We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rent-A-Room Hong Kong
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A quick over night stay - rooms were tiny, but clean, cheap, and convenient. The service was fine, and the owners are accomodating, and speak english, overall no problems if its a short stay.
the location is good, a little hard to fine, but right in the action

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldTraveller490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

We had a very nice room, immaculately clean and modern, a small kitchenette with fridge and kettle which was very handy. Powerful air conditioning and a clean bathroom. The Jordan metro stop was very close, a 3 minute walk through the shopping centre opposite.
I felt a little iffy about the staff (who had perfect english) - we were encouraged to pay for our whole stay on arrival without even seeing the room. We insisted on seeing the room first though and they did comply. We liked the room, paid and finally sat down on the bed - after a long flight we were feeling tired. A friendly female staff member who accompanied us to the room insisted on staying for a long time, talking and talking about facilities which was a bit tiring and we had to politely close the door on her. This did not affect the rest of our stay however which was extremely pleasant. There is an apartment feel to the place in that it was in a separate building from the reception, you have your own keys for the building etc. Nice to not have to greet staff every time you walk in. The gate was open all night so it did not matter what time we came home.

Room Tip: We had one of the newer rooms on the second floor, I know some of the higher floors have more dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jannie-Lou-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed there in July 2012 for two nights. This is not a hotel but a guesthouse. It costs as much as a hotel due to its special amenities. Nothing can be compared with having to kill cockroaches as you enter your room, and you don´t want to pay an extra price for them if you can get them free of charge

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonetraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have stayed thrice in the establishment which is on the nathan Road where life is-and all conveniences.
Place is clean and people friendly [with fluent English]. telephone to a room. Get free international calls [may be to some countries?]
Of corse I alone stayed in a single room

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NalindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Now i have stayed at this location many times when i was visitng during 2007 - 2008. I was looking for a budget place to stay in HK that was clean, good location and safe. When i first tried this place i was warmly greeted by the owner, paid in cash advance and the room they gave me, small and in the corner, had all that i needed.

The bathroom was small but clean and very convenient, the bed was small but comfortable enough, the A/C was working fine and even each floor has a pin code door lock besides your own room key and room card lock. The small 1 bed room was my place and i took it many times in a row.

Once i was able to stay in a double bed room and that was much more spacious and have to say very comfortable. It is more on the front of the building so towards the street or actually alley. Maybe some cooking smell can be traced if ur window is open and A/C noises come in but with it closed, no problem.

The location in Jordan is perfect as it is right by the Subway line, basically next to the HK Cricket club and by Nathan road.

I can't keep making the remark, it is a budget stay!!!! but it is a very good one..!!!! Are you short for cash, stay here and you won't regret as it fills ur basic needs...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What I liked about this place -

- They held my booking despite my credit card payment challenges on the booking.com website.
- Precise directions to the location on the telephone.
- Blazing fast wi-fi connection
- Clean but tiny toilet
- All facilities as promised.

What I did NOT like about this place -

- The place is NOT a service apartment as they make it out to be. It is a guest house with incredibly tiny rooms. I was a solo traveller and my room barely had space for a single bed.
- Location is in a side lane off Nathan Road which looked incredibly shady to me when I arrived in the night ! There is hotel in the same lane which rents out rooms by the hour !
- The place was very organised and spotlessly clean. All facilities were there. Just that it was NOT what was promised. The tiny size and location were a real downer for me personally.
- This may work for a backpacker - but at HK$ 650 night - I don't think that is value for money.

I checked out the next day - after locating a proper hotel !

Room Tip: Good for backpackers who want to stay off Nathan Road in Hong Kong. believe you should ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed at this property twice in 2011, once in August, the second time over New Year.

Back in August, it seemed fine, basic but clean, convenient location, pleasant enough staff.

Come late December though, a different story. I know Dec-Jan is a busy time in HK, but the room was tiny, half the lights didn't work, the service was lukewarm at best and the rate was astronomical.

Generally, give this place a wide berth, there's plenty better accommodation in HK.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Silka Seaview Hotel
#181 of 727 in Hong Kong
927 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Comfort Lodge Hong Kong
Comfort Lodge Hong Kong
#284 of 727 in Hong Kong
113 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,144 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 727 in Hong Kong
833 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 727 in Hong Kong
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rent-A-Room Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rent-A-Room Hong Kong

Address: No.7-8 Tak Hing Street, Knight Garden Flat A 2/F, Jordan - Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £42 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rent-A-Room Hong Kong 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rent-A-Room Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rent-a-Room Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing