We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Causeway Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
J Plus Hotel by YOO
Ranked #63 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base in Causeway Bay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great little boutique hotel in the heart of the shopping district - perfect for those looking for a little retail therapy but with the metro about a 5 minute walk from the hotel, the city is at your doorstep.

We stayed in a studio room which, while on the small side (as is to be expected in HK) made great use of space with a day bed, desk, flat screen TV, small kitchenette and generous queen size bed partitioned by a curtain for added privacy. The rooms were well designed and furnished with ultra-mod decor. The bathroom was spacious although storage space for our toiletries was a little lacking.

We only grabbed breakfast on one morning (and that was grabbing a tasty pastry as we ran out the door) but we made use of the complimentary soft drinks, juice and coffee offered in the lobby each day - this was a great touch.

Staff were super professional, friendly and helpful with lots of recommendations for nearby restaurants (Jade Garden for dim sum is a must try) and we were also given a list of boutique shops and restaurants/bars that offer discounts and special offers for guests staying at J Plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks Kate A for taking your time to share such a lovely review of J Plus. I was especially pleased to learn that our staffs were helpful and accommodating. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager of J Plus Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    215
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
78
189
58
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
172 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Well located in Causeway Bay this boutique hotel offered a good experience. I think this hotel was formerly an apartment block convereted to a hotel, I'm not sure. The hotel lobby is small but works OK and its also where the breakfast is served; I wasn't expecting much for breakfast but actually it was pretty good, nothing hot, but enough to eat - cereals, toast, yogurt, muffins, crossiants, fruit. There are not many places to sit in the lobby so you just have to find a space somewhere, probably sharing the large table in the centre of the lobby. I booked a studio room but got was very happy to get upgraded to a suite. The suite actually is a fully equipped apartment with kitchen area (fridze/freezer, sink, hob, microwave oven, kettle and all the equipment you need to cook if you want to). The suite is pretty spacious by Hong Kong apartment standards with enough space for multiple seating options including some day beds (one in a curtained-off alcove), dining table and chairs, numerous stools, coffee table, writing desk, flatscreen TV. Separate bedroom is quite small but big enough and has a large clean bed as well as flatscreen TV. There is lots of storage/clothes hanging space in the apartment. Bathroom has good sized walk-in shower and supply of toiletries. Suite is fully air-conditioned and this works well and quietly. Price for the room was pretty good, so taking all into account this stay was very good value and this place is worth considering if you are looking for somewhere well located, reasonably priced and clean/comfortable with a bit of style.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hello Poliwhirl ,

Thank you for your review . Truly glad to learn that you enjoyed our one bedroom suite and had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon @ J Plus.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My mum and I stayed for one week at the J Plus Hotel in October 2013. We selected the one bedroom suite. The hotel is small and the location was perfect. The room itself was very clean and spacious (for Hong Kong). It could easily fit 3 adults. There is a small alcove with a single bed that is curtained off for some privacy. There is a small kitchenette that could be used if needed. The hotel provides a small, light breakfast each morning. Perfect to tide you over till the yum cha restaurants open.
We loved the hotel and would definitely return.
The only niggle was that the airconditioning unit in the bedroom makes noise. It was lucky that we were too exhausted each day to mind but others might find it problematic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed in their 1 bedroom suite, which comprised of a living area, chill out day bed area, kitchen, dining area and bedroom. This room can easily fit in 5 people! Loved that the kitchen came with a full length fridge and had some essential condiments stocked (oil, salt, etc).

With the large living area, the bedroom was indeed meant for just sleeping. Curtains blocked out all sun during the day, excellent if you want to take an afternoon nap.

I also liked how you can individually control the air-condition temperature for both the living room and the bedroom.

Breakfast was simple, only had it for one of the mornings. Limited seating area and was disturbed by a screaming child. Would recommend for a quick breakfast.

Location was excellent, lots of food nearby and the shopping malls and mtr were s tone throw away.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canicie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Many thanks Canicie for sharing such a positive review of J Plus.
I was truly glad to learn that you enjoyed all the space in our one bedroom suite and had a pleasant time at J Plus.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon @ J Plus.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager of J Plus Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I researched a lot before booking a hotel in Hong Kong for our first ever trip in Hong Kong with my family. We reached Hotel in the afternoon and were quickly checked in within 5-6 minutes to our room. At the first glance the room looked pretty cramped and very very small since we were with a small child they offerred us a baby cot which we hesitatingly denied considering the space in room. However when we returned back in the evening we were pleasently surprised how they created some space out of no where :-) still accomodating the baby cot. The room had a tiny kitchen as well which was very handy, specially with a small kid and our vegeterian diet requirements. The all day coffee and tea facility was excellent, breakfast was not a wide spread but was just right to have a good start of the day. One recommendation I would give to the hotel is that for families yravelling with small kids they can either remove some heavy metal furniture (which was pleasing to the eyes) or provide the corner coveres as it can be dangerous with its sharp edges (for small kids who likes to run around) .

Staff was courteous and very helpful with the tips, we speacially were very pleased with the guest relationship manager's (short haired lady ..sorry for missing the name)
tips to go to the Ocean Park on second day in stead of The Peak or Big Bus, considering the weekend crowd in those places.
Overall we were satisfied with the services of J Plus Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Hello vivson,

Thank you for choosing J Plus and sharing such an informative review of us via TripAdvisor.
I was glad to learn that our staffs were very accommodating .Please rest assured that Anita our Guest Relations Manager will be recognized with her outstanding services. Customers satisfaction has always been the first priority of J Plus and a positive review like this provide us motivation to strive for improvements. Thank you!

Thank you very much for the suggestions regarding to child-prove, we will take your suggestions into consideration .

J Plus and our guest relations team are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager of J Plus Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We took my kids here & we all loved it, fantastic location, we walked everywhere. tiny breakfast area which only has a small amount of food on offer, this area (in reception) is open & available 24/7 for snacks & drinks which is all included. The staff were great & very helpful the room slept 3 comfortably. It's Hong Kong and the size of all spaces are small/compact..but we still enjoyed our rooms..WE LOVE HK!

Room Tip: It's Hong Kong...try for the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TigerandScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you TigerandScruffy for taking your time to share a positive review of J Plus. I was truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time in HK.
We look forward to seeing you again soon @ J Plus.

Best Wishes,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager of J Plus Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent one night at J Plus Boutique Hotel. The location of this hotel is very convenient - within walking distance to many stores and restaurants in Causeway Bay, and public transportation. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We were given an upgrade and stayed in a very spacious one-bed room suite with kitchenette; the suite can easily accommodate four persons. Water, tea, coffee, soft drinks and juice are available all day near the lobby. I think the shower must have the best water pressure in HK . One draw back is that it's almost impossible for passengers with luggage to alight from a taxi in front of the hotel. Also, taxi drivers were reluctant to stop and pick up passengers with luggage. Staff were most helpful when we left, they flagged down a cab at nearby streetl and picked us up with our luggage at the side door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gripbic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eunice c, Marketing Manager at J Plus Hotel by YOO, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear gripbic45,

Thank you very much for sharing such a lovely review of J Plus. I was truly glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and all the little "extra" we provided. Please rest assured that our guest relation team will be acknowledged with their outstanding services ,your comment is the greatest encouragement for us to do even better.
J Plus and whole our team are looking forward to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Eunice Chung
Marketing Manager Of J Plus Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,391 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#67 of 718 in Hong Kong
469 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#72 of 718 in Hong Kong
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Plus Hotel by YOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Plus Hotel by YOO

Property: J Plus Hotel by YOO
Address: No.1-5 Irving Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Formerly J Plus Boutique Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — J Plus Hotel by YOO 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired by Starck. A boutique hotel located in the heart of Causeway Bay Hong Kong with 56 chic guests J Plus Hotel by YOO - Inspired By Starck On its 10th anniversary in 2014, the former JIA Boutique Hotel, Hong Kong was rebranded as J Plus Hotel by YOO following a dramatic, dynamic new HK$10 million makeover for the iconic fashionista address in Causeway Bay by proteges of original designer Philippe Starck at world renowned design house YOO Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your J Plus Hotel by YOO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jia Boutique Hong Kong
Hotel Jia Boutique
Jia Boutique Hotel
Jia Hotel Hong Kong
Boutique Hotel Hong Kong
J Plus Hotel By YOO Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing