We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“101% recommended - a DEFINITE YES!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two MacDonnell Road
Ranked #133 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“101% recommended - a DEFINITE YES!”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

first time to go to hong kong, i had lots of nights spent to look for a hotel, but when i saw two macdonnel road on the net, really had me say yes. by the looks of it on the net and the price made me say yes. called their hotel, the staff i spoke with was really nice. asked if the price given had additional or hidden charges after and he said no. price was really acceptable for me. when we got to hong kong of course we had to go to the hotel first. kind of got lost and made us arrived at the hotel at night when we are supposed to be their by noon. we called the hotel and asked for directions and they were very helpful! arrived the hotel at last! the looks of the hotel from the outside was really nice. had a big "Macdonnell 2 Road" on the wall hanging and really looks cool. when we got in staff were nice. and walla! we got to our room and the room was VERY VERY NICE! super clean! and LOVELY VIEW from the window. had a kitchen too. feels like you're in a home. so complete. and the staffs are really nice. convenient too coz near some tourist attractions and bus stations. like a 5 minute or 3 minute walk to the bus station so really hasel free. I LOVED THIS PLACE AND WOULD TOTALLY GO BACK!!! I RECOMMEND THIS TO ALL TRAVELLERS WHO LOVES TO ENJOY AND TOTALL HAVE THE EXPERIENCE IN HONG KONG. GREAT FOR HONEY MOONS TOO AS THE PLACE AND LOCATION IS REALLY NICE. has a supermarket at its side too so staying here is REALLY HASEL FREE. REALLY LOVED THIS HOTEL AND HONG KONG TOO.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trustme101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    70
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
53
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Two Macdonnell Road never seems to surprise me. On my second visit this year, the staff remembered me, greeted me warmly on my arrival & the reception desk provided me the best room with a view. Macdonnell Road is a good location for medium - long stay in Hong Kong, as it is close to Central & amidst the greenery in the city. The hotel restaurant is very good with new menu every week. Room service is impeccable. The service apartment scores much above the other hotels i have stayed earlier in Hong Kong. Will be coming back for more next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanat_Satyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Two Macdonnell Rd Hong Kong provides reasonably quiet, reasonably priced and reasonably spacious (by HK standards) hotel rooms (serviced apartments) in a relatively green environment (opposite the zoolological and botanic gardens).

We have stayed there twice now during the last couple of weeks. There are some drawbacks:

1) the hotel does not have a non smoking policy nor non smoking rooms. We were given a room on the 14th floor and the corridor reeked of smoke. The room was better but still had a smoky smell. We asked to be relocated on the first night but were told there were no other rooms. The hotel was full. The next morning after a disturbed night a different staff member was more cooperative and found us another room;
2) the beds are very firm. Two pillows helped the discomfort;
3) the restaurant is cheap but nothing to write home about. They do not serve breakfast, the food is not fancy and the service a little curt.
4) they are serviced apartments and don't provide quite the same level of service as a hotel;
5) the shower is in the bath with a shower curtain,
6) the towels provided are relatively thin, and
7) the service is a bit patchy.

All apartments have small kitchens which provide more flexibilty with eating. They have one and two bedroom apartments available.

It is away from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, a totally different experience to Kowloon.

It is a bit of a hike up the hill but taxis are cheap and the most convenient way to get around.

There is a very convenient Park and Shop store across the road and three restaurants in the YWCA building across the road.

Overall we found it to be quite good but would be hesitant to stay there again because of the smoking policy.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelllersfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I was so pleased with this place.

It was modern, clean, and perfect for a 2 week stay in hong kong. I don't know what I would do without a kitchen. You get an induction hotplate stove that heats up water in the kettle provided in about 2 mins! Fridge and microwave. Be careful, however, the microwave stays on when you open the door! Full utensils and plates/bowls/mugs/thermoskettle for hot water.
The only thing missing is some soap and sponge so I can clean, however, they clean dishes for you every day.

The room is spacious and excellent view on to Kennedy Road.

The staff are extremely friendly. It was cold and they gladly brought me a heater. And extra pillows.

Free lan internet.

SHuttle buses to central in the morning and afternoons.
Location is excellent and easy to get taxis.
Grocery store right across the street.

I have never been so comfortable in a hotel before!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikachiu132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We were in HK to visit family. Their place, in Mid-Levels, was too small to accommodate all of us (2 adults and 2 children, aged 5 and 2), so we needed a place nearby, which 2MR satisfied well. It isn't close to the MTR, but we needed to take taxis anyway as the family aren't either; taxis are cheap in HK, so this wasn't much of a burden. It is about a 15 minute walk to Pacific Place.

The accommodation was comfortable. We had a 2-bedroom unit, with a double in the master bedroom and a single in the 2nd bedroom, which was fine for small children. The beds were a bit hard, but everything else was fine - cable TV, free wired internet, room service, daily clean, small kitchen for breakfast.

Pros:
- Excellent location - nice views of the city, close to the zoo and HK Park
- Very friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
- Beds

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdsawq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

To get away from the heavily populated tourist areas and stay in an area where the locals live, try Two MacDonnell Road, a quality apartment building. It's very comfortable and smart, has great views over the Botanic Gardens, the Governor's residence and the island's Central District to Kowloon. It's good value for money and only a 10 minute walk - through the gardens - to Central. At the end of the day it is only a HK$20 taxi trip from Central back to Two MacDonnell Road. The building is only about 40 metres to a very well stocked Park N'Shop, making eating-in easy if required. It's not five star, but it's pretty comfortable and a sensible choice unless you are looking for real luxury at five to 10 times the price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Travelled with my wife and stayed here because of recommendation from friends. staff and security people are really helpful. Rooms are clean and made use of the small kitchen to make small meals. ac was a little loud, but necessary. really good place to get around!
park is next door!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Garden View Hong Kong
#157 of 718 in Hong Kong
670 reviews
Bishop Lei International House
#165 of 718 in Hong Kong
976 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
99 Bonham All Suite Hotel
99 Bonham All Suite Hotel
#31 of 718 in Hong Kong
694 reviews
Sheung Wan
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
#109 of 718 in Hong Kong
531 reviews
Central
Shama Central Serviced Apartment
Shama Central Serviced Apartment
#183 of 718 in Hong Kong
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two MacDonnell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two MacDonnell Road

Property: Two MacDonnell Road
Address: 2 Macdonnell Road | Mid-Levels, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two MacDonnell Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hong Kong Island, Two MacDonnell Road enjoys a commanding position in the sightseeing, restaurants, shopping hub of Hong Kong. Situated only 1.2 Km from the city center, guests are well located to enjoy the town's attractions and activities. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. The facilities and services provided by Two MacDonnell Road ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like disabled facilities, airport transfer, car park, business center, coffee shop. The hotel features 213 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including television, microwave, television LCD/plasma screen, internet access - wireless, satellite/cable TV. The hotel offers fantastic facilities, including fitness center, to help you unwind after an action-packed day in the city. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Hong Kong, make Two MacDonnell Road your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Two MacDonnell Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Macdonnell Road Hotel Hong Kong
2 Macdonnell Road
Two Macdonnell Road Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing