We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family with young kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #63 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
164 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect for family with young kids”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at J Plus within 6 months. Smack in middle of Causeway Bay - 5 mins walk to Hysen Place, 3 mins to Lee Gardens, 10 mins to Sogo and Time Square. There's a Jason's supermart at Hysen place and supercity at Times Square where you can buy groceries for kids. 10 mins walk to Windsor house where there's a whole floor dedicated to shops selling kids stuff. If you have young kids who needs rest, the convenience of returning to hotel for their naps is perfect. Danish bakery - 4 mins walk from hotel has great HK porkchop buns and deep fried chicken thighs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Hi CodyKow,

Thank you for choosing J Plus the second time and sharing your feedback with us.
I was pleased to learned that you enjoyed your stay @ J Plus.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    214
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
77
188
58
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

My husband, adult daughter and I stayed 2 nights @ J Plus before a cruise and thought we hit a home run! The room for the 3 of us had a sitting area, a small kitchen and an alcove sleeping area. There was plenty of storage. Service was excellent, with staff more than willing to help with directions, dining recommendations and cabs. With only 2 rooms to a floor, it was very quiet. The location is convenient to walk to many areas of interest. I had originally thought that we'd want to stay on the Kowloon side, but am so glad we stayed on the island - so much to see and do. There is also a metro stop in the vicinity. (I recommend using the metro. Once you figure out which stop is closest, the system is easy to use. It's clean, well-lit, fast and inexpensive.) As far as value, we saved a ton of money using J Plus for the 3 of us, rather than getting 2 rooms. As other reviewers have said, the location is a little challenging for the cabbies, but that's just a small issue for this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYinEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hello AYinEP,

Many thanks for taking your time to share such a positive review of J Plus.
I was happy to learn that you had a wonderful time in HK with your family . Also J Plus Guest Relation team were accommodating and provided you a pleasant stay. Our "home away from home" concept is to make each of the guest feels like home while staying with us.
We look forward to having you and your family back with us soon.

Best wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights in October 2012, and had initial difficulty finding it. It has a teeny tiny signage at the door and most taxi drivers do not know it. For HK$3170 for two nights I would stay here again if only for its location. It is centrally located near the causeway bay mtr and right in front of din tai fung. It is near Sogo and Ikea as well.
Regarding the room, it is tiny and hard to maneuver around because of the TV's placement. However, the bed was comfortable which is more important. There is a loveseat and a mini sink but again, really cramped in general. Worth mentioning is the free drinks at the lobby and snacks in the afternoon. Breakfast was very simple and there's not much space to eat so best to bring it to your room. Another issue was the bathroom drain which was oddly placed on the wall and not the floor so after your showered, there would be a pool at your feet. :(
After staying at the Bauhinia (central) 4 months after, I would choose to stay at J Plus Boutique Hotel.
Some staff helped us get a taxi to the airport express which would have been otherwise difficult to get on our own.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms on each floor so most are relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GissyWissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

If I'd known about this hotel earlier we would have stayed for much longer than a night. This is a hotel with a difference - it is funky, way cooler than your average HK Hotel - and there are a lot in this town. The location is fantastic - right in the heart of busy Causeway Bay, giving the feeling of being in the thick of things. We booked into a studio room and it was great - separate living and dining areas, a small well-equipped kitchen, and a small but very comfortable bedroom. Quirky furnishings and loads of storage space. There were two day beds and a sofa, so plenty of space to "live" in. The bathroom was good with quality shower products. Breakfast is a help yourself meal provided in the lobby area with fruit, pastries, toast, boiled eggs, coffee, tea and juice on offer.Dining is communal - so don't expect wait staff! Staff are incredibly helpful and courteous. Location is superb with shops, bars, restaurants, street markets,Times Square and Sogo very close. The MTR station is a few minutes away. Free wi-fi throughout, afternoon cake and complimentary glass of wine in the late afternoon. Don't go if you like staying in large hotel chains, but do go if you want more of an experience in Hong Kong. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: There was a lot of construction work going on nearby, so ask for a quiet room if you'll be there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Julia2600,

Many thanks for taking your time to share such a positive review of J Plus.
Truly glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all the little "extras" that we provided. Please rest assured that our guest relation team will be acknowledged with their outstanding services ,your comment is a huge encouragement for us to do even better.
J Plus and whole our team are looking forward to see you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I didn't check many Hong Kong hotel prices and locations before we went there, but it does seem that Hong Kong is expensive. Armed with this basic understanding, and checking out the casual mention of this hotel by someone at the next table in a retaurant we had gone to, months earlier, the J Plus Boutique Hotel did seem rather unique. So we booked it for about a six-night stay. There are many reviews of the hotel on Tripadvisor. A main comment was that it was hard to find the entrance - and this, from my own experience, is true. But perhaps only the first time. It is simply the first entrance on Irving street, moving away from the (southwest?) corner of the intersection of Irving St. and Pennington Street. The Regal Hotel is on the other (eastern) end of Irving Street, but on the other side of the street.

What is nice about the J Plus is that, to me, it is in a relatively quiet area in Causeway Bay. Yet a short walk north on Jardine's Bazaar St. (like an extension of Irving St.) quickly puts you into a crowded, Chinese-flavored commercial area that introduces you to the next intersection - the exciting commercial, well-populated world of Hennessy Street. Malls, stores, double-trolleys and nearby underground train station (Causeway Bay Station), and crowds, crowds, crowds, make the J Plus a good base to use for a Hong Kong stay. You learn what Hong Kong fells like. It is an exciting place. We could go to Kowloon, Central (downtown) with the convenient, crowded, but not rowdy, metro.

The hotel has only a few rooms on each floor. I don't know if it was originally one or two buildings that were converted to hotel use, but whatever, our room had a few windows with drapes, and an open design that included small kitchenette, sitting area with loveseat, TV, and queen bed. There is a desk area and closets with shelves and hangers, as I recollect. And of course a bathroom. Style is simple. Utilitarian. And the overall cost seemed reasonable.

The self-service breakfast downstairs provided a modest but adequate selection of items. Coffee and hot water were provided by what looks like a European-style dispenser unit. I found this less practical than if there were a few urns or decanters with hot water or coffee that you pour into cups yourself. The flow rate from the dispenseer seemed rather slow. And it needed refilling, which the staff did, when notified. Not a big deal. The lobby area seemed rather strained in terms of places to sit and put food. The tall metal chairs didn't seem to fit the tables. The overall design was a bit over-the-top - funky, in a somewhat strained sort if way. But you don't spend much time there and it does perk you up just looking at it when you leave or return to the hotel.

The hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. An A rating to them. And the place tended to have a youthful guest base - nice - though there were some younger people, with children, and some older. So - worth considering.

I booked it on-line, directly. It seemed to me that the web site could use an upgrade. But the reservations system worked.

Room Tip: We were not high up, but I don't recollect much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hello happy2travelnow,

Thank you for choosing J Plus and sharing such an informative comment via TripAdvisor.
I am especially pleased that you appreciated our attentive and professional customer service.
We will strive for improvements and we look forward to provide an even better experience of J Plus in the near future.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chile
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This hotel was very well located in the shopping area, you could just walk everywhere, and subway was very near (4 min walk). Many places to eat and shop!

It's a little bit different from what you see in pictures, everything is smaller, and it doesn't have that "new" feeling, but it was fine.

Breakfast is very limited, and you have to share tables if you want to seat. Nothing that bothered me, but if you're expecting pancakes, or maybe fried eggs, that's not what you'll find (they had white and brown bread, butter, jam, boiled eggs, some croissants and fruits like: apple, dragon fruit, banana)

The only thing that bugged me was the bed. We didn't find it comfortable, it was hard and not so big. Shower was OK, and it was very useful to have the kitchenette in room. The other super plus was self laundry at the second floor.

If you're on a relaxed trip, it's perfect, if you're looking for something more "Boutique-ish" it isn't, since it's more like an apart hotel.

For us, it was just fine, location was what saved the experience. Also, staff is very friendly and will help you with anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlessandraRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear AlessandraRB,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience of J Plus. Your satisfaction meant a lot to us. We will strive for improvements continuously and to provide you an even better experience next time.
J Plus and our whole team are looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This Philip Stark property is still one of the best bargain in town. Not a real hotel more a residence this stylish design place got very big rooms, and in a central location, just be careful when you got out of your taxi before check in, they can not stop close to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Hello Robert w, many thanks for taking your time posting a review of J Plus.
I was truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
J Plus & our whole team are looking forward to have you back with us soon.
Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#73 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing