We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Travelodge Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Kowloon
Ranked #367 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is no more than a two star hotel. The location is central and the room was ok. Breakfast was so-so.Dont expect to see croissants or cakes. I needed to have some laundry done but there is no service AT ALL. There was nobody available to advise on tours etc. Really a very basic hotel. My recommendation is to book elsewhere unless it is particular cheap .

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC1948Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear JohnC1948Dub,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong. We appreciate your feedback and comments about hotel amenities & facilities, our management will review for appropriate implementation. Regarding the comment of food species in the restaurant, we will feedback to the restaurant manager for their attention since the restaurant is managed by separate entity.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages.

We hope to welcome you back soon and to have an opportunity to provide high standard of service for you.

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    125
    79
    17
    10
See reviews for
60
80
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Location is perfect, room is big enough and new, b'fast is so so, and service at the reception seriously need to buck up. I paid a considerably good rate so i can't complain further for the overall experience. Nevertheless, i won't choose this hotel if the rate is high as there are many other options. The pro is its superb location, about 3 mins walk from MTR Jordan, use exit B1, there is a local department store across the street and many eatery outlets surrounding this area. It is just 2 stations to Mongkok where the ladies market located and 1 station to Tsim Tsa Tsui. Like i said, i am good for the location and sleep, not for the service. They are listed 3.5 star simply because there is one Italian restaurant cum b'fast venue. Otherwise, i would think Rainbow is good for 3 star, nothing more than that! I will only stay here if the deal is superb..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentkflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Kentkien2,

Thank you very much to stay with us and spend your time to share your stay experience. We will continuously reviewing ways to fine-tune our processes and services to ensure better efficiency and quality of our service touch points.

Kindly check our website frequently for best deals and ongoing promotional packages.
We hope to welcome you back soon and to have an opportunity to provide high standard of service for you.

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, room is big enough and new, b'fast is so so, and service at the reception seriously need to buck up. I paid a considerably good rate so i can't complain further for the overall experience. Nevertheless, i won't choose this hotel if the rate is high as there are many other options. The pro is its superb location, about 3 mins walk from MTR Jordan, use exit B1, there is a local department store across the street and many eatery outlets surrounding this area. It is just 2 stations to Mongkok where the ladies market located and 1 station to Tsim Tsa Tsui. Like i said, i am good for the location and sleep, not for the service. They are listed 3.5 star simply because there is one Italian restaurant cum b'fast venue. Otherwise, i would think Rainbow is good for 3 star, nothing more than that! I will only stay here if the deal is superb..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kentkien2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Reviewing the feedback from trip advisor, I haven't expectation to receive WOW or standard (3* plus) service during my stay at the affordable price hotel. The room size, location & price are unbearable compared another hotels in Hong Kong. Reception staff is ok.
But I can't believe the worst staff in restaurant ever. No service, lack of food choose, missing order and rude attitude. After, my family & I finished the breakfast. The rest of days, we arranged to find good breakfast outside ourselves.
When we are checking out, we told a lot of taxi on the street by reception staff because we have early flight. We worry about and check out 4am. But no taxi outside and heavy raining. Luck, we meet William and he go out to get two taxi for us. Also, he and the mid age staff helping us for the luggage. Thats what heart of hospitality! Big thanks, William. As I understand, hotel & restaurant are separated management, if I have to give score to restaurant, 1pt for location & no more!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear chuamk,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong and taking time to write a comment to share your stay experienced. Regarding the food quality and the services we will feedback to the restaurant manager for their improvement.

Wish you staying with us and serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hotel is located at a convenient and not too far away from the MTR. Room is small but clean and they do not provide mineral water. So please remember to buy yourself one. Strangely they do provide breakfast. The breakfast is very basic with no fruits or cereal. The restaurant was very noisy with PRCs. When I needed help to call for a taxi, the front desk asked me to go to the street and get myself one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intanCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear intanCatc,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. After the management reviewed, we have just implemented to provide bottled water to our customers in order to enhance the hotel’s services.
Regarding the meals and services in the restaurant, we will feedback to the restaurant manager for their attentions since the restaurant is managed by separate entity.

We hope to welcome you back soon and to have an opportunity to provide high standard of service for you.

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I dont write any comment before but this time I am very disappointed to their restaurant! The breakfast is terrible because their waitress is not willing to help you when you need! They just keep chatting even we need to clean our table, we must raise our hands and ask them to help us! Also the food is terrible, the tray which serving ham is very dirty and oily! Seems it did not washed! So i skipped this every day...
Despite of this, the hotel staff are pretty friendly and nice, the guard Gordon always smile to you no matter what time. Also Anthony and Stephen are always keen to help you to look around, like food and some very local place which i never expected. I write this comment especially for them and the restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Candice Y,

Thanks very much indeed for choosing us for your stay in Hong Kong and for taking time to write a review. We are glad to hear that our colleagues are courteous. We will share your comments with our team to further enhance our hospitality services. And we regret to hear that you were not entirely satisfied with the restaurant. Since the restaurant is managed by separate entity, we will share your feedback with them for their improvement.

Before long, we are looking forward to say: WELCOME BACK!

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is a short walk from Jordan station, the area is relatively safe and there are numerous eating and shopping options nearby. We stayed in 2 rooms and they were spacious enough, considering the lack of space in Hong Kong. This hotel is also new so the facilities were nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YijingSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainbow_Team, Your Guest Services Team at Travelodge Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear JillianSY,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments on our location with good surrounding area.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Your Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Noble Park Hotel
Noble Park Hotel
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
47 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
653 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#164 of 718 in Hong Kong
642 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Nathan Hotel
Nathan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,259 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kowloon

Property: Travelodge Kowloon
Address: No.23 Saigon Street, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Hotel Rainbow Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Kowloon 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet pocket of peace just steps away from the pulsating energy of Nathan Road in Jordan, Hotel Rainbow provides the perfect pathway to, as well as an ideal respite from the colourful excitement of Kowloon.The Hotel has 126 contemporary rooms, each designed for your comfort with a practical layout and plenty of space and natural light.Step outside the Hotel and it’s just a 2 minute walk to Jordon MTR Station, making it super easy to connect to all MTR stops throughout the city. Within minutes you can explore the abundance of shops in Tsim Sha Tsui and the famous street markets in Yau Ma Tei and Mong Kok.From Hotel Rainbow you can easily experience all the colours, sights and sounds of Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. And no matter how late you return, your Security Card allows you safe and easy late night access to and from the Hotel.We welcome you to our peaceful little oasis and wish you an unforgettable stay in our vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chung Hing Hong Kong
Travelodge Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing