We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two MacDonnell Road
Ranked #136 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay in a good location”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We were in HK to visit family. Their place, in Mid-Levels, was too small to accommodate all of us (2 adults and 2 children, aged 5 and 2), so we needed a place nearby, which 2MR satisfied well. It isn't close to the MTR, but we needed to take taxis anyway as the family aren't either; taxis are cheap in HK, so this wasn't much of a burden. It is about a 15 minute walk to Pacific Place.

The accommodation was comfortable. We had a 2-bedroom unit, with a double in the master bedroom and a single in the 2nd bedroom, which was fine for small children. The beds were a bit hard, but everything else was fine - cable TV, free wired internet, room service, daily clean, small kitchen for breakfast.

Pros:
- Excellent location - nice views of the city, close to the zoo and HK Park
- Very friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
- Beds

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdsawq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    69
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
53
15
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

To get away from the heavily populated tourist areas and stay in an area where the locals live, try Two MacDonnell Road, a quality apartment building. It's very comfortable and smart, has great views over the Botanic Gardens, the Governor's residence and the island's Central District to Kowloon. It's good value for money and only a 10 minute walk - through the gardens - to Central. At the end of the day it is only a HK$20 taxi trip from Central back to Two MacDonnell Road. The building is only about 40 metres to a very well stocked Park N'Shop, making eating-in easy if required. It's not five star, but it's pretty comfortable and a sensible choice unless you are looking for real luxury at five to 10 times the price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Travelled with my wife and stayed here because of recommendation from friends. staff and security people are really helpful. Rooms are clean and made use of the small kitchen to make small meals. ac was a little loud, but necessary. really good place to get around!
park is next door!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentofte, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed here for 12 nights in October, and it was perfect. Small self catering apartment with plenty of room. Clean towels and sheets every day, they even washed the dishes and cleaned the kitchen – but it still had all other services as a hotel with room service etc. Very big and specious rooms (especially for Hong Kong standard) we stayed in a business suite or a junior suite. But it cost less then a ordinary tiny hotel room. Very easy, cheap fast access to central with taxi (or free shuttle service)

We will definitely stay here again when visiting Hong Kong next time.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

This is a great place to stay in Hong Kong! We stayed in a studio apartment for 3 nights and we enjoyed using the cooking facilities, which comes with a microwave, stove, plates and knives. There is a supermart 5 mins walk down and you can stock up your breakfast in the mini-fridge. As we were there for holiday, we didn't make use of the shuttle bus (timings were too early). Instead, we took minibus 1A or bus 12A that goes directly to Central MTR. The bus stop is only 5 mins away and the last bus runs until midnight, so you can save on taxi fares. Overall, we are happy and will definitely return to stay again when we visit Hong Kong!

  • Liked — Nice view, clean and compact
  • Disliked — Better shuttle bus schedule
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cc.memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

A friend of mine stayed over in HK about a month before me and the hotel room he got was dreadful, his view as horrible, and the room very average. So when I went over to HK I wasn't expecting, much, I was quite surprised with my stay given his experience.

THE ROOM
Reasonable size considering the horrible things I've heard about HK hotels. The bed was quite hard, but for the most part the room was comfortable. There was free wired internet access in the hotel.

FACILITIES
+Modest gym, just enough to get by.
+Shuttle bus in the morning to the CBD, returning in the afternoon - several trips a day.
+Coffee shop/restaurant - No breakfast, the food is pretty average, hit and miss on some items. Quite cheap though ($68-$100HK)

LOCATION
About a 15 minute walk from IFC, it's up a bit of a hill though so can be a pain getting back. The shuttle bus is handy though, or there's always a taxi.

Enjoyed myself here, and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ZapoAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore and Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2007

This was our first trip to Hong Kong as a family of four, two adults, two children (5yrs, 1yr) and we were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Although, I must admit it did look very different from the website pictures (it was renovated last year). When we arrived the service was great and the baby cot had already been set up in the room. The biggest plus was the location - we could walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go or take a quick taxi ride to Central MTR. The Peak Tram almost goes past the door. A few downsides - the rooms were compact (but well furbished), the mattress was VERY hard and there was no breakfast service. There is a supermarket close by so we stocked up on milk, fruit etc and breakfast goodies. It was very quiet, clean, friendly and the staff were helpful. For the price, in Hong Kong, we were happy. We stayed 3 nights.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — hard bed, no breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTraveller072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
668 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#153 of 718 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Sheung Wan
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
#103 of 718 in Hong Kong
527 reviews
Sheung Wan
99 Bonham All Suite Hotel
99 Bonham All Suite Hotel
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two MacDonnell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two MacDonnell Road

Property: Two MacDonnell Road
Address: 2 Macdonnell Road | Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two MacDonnell Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hong Kong Island, Two MacDonnell Road enjoys a commanding position in the sightseeing, restaurants, shopping hub of Hong Kong. Situated only 1.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Two MacDonnell Road ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, airport transfer, car park, business center, coffee shop. The hotel features 213 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including television, microwave, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access - wireless, satellite/cable TV. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Hong Kong, make Two MacDonnell Road your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Two MacDonnell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Macdonnell Road
Two Macdonnell Road Hotel Hong Kong
Two Macdonnell Road Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing