We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed the ultimate test...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #3 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

When I arrived at the Landmark I was taken quite badly ill. The staff were incredibly kind, professional and helpful and helped me see a doctor. I think that is the ultimate test of a hotel and I am so grateful to them. It is also a gorgeous place to stay when you are healthy. The spa is resplendant, the breakfast epic. The room abounds in luxury. The view is not great - in amongst the city's buildings, but that's Hong Kong for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florencereally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and we're happy to hear that we passed the ultimate test during your recent stay. We hope that you have fully recovered from your illness and did get to enjoy some of the luxurious surroundings during your stay. We are located in a very Central part of Hong Kong which does not offer a view but gives you access to great shopping and entertainment precincts close by.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I were invited by friends for a weekend in HongKong. Arrangements were made by a good friend of ours and she recommended the Landmark Mandarin Oriental. She told us of the great location of the hotel and the top-notch unequalled service that the hotel provides. We were fetched by the hotel staff right after we came out of the airline tube and we were whisked into the immigration using this golf cart. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were met by the hotel staff and the general manager of the hotel. We were assigned in a corner suite which had a foyer, seating area, luxurious bathroom with a circular whirlpool bath, a walk-in closet and a very comfortable king-sized bed. While we had no spectacular views to speak of, the service of the hotel made us more and more impressed by the minute. There is turn down service. The room was cleaned so fast while we were having a hearty breakfast at the the Mo Bar. We had complimentary macarons and welcome drinks upon our arrival. On the second day, we had complimentary fresh fruits. I was booked for a Shanghainese Pedicure at the neighbouring Mandarin Oriental Hotel. I was even escorted by the hotel staff to the barber shop where the pedicure will be done. Room service is the fastest I have experienced in all my travels. The staff were all helpful, courteous, and just simply amazing!!! I have never met a selected group of individuals so well trained that their only seeming goal is to please the guest! Their fine dining restaurant, Amber, is just simply the best restaurant I have dined in. As for the location, Landmark Mandarin Oriental is located in Central and it is laid out with all the high end shops as you step out of the lobby. Further down the road, you will find Marks & Spencer, Topshop, Jessica, Episode and a number of those interesting stores. Landmark Mandarin Oriental is just a perfect hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarsgraces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share comments of your recent stay at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental. We're honoured to have been recommended by your friend and happy that we lived up to the expectations of a luxury 5 star hotel. You have many choices of addresses here in Hong Kong and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your husband during your visit to the city. We do take pride in the service delivery of our staff and happy to hear that you thought it was one the highest standards. We're also happy to read that you enjoyed different aspects of our service from the 2 star Michelin restaurant Amber to our Room Service and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Landmark Mandarin Oriental is very well located, right in the middle of Central Hong Kong. Therefore, it is really convenient for business but also for visiting HK or for shopping.
Compared to other hotels in town, it is a 'small' place with a very high level of service (including the limousine transfer from the airport).
The rooms are nice despite slightly small and with a view on... the offices on the other side of the lane. This is the only drawback of this hotel: no view on the bay.
On the other hand, very large bathrooms, fully equiped.
Nice breakfast at the MO restaurant which is also appropriate to have a drink after work.
I recommend this hotel... as well as the 'classic' Mandarin Oriental. Not comparable but both providing an outstanding service and a unique experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoliCorsica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your post on your recent stay at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, as you mentioned we are centrally located on Hong Kong Island which gives our guests access and proximity to shopping and entertainment when staying here for business or leisure. The hotel is intimate and discreet which is why many of our guests enjoy staying with us, although we have no view, when in residence we aim to provide you with a high level of service when you interact with our staff. Thank you for your recommendation as an outstanding and unique experience.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I just cannot fault the quality of the rooms and the service here. I was upgraded to a suite after a long and difficult flight. All of the staff, without exception, were superb, and it seemed that every need was anticipated and catered for.

The MO bar was also a great venue and breakfast was plentiful, well-presented and efficient. It is rare that I decide to return in personal time to hotels I visit on business, but this is the exception.

Room Tip: My room was a little noisy at night - but this is Hong Kong! If noise bothers you, mention this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollinger4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, we're happy to read that you had an outstanding experience and that you appreciated the gesture of the upgrade on arrival. We pride ourselves on the quality of our Food and Service and happy that you found it all to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and will ensure that you are allocated a quieter room during your next stay.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed again in the Landmark Mandarin. Although 3 years ago the welcome was genuine and businesslike. I had no local currency for the taxi but this was immediately looked after by one of the Hotel Managers. Used their Egon Ronay 2 star restaurant. Magnificent. Service excellent, friendly and not ostentatious. However do save up to use the restaurant ! The only issue which I raised was a charge for wifi. They did send me a long letter explaining politely their position. Cost was given as a reason, but they are running the hotel on what I would suggest are very good margins. Nowadays any 5 star hotel MUST facilitate wifi at no charge.

Room Tip: Tried to get an upgrade as a returning customer but to no avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expert186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your continued support of The Landmark Mandarin Oriental. We're happy to have been able to assist you with your arrival and that you enjoyed your experience at our 2 star Michelin restaurant - Amber. We value your feedback on our WiFi charges and the good news is that we now offer via our website complimentary WiFi when you book a published rate and create an on-line profile before you arrive. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next plan a visit to the city.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

From the moment you walk through the doors the customer service you receive is phenomenol! This hotel is very personable and ready to accomodate anyway possible. Extremely friendly, great great staff. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. I would say this hotel, Concierge is great specially Mike, he gave me my visa for China without stepping out of the hotel in only 6 hours, food is great also! I would only have softer mattresses, much softer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmanuelDeRothschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to read that you enjoyed our service and rooms. Our colleagues like Mike in the Concierge team are a valuable asset to our team in such an intimate and residential surrounding. Please let us know when you next visit so that we may ensure you have a good nights' rest.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

its a modern twist to MO's usual classical design , its very contemporary , one of the largest deluxe rooms ive ever been too, infact its as good as a suite , in any other hotel.
I loved their service , and location , ideally I preferred the older mandarin oriental in HK , however it was worth the shot , the only setback would be the hard rock solid bed, and uncomfy pillows

try the amber , if you had the time. and the MO bar. most of all , I loved the attachement of any shopping complexes nearby

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80lzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkMO, General Manager at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. You have many choices when it comes to luxury 5 star hotels in Hong Kong and we're honoured that on this occassion that you chose us. It's correct that we have some the largest rooms on the island and we're happy that you enjoyed our service and location also. The original Mandarin Oriental and The Landmark have their unique differences and we thank you for giving us an opportunity. Please let us know when you next visit so that we may prepare a pillow menu and a softer mattress for a more comfortable stay.

Until then, all the best.

Greg Liddell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,079 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: The Landmark, 15 Queen's Road Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £377 - £1,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is one of the most luxurious and fashionable hotel in the world located in the heart of Central. All of the 109 spacious guestrooms have just been refurbished. Dining is exceptional. Amber offers the finest modern French cuisine while MO Bar is the stylish all-day-dining venue famous for its creative cocktails. The Oriental Spa is the urban sanctuary for relaxation and wellness, completed with yoga, Pilates and fitness. This chic hotel is one of the 9 hotels worldwide awarded Forbes Travel Guide Triple five stars distinction across all categories for hotel, restaurant and spa. Located in Central, the hub of shopping, entertainment and finance, The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is connected to the Landmark Atrium where more than 200 world’s top luxury brands can be found. What makes the hotel unique is its proximity to local pastimes, hot spots and cool discoveries. Only 10-15 minutes away on foot, guests can expect popular local eateries, bars and clubs, some of Hong Kong’s best tailors, creative local designer fashion pieces, as well as one of Hong Kong’s oldest temples and Asia’s longest outdoor covered escalators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Landmark
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental
Landmark Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing