We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Helpful Staff”
Review of Caritas Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caritas Lodge
Ranked #351 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Clean and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed in Caritas Lodge for 2 days during my trip in Hong kong. Front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room is clean, comfortable and quite big for my liking Even though the hotel is far from MTR but there are the bus stop the near from the hotel so I could find any bus to every destination without a problem, yet I have to change bus often to some destination. Breakfast is not a buffet but they gave 4 options of menu you can order. What I don't like in this hotel mineral water is not free and the water from the shower is too small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
12
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated, rooms are small but functional, bed comfortable. Choice of TV poor for westerners. Breakfast is ok. For a quick stay or overnight its not bad. Front Desk very helpful, mainly Chinese visitors

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_C433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was in Caritas Lodge for 7 nights in a single room during April 2014.
The hotel is clean, small Shower but was clean. Room has a safe.
Breakfast is NOT a buffet and waitress brings your order (from 3 options) to your table. Quiet minimum breakfast but enough to keep you for 2-3 hours until lunch.
Main problem with hotel is location which is out of center and needed 15-20 mins walk to the closest Metro station (HK has a GREAT Metro system!).
Personal in reception ALWAYS gave me answers to all question about the city and were very helpful.
I wish they had MTV channel (only news channels in English!).
One issue I had is while going one morning to breakfast and left "DO NOT DISTURB" sign to my door and returned back to room and it was cleaned and found the Samsung charger broken by the cleaning lady! Manager was very nice and got me new charger, As I told the manager, my issue wasn't the broken charger but the idea that even when you put "DO NOT DISTURB" sign they allow themselves to Disturb and go into the room!

Room Tip: Higher floor to back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orenb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The room was pretty nice and the staff spoke English. A complimentary breakfast comes with the room. Not just the same 'ole same 'ole traditional continental breakfast at a buffet table, you receive a menu with a choice of breakfast from western to Asian to a health conscious diet. Actually prepared when you order. I visited during the height of a holiday (February 12, 2014), the room cost 574 HKD per night. Which actually was pretty cheap considering the other hotels I checked out ranged in prices up to 1200 HKD per night. If you visit Hong Kong, I recommend this hotel. If you would like to see a few pictures of some of the places I visited while in Hong Kong or any of the other places I visited while in China, please go to http://www.WhyVisitChina.com. And please, enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyVisitChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is great hotel and good price, also included breakfast. It is just cost USD$84 by the time I booked it (I stayed only a night). However, the location is not very convenience. It took 15-20mins to walk to MTR MongKok East Station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Traveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were in this hotel in April/2011, Oct/2011 and Dec /2012. stayed their in triple room paid weekly rate as HK$3750.00 per week. I had wrote one review about this hotel dated July/2012 strongly recommended for this hotel my heading was "Comfortable reasonable & affordable hotel with fresh air in residential area".

But since after this hotel shoot up their price; they are no longer offer weekly & monthly rate. Price for small room is HK$800.00 & up per night & triple room is HK$1000.00 & Up per night; due to their high price; I would not recommend this hotel anymore.

I would recommend Cosmo Hotel located in Nathan Rd and Benito Hotel in Tsim Sha sui with the same price for convenience shopping and dining..

Room Tip: Not recommend if you need to pay high price for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wendysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Visited HK during chinese new year in Feb so was looking for an affordable place to stay within easy reach of transport and was not disappointed with this hotel. This is by far the cheapest hotel i could find which wasnt too far away from the hustle and bustle. Sure, the bathroom is tiny and the decor needs touching up but the beds were comfy and clean and it was a good base to explore the city from. Just 10-15 mins brisk walk away from Mongkok east station and you can be on your way on the fantastic HK MTR transport system. Nearby is also 'Flower Market' street and just past that, Nathan rd, so if you don't mind walking like myself, everything is pretty close. There is also a 24 hr petrol station next to the hotel, which i found very useful for buying water and snacks from when setting off from or returning late to the hotel. The breakfast in the hotel was not the greatest but again, considering the price, it was more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helped us when we needed to head to the airport on the last day, waved down a taxi for us and gave us the location of the nearest airport express bus stop.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to travellers who are not fussy about luxurious hotel rooms but just want somewhere comfortable to relax (although there is a bit of noise from the traffic outside).
All in all, if you're expecting the Ritz, pay the money for the Ritz, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay whilst you explore HK then this is as good as place as any.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshwing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kowloon City
Bridal Tea House Hotel (To Kwa Wan)
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caritas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caritas Lodge

Property: Caritas Lodge
Address: No.134 Boundary Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Prince Edward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hotel Class:3 star — Caritas Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caritas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caritas Hong Kong
Caritas Lodge Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing