We travel to HK on business often and have stayed at variety of places in Kowloon and HK that were 4 or more stars, the Residence G delivered the same fantastic feeling as the larger more expensive hotels. The room we stayed at was called "Great Room" and it really was a great room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were small but it was very modern, clean, and had huge wall to ceiling window that overlooked Kowloon. My room had a shower right in front of the bed that was made out of glass so anybody could see in. Great for couples, but i would not recommend it if you traveling with a friend. (however, they might have different types of rooms).
The location was great. They give you a smartphone that you can take around that has maps and will guide you around the city. This was a lifesaver and made all of the difference for us. The smartphone even gave you a guide to the subways. We stayed two nights, and one night, the fire alarm was going off every hour until 3 am. It kept us up and was very annoying, but they accommodated us by returning our money for that one night. That was the only negative thing i would say about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ksaasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Luxe Manor
The Luxe Manor
#45 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Perkin Hotel
The Perkin Hotel
#35 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)

Property: Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Address: 2.2 Austin Avenue,Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G) 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence G Hong Kong is a vibrant lifestyle hotel, industrial design inspired with a subtle urban accent equaling understated glamour and in-vogue atmosphere. It reflects the rhythms of metropolitan Hong Kong with cutting edge guest rooms and loft.Situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, Residence G is a short 5 minutes walk to both Jordan and Tsim Sha Tsui MTR stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence G Hong Kong (By Hotel G)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing