We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money, large rooms, slight inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #168 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Level Contributor
185 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“value for money, large rooms, slight inconvenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I can see very mixed reviews for the Ramada. I chose to stay here because the location was perfect for my need, i.e. very close to University of Hong Kong. But the hotel has other things to recommend it -- large rooms, with a separate sitting area -- making it perhaps twice as big as the standard (tiny) rooms in most hotels. The email is free, and I got breakfast thrown in for a price perhaps half of what I would pay at other hotels. The staff were nice, and I had no problems.

So, why would you not stay here? Yes, it's tired and in need of refurbishment. It's also not at an MTR (subway) station. Taxis can be hard to get in this part of town, especially in rush hour. So, maybe it's not so great for a standard business trip. But if you like the tram (and I do), it's a 10 minute ride from Sheung Wan station.

The Cityflyer A12 bus stops across the road on Water Street. Only HK$45 direct from the airport. About 35 minutes. Also very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    476
    278
    73
    53
See reviews for
161
227
163
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at Ramada hongkong for 2 nights. Female staff for check-in spoiled my first day in Hongkong. She was rude, unprofessional and even aggressive. I was so embarrassed because I have never experienced it in any other hotel. She was not only the person who was unkind. All female staff was same. When I bought breakfast coupon, the staff was also unkind. And the staff working at restaurant was the worst. I think that they should be trained cruelly. I wanted to escape from the hotel as soon as possible. It was like a nightmare. I never stay there again!

Location is not bad. But I recommend other hotels in tsimshatsui.
Room has enough space and old style. Amenity is not good.
Breakfast is bad and nothing to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank skyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Menlo Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights before moving to the Courtyard Marriott, which was around the corner. Staff did not speak English well (except for a Filipino porter) and were quite brusque. The bathroom was as big as a portable potty and it leaked, flooding the floor. Since the reception people did not seem to understand me, I waited for the maid - who really did not speak English at all - but I pointed out the problem and she got it fixed. And gave me more towels. We asked for a queen and the room had 2 twin beds., which we moved side by side, since the receptionist refused to send help and even forbade it! We moved them back to their original spots before departure. Harbor view is obstructedby tall condos ( er, so NO view). Place is charming outside but clearly needs interior refurbishing. Trams to Central station stops right outside the hotel lobby. We found the housekeeping staff friendlier than the reception staff - so we called them directly everytime we had a problem and things got taken cared off in a timely manner.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova, Liguria, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

we hv been here several times for the last 15 years.......service is good. staff is gentle and professional. however the hotel needs a total refurbishment. furnitures, tiles, equipments look pretty old due to heavy wear and tear, especially caused by the last five years influx of new holiday-makers..........in anycase it is still a good hotel but not to ramada standards anymore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SciarraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Check in was quite unprofessional and hectic.I had three bags and no one came out to help.
Roum could use some help especially the bathroom as one can
view from the pictures. I am not certain what the maid thinks is growing in the shower and why has she/he not alerted management. this shows lack of communication with one of the most important communication vehicles to achieve success in a hotel.
The locaton is OK and quite easy to public transportation. i had a suite however no TV in the room with the bed which is quite different.The light by the bed was brocken and their are very few power outlets. The wireless is quite fast and easy to connect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very basic hotel in a very convenient location.
It is easy to go around hongkong as trams, buses and taxis are just right outside the hotel.
Hotel is a little old styled. Bed is so hard, very uncomfortable.
I booked a full harbour view room but doesnt seem i got what i paid for.
Other buildings was blocking the harbour view so it was never so called a harbour view room.
The management pictures of the deluxe room were so misleading.
I'll suggest you to just book a standard room, cheaper but the same quality.
No good views at all in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Simple hotel with basic facilities. Easy access around as the tram station is just within 3 min walk from the hotel. Nice and good food nearby. The design of the suite room is kinda extra as there is no way we could watch tv on the bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
BEST WESTERN Hotel Harbour View
#366 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Grand City Hotel
#170 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
Best Western Plus Hotel Kowloon
#473 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong
#133 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
BEST WESTERN Hotel Causeway Bay
#458 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.308 Des Voeux Road West, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special Notice on Hotel Rebranding: Ramada Hong Kong Hotel will be renamed as BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong effective from 1 September 2015. This will be the first hotel in Hong Kong carrying “PLUS”, a superior brand of the BEST WESTERN HOTEL GROUP. The rebranding renders a hotel name change; while the ownership, the management & the entire workforce will stay the same. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing