We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Kowloon
Ranked #178 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stay in this hotel from 23rd March until 27th March 2014 and we are pretty happy with the room. It was bigger than what I have expected, especially I was "warned" before by friends about the size of toilet in most of hotel in HK, but their is good ! All the room is clean besides they do not change the bed sheet everyday.

The location of the Hotel is great, 3-5 minutes walk to Jordon Station , and you can find food pretty easy. Closed to Temple Street as well.

We actually wanted to extend one more day as our flight was on 0645, but the Hotel refused to give me the same rate which we paid for the first 4 days, despite the are still empty room available ( cos some of the web sites were still selling rooms). So we finally decided to follow our initial plan and spend a night at airport.

Besides, the two young gentlemen who was on duty at the counter during our stay should learn to smile more often, But the other staff like the middle age gentleman and lady were pretty helpful, although I am the one who took the initiative to greet them "Good Morning".

But generally, I guess I made a brilliant decision to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewchengyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Andrewchengyc,

We are delighted to know that you had an overall good stay and thank you for your comments regarding make up room service. Hygiene and cleanliness are our upmost concern. We would like to inform you that the bed linens is changed regularly. If you need any assistance, please contact our Front office team. We regret to hear that you were not satisfy for extending your stay, please understand hotel rate is subject to room availability. Moreover, we will brief our staff to improve the friendliness and strengthen their hospitality service to avoid reoccurrence. This comment was very helpful indeed – thanks a lot!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back sooner.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    115
    73
    17
    10
See reviews for
57
74
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, and had a pleasant experience. Clean rooms, new interior very accessible. My most memorable experience is the pleasant, friendly and resourceful contact with their staff member Ben Chau who became my daily guide. He truly is a gem in this organisation.

Room Tip: Speak to Ben about your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Freddy L,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

PROS:
Excellent location, close to restaurants, few minutes walk from Jordan MRT
Came with breakfast, even though it wasn't advertised to do so when I booked

CONS:
Our room smelled like smoke
Wifi and cable connections are weak

To sum it all up, the room was satisfactory for a two night stay. Comfy and clean enough, but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 122allyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Ally C,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments on our location with good surrounding area.

With regard to your comments on weak connection of Wifi and cable, we will further liaise with the telecommunication company for any improvement. We apologize for this shortfall. This comment was very helpful indeed – thanks a lot!

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed over at Rainbow hotel for a night in Kowloon, overall pleasant stay!

Location: 5mins walk to Jordan station as well as to Cityflyer bus stop to airport.
Room condition: Clean and pretty cosy. The hotel is relatively new, hence no wear n tear yet, keep it up! Though the room is small, but that's HK =)
Service: the staff are friendly, and we had a free upgrade to deluxe suite, that's a pleasant surprise!
Overall: will stay over again on my next HK visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PF-funnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear PF-funnie,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment about our friendly teammates, our clean and comfortable environment.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Checked in the hotel on 12 Feb and checked out on 15 Feb. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were on the 9th floor, clean and quite reasonable size given that most HK hotels have pretty small rooms.

The only thing I want to feedback is the service level of the waitress in the restaurant. We had our first breakfast on 13 Feb. When I arrived, one of the Filipino waitress insisted that my mum and I should sit at a table for 2 although the restaurant was practically empty. She was only willing to allow me take a 4 seater table when I told her that there were 4 of us.

Not realising that we can choose a main from the menu, we headed straight to the buffet table.
And when I saw that was a menu on our table and check with one of the Filipino waitress, she just pointed and said, "Choose 1" ....

When I later requested for chilli sauce to go with my fried noodles, one of them passed me a bottle that she got from a room and later passed it to another hotel guest at another table.

When I asked for the chilli sauce again, one of them said "we don't serve chilli sauce there, this bottle is meant for guest seated in that room, we only have Tabasco sauce". Well, I am still wondering how come there is only one bottle of chilli sauce in such a big hotel and it is only for guest seated in the room? Am I not a hotel guest? Anyway, I do think they need to go for some customer service training or at least have a smile when you a serving a hotel guest?

Overall, it was a good experience staying in the hotel except for the unhappiness at the breakfast table.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeHappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for writing about your staying experience at our Hotel and we are glad that you had a happy moment with us in Hong Kong.

We regret to hear that you are not entirely satisfied your meal in the restaurant. Since the restaurant is managed by separate entity and we will share your feedback with them for their improvement.

We are glad to serve you again. Stay close with us for our updated promotional package~!
Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards

Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel wasn't very clean, ended up switching rooms upon check in because the shower curtain had mildew on it. Next room wasn't that much cleaner. some of the staff were'nt too friendly or helpful but that's how alot of the people in hong kong are....Some of the views were of dirty old tenement buildings but i guess that's the charm of kowloon! Area didn't feel safe or nice because you are quite a way up from the waterfront but it's extremely accessible since you're so close to nathan road and temple street. i would say the rooms looked much better online. i wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nashirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear nashirm,

Thank you to stay with us and we are always glad to hear from our guests.
With regards comment about the room cleanliness and hospitality service, we will brief our teammates for further improvement to avoid reoccurrence.

We are glad to serve you again. We pledge to do our best and we would like you to see the improvement we had made.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Rainbow hotel is a few minutes walk to the Jordan Train Station.
Being near to a train station gives you flexibility on wherever you want to go to within Hongkong since the HK MTR system is already interconnected.
Mongkok is just 2 stations away from Jordan which will bring you to the shopping and Food Areas.
Going to the other side will bring you to the famous Avenue of the Stars.

Room Tip: Since most of the time, you will be out of the hotel, a fair sized room is enough to leave your thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DU1NA_VK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear DU1NA_VK4,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment. Indeed, you have captured our hotel rather well. We are really located the heart of the city, as well as various renowned restaurants surrounding us. The Jordan MTR station and public transports are just 2 minutes walking distance away, granting super easy travel in Hong Kong.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages. Let’s start to plan the next adventure to Hong Kong.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

With best regards
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Noble Park Hotel
#216 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#88 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#277 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#166 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#180 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#94 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kowloon

Property: Travelodge Kowloon
Address: No.23 Saigon Street, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Kowloon 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet pocket of peace just steps away from the pulsating energy of Nathan Road in Jordan, Hotel Rainbow provides the perfect pathway to, as well as an ideal respite from the colourful excitement of Kowloon.The Hotel has 126 contemporary rooms, each designed for your comfort with a practical layout and plenty of space and natural light.Step outside the Hotel and it’s just a 2 minute walk to Jordon MTR Station, making it super easy to connect to all MTR stops throughout the city. Within minutes you can explore the abundance of shops in Tsim Sha Tsui and the famous street markets in Yau Ma Tei and Mong Kok.From Hotel Rainbow you can easily experience all the colours, sights and sounds of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. And no matter how late you return, your Security Card allows you safe and easy late night access to and from the Hotel.We welcome you to our peaceful little oasis and wish you an unforgettable stay in our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chung Hing Hong Kong
Travelodge Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing